We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel was amazing. I fell in love with the beds there and the breakfast was great....and free, can't beat that!! The room we stayed in was clean and pretty big. We were upgraded to a king room that had a pullout sofa bed in it. We appreciated the upgrade where we had our son with us and really wanted a room with a King bed. Great staff, we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Fred J -

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that you found our facility to be a clean and comfortable place to relax at the end of your days!

We really appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, and will be sure to pass them along to the appropriate recipients.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the Williamsburg area.

Thanks again, and have a wonderful day!
Angelique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    97
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
154
81
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Good hotel, convenient parking, good location.... brand new property. Exellent staff.... this is where I am staying my next visit to the area. and the manager name Kirk went out of his way to assist my family. Thanks again to the staff off this hotel

Room Tip: New hotel wonderful new beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear nikki S -

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that you found our facility to be a clean and comfortable place to relax at the end of your day!

We really appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, and will be sure to pass them along to the appropriate recipients.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the Williamsburg area.

Thanks again, and have a wonderful day!
Angelique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is fairly new so the rooms were beautiful and very clean. I wish I could post my photos but unfortunately my sd card is being a jerk. I traveled with a youth group of about 32 high school aged ladies and 5 advisors. The hotel was very accomodating. We were able to cluster our rooms and was provided with overnight security (for a small fee) to monitor the halls where we stayed. There was also free continental breakfast the following morning. It was definitely a great experience and I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaquetta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Shaquetta C -

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us!

We know how difficult it can be to find a place that is comfortable and satisfactory to all when you have such a large group to please, and we couldn't be happier that you have found that in our hotel!

We strive to deliver flawless service and a clean and comfortable place to rest at the end of a long day, and we are so pleased to know that we were able to provide that to you!

Sincerely,
Angelique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The staff was excellent overall and very helpful throughout my stay. Everything down to the breakfast was great we really enjoyed ourselves. and an employee by the name of chelsey was very kind and helpful to me and my family she even recommend the best rides at busch gardens to us.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameswhite76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Jameswhite76 -

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that you found our facility to be a clean and comfortable place to relax at the end of your day!

We really appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, and will be sure to pass them along to the appropriate recipients.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the Williamsburg area.

Thanks again, and have a wonderful day!
Angelique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We've stayed at a lot of hotels in Williamsburg this year. None are spectacular. This was one of the better ones. First, I'll start with the positives:
-comfortable, clean beds
-new -- nothing was worn out
-tasteful decor
And now the negatives:
-dried spots on bathroom floor near toilet (pee?). I attempted to cover with a bathmat and it, too, had a spot on it.
-No clock in the room! Both our phones died and we had no idea what time it was.
-View of room 315 was horrible - just roof and ventilation/air duct system.
-Could not achieve a comfortable temperature in the room with the system provided. The thermostat did not seem to work properly. We alternated between heat and A/C but nothing was satisfactory. It was either really hot or really cold.
-Breakfast was adequate but desperately needed some fresh fruit options. Major carb fest. One family was actually walking around barefoot, and it seemed like the majority consider pajamas appropriate dress. You are still in public people!!!

Room Tip: You do not want room 315. View is 90% roof and air duct system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyCrownKinglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear RubyCrownKinglet,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on the room condition particularly with the air conditioning system and the bathroom and truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had with the breakfast choices. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

While this hotel is on a small country road, it is just one minute from Williamsburg Pottery Factory, and outlet malls (and 2 seconds from the highway that connects Route 60 with I-64). It is perhaps a 10 minute drive to Colonial Williamsburg Visitor's Center. We stayed there because of the price (cheaper than Holiday Inns closer to the colonial area). The hotel looks nice and rather new on the outside. Importantly, it was not busy at all on January 1, 2014.

Our room had no hand soap. I asked the clerk if the hotel had stopped using it. She did not know, but gave me an extra bottle of body wash, which we used as hand soap.

Also, breakfast is served 6:30 - 9:30 am. Again, the hotel was basically empty. All gravy, biscuits, coffee and eggs were gone by 8:00 am; most Danish was gone by then. We stayed in the breakfast room until 8:45 and NOTHING was replenished. the coffee urns were stacked 3 in front and 3 behind. the front ones (for regular, we didn't want decaf) were empty but you could not access the rear ones (they had push levers and you could not fit a coffee cup (even the extraordinarily small cups they used) under the spout) - they could have been full. Also, the juice machine was broken, so they had a pitcher of orange juice, which didn't taste that great, but acceptable.

The good news is that the mattresses were GREAT! Seemed to be brand new. And, the room itself was very nice, with a larger than normal frig (larger than the standard minibar). We had two queen beds and the room was very large even with both of them. A nice, warm touch was the large Christmas tree in the lobby.

Thus, utterly disappointed by the breakfast. We intentionally did not notify management because we wanted to see what they would do on their own - which was ZERO.

Hopefully, they read trip advisor and will correct this major flaw with the food. I would stay there again but be sure to get to breakfast earlier (I knew this to be a problem with many such hotel chains and I ate at 6:30 am - it was my companion who was limited to pancakes, a cold hard-boiled egg, yogurt and an apple. On the good side, my meal at 6:30 was better than average - the gravy had bits of sausage and one of the better ones I've eaten. Also, the eggs did not taste like the horrible "marbles" that Hampton Inn served in Williamsburg the previous year, or the egg "rounds" you often see. Thus, the gravy gets an "A-" and the eggs a "B," compared to the competition. I also have to give then kudos for the "light" Yoplait yogurt - it had only10 grams of sugar. I have stayed at other brands where I won't eat the yogurt because it has 20-30 grams of sugar.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast before 8:00 a.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Jay K
Thank you for taking the time out to give your feedback, we value all our guest subjective reviews. We are glad that you did enjoy our mattress and that we are a brand new property. However, we are not happy that you did not get the full value out of our complimentary express start breakfast we will take your comments and make the necessary adjustments so that our next guest do not have the same experience. We would love for you to give us another chance to exceed your expectation whenever you williamsburg again. Once again thank you for your insights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The staff tried hard at this property but when we checked in they did not have enough room keys to accommodate both of us. They also forgot to provide us with a roll away bed. The rooms are small and the property itself is a good drive from Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. One advantage is that on our return from these places we had to drive through the main restaurant area of Williamsburg and that was convenient. If you are going to the pottery--it is right there. Otherwise, you can do better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilliesFan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Phillies Fan

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to review our property, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service that we offer here or our location. We will definitely take your review an remedy the cliches that you had in your stay. It is not in our service culture to have our guest leave our property unhappy and their expectation not met. We are willing to make this up to you if you could give us another chance whenever you are in the area again. Once again thank you so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
713 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,062 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
Address: 720 Lightfoot Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-9013 (Formerly Days Inn Colonial Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg's newest hotel opening July 2013. Located in the heart of the shopping district including Williamsburg Premium Outlets, Williamsburg Pottery Factory, Antique Store of Williamsburg and Williamsburg Walmart. Hotel features free WiFi, Indoor Heated Pool, 24Hr Fitness Center and comes with StaySmart Breakfast. Come home to Holiday Inn Express! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Colonial Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing