We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Like a gated sub-division, I guess...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Kingsgate
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Like a gated sub-division, I guess...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice location, but likely too far to walk to anything except the KMart and the Mongolian restaurant in the mall next door. Located on the "other side of the tracks" from the college & DOG street, and the limited crossings of the railroad also make the walk longer; therefore we drove when we went to visit the historic area.

We arrived the Saturday at the end of "spring break"- I understand the Friday before, the rec areas were overcrowded and noisy. For us, though, it was nice to have the local activities like putt-putt and the little workout room.

Good for families. I think all of the units have little porches to sit outside... but not sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NATS_fan_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    301
    139
    53
    28
See reviews for
506
126
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abbeville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The condos were nice... we had a one bedroom lock-out unit and a two bedroom condo that made our three bedroom unit. Therefore, we had three full bathrooms, and two kitchens, which was nice. The beds slept well, and unit was clean.

The resort bragged about being #1 in customer service, yet when we called them for a parking pass they forgot to provide... they couldn't bring it to us, so we had to get back oyut at night and lose close parking space to get it!

Then, in master bedroom... the toilet ran and then wouldn't flush properly... we called about that and were told someone would fix it while we were sightseeing, but when we got in late... no one had been there, so we called back... no one ever came! I complained and was told that "someone would look into it for me and see who was dispatched and why it was never fixed".

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenJSmith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Busy but great place for older kids. Tennis mini golf hot tub on site. Free arcade which is heaven for my 7 year old son. Great information on surrounding sites. Caution for lengthy timeshare presentation. More to do than governs green the other wyndam property but more busy. Kids preferred the action of this property, while I preferred the calm quiet beauty of governs green

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Kingsgate has some good qualities such as the on site activities. However, you will be stuck paying the activities fee whether you use them or not. I usually do not opt to but the few times I have tried to use the pool & gym they were so overcrowded it wasn't even enjoyable. The rooms themselves need some updating. On this particular stay we were greeted by a strong sewer odor & after speaking with maintenance learned they had left some sewer holes open the day before while doing work. We were given a can of air freshener as a resolution. Discovered that night that the deadbolt on our door was broken. My primary reason for not wanting to return is that the walls are paper thin! If you are a light sleeper do not stay here! It's been terrible listening to the noise next door & above. I've never ever noticed this much noise when staying in a hotel. It's just not worth it to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlover2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here this time rather than Powhatan Resort. Good choice! Was better and there was much more to do with the kids. Unit was a little small in the kitchen area, but great if you want to cook. We had some minor issues with unit but the staff fixed it and were cordial. Not into time share so I had to be very direct up front, but that is annoying. Pool was over chlorinated ...I couldn't deal and kids complained. Game room was great, Mini golf - good.. good location would do it again! Best part - activities...Worst part - 10am checkout is ludicrous...never have seen that in my life!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony..very nice.. Second floor was not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grossen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We (my wife, 7 year old, and 10 month old, and I) stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. We were on the second floor of a 3 story building. 90% of the time we were in our room we could hear the guests in the condo above us and/or people going up and down the stairs (when kids ran up/down the stairs, it rattled the headboard and wall in the larger bedroom). The walls and floors/ceilings are very thin. If your vacation requires quiet relaxation, do not stay at this resort. If you are OK with stomping, yelling, TV noise, etc, from the condo units around you, then this place should remain on your list of potential vacation spots - the mini golf, indoor pool, and 2 small arcade rooms are decent. The location of the resort is convenient to Jamestown and other area attractions. Wyndham provided us with enough laundry detergent to run 2 loads of wash, as well as 2 individual packs of dishwashing detergent. A large pizza from the resort cafe was $16. *We checked out a day early because we could not go another night with minimal sleep due to the noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtkev02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CINCINNATI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor I had some concerns. None of them were warrented. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit on the second floor of a two story building. The unit was very large and lovely. Ir was clean and the furnishings were in good shape. The five dollar resort fee was well woth it as it includes all the activities as well as the theater and wi fi.
It was a delightful vacation and would love to stay at the Wyndham again. The location is fantastic, close to everything. We found you really need the three day pass in order to see all of Colonial Williamsburg.
In other reviews I read that there was a lot of pressure to attend the time share breakfat, we did not have that problem either.
I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KRKRUSLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.5 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Governor's Green
Wyndham Governor's Green
#26 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Property: Wyndham Kingsgate
Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#23 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing