We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location - Nice Accomodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Kingsgate
Ranked #19 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Location - Nice Accomodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Wyndham Kingsgate location makes it easy to visit all the historic sites in the area (Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown) and there are many restaurants and other area attractions, too.
Our 2nd floor condo was a two bedroom, two bath unit that has a capacity to sleep 6 (with the use of a convertible couch). A full kitchen,dining room and full balcony give you plenty of living space for your stay. The furnishings are fine (although the living room furniture was a bit worn) and the dining/living room carpets had stains (the front desk explained that the carpets were scheduled to be replaced soon). The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are a good size.
The Activity Center houses a small 50 seat theater where 2 movies per day play (you need to reserve your space), a 18 hole miniture golf course (surprisingly nice), as well as a computer center, fitness center, tennis courts, and game room.

The staff is very friendly and accomodating, with one exception. After you check in, the front desk asks you to get your parking pass and area maps at the next desk - that is the start of a sales pitch to attend a presentation (time share). They don't want to take 'no thank you' for an answer, even after we politely declined the offer several times. The Wyndham management should understand that this kind of sales pressure is unacceptable.

Overall, this is a good choice for a fun family vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpencerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    329
    152
    57
    29
See reviews for
561
133
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Check in was fast and efficient, although they weren't willing to take my 'no' for an answer when I told them that we didn't want to go to the presentation.

The unit was clean and comfortable. Balcony was great. We used the computer centre and asked if we could scan something to PDF for email. They said we could, but turned out we couldn't (their scanner only scanned to Wyndham email addresses). I think that was the worst thing about our time at this property.

Didn't get to play, but the tennis courts looked great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice location, but likely too far to walk to anything except the KMart and the Mongolian restaurant in the mall next door. Located on the "other side of the tracks" from the college & DOG street, and the limited crossings of the railroad also make the walk longer; therefore we drove when we went to visit the historic area.

We arrived the Saturday at the end of "spring break"- I understand the Friday before, the rec areas were overcrowded and noisy. For us, though, it was nice to have the local activities like putt-putt and the little workout room.

Good for families. I think all of the units have little porches to sit outside... but not sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NATS_fan_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The condos were nice... we had a one bedroom lock-out unit and a two bedroom condo that made our three bedroom unit. Therefore, we had three full bathrooms, and two kitchens, which was nice. The beds slept well, and unit was clean.

The resort bragged about being #1 in customer service, yet when we called them for a parking pass they forgot to provide... they couldn't bring it to us, so we had to get back oyut at night and lose close parking space to get it!

Then, in master bedroom... the toilet ran and then wouldn't flush properly... we called about that and were told someone would fix it while we were sightseeing, but when we got in late... no one had been there, so we called back... no one ever came! I complained and was told that "someone would look into it for me and see who was dispatched and why it was never fixed".

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenJSmith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Busy but great place for older kids. Tennis mini golf hot tub on site. Free arcade which is heaven for my 7 year old son. Great information on surrounding sites. Caution for lengthy timeshare presentation. More to do than governs green the other wyndam property but more busy. Kids preferred the action of this property, while I preferred the calm quiet beauty of governs green

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Kingsgate has some good qualities such as the on site activities. However, you will be stuck paying the activities fee whether you use them or not. I usually do not opt to but the few times I have tried to use the pool & gym they were so overcrowded it wasn't even enjoyable. The rooms themselves need some updating. On this particular stay we were greeted by a strong sewer odor & after speaking with maintenance learned they had left some sewer holes open the day before while doing work. We were given a can of air freshener as a resolution. Discovered that night that the deadbolt on our door was broken. My primary reason for not wanting to return is that the walls are paper thin! If you are a light sleeper do not stay here! It's been terrible listening to the noise next door & above. I've never ever noticed this much noise when staying in a hotel. It's just not worth it to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlover2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here this time rather than Powhatan Resort. Good choice! Was better and there was much more to do with the kids. Unit was a little small in the kitchen area, but great if you want to cook. We had some minor issues with unit but the staff fixed it and were cordial. Not into time share so I had to be very direct up front, but that is annoying. Pool was over chlorinated ...I couldn't deal and kids complained. Game room was great, Mini golf - good.. good location would do it again! Best part - activities...Worst part - 10am checkout is ludicrous...never have seen that in my life!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony..very nice.. Second floor was not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grossen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
5.0 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Historic Powhatan Resort
The Historic Powhatan Resort
#24 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Property: Wyndham Kingsgate
Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#23 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing