We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovation! But ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a great little hotel very convenient to the interstate(s). This does NOT mean the rooms are noisy. Ours was very quiet - Room 206. Well appointed and a really beautifully modern renovation.

If you WANT TO BE NEAR shopping and be able to WALK to restaurants and shopping, stay in THAT area. You MUST drive to get anywhere from this location.

Room Tip: We stayed in 206. It was quiet, comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwil048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Mwill 048

Thank you for your feedback, we here at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North value all our guest comments. we are happy to know that you like the designs of our newly renovated property and our proximity to the interstate. Once thank you so much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 385 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here with a friend and nothing beats new. Smelled new, clean as new, modern decor. Great complete breakfast. The only downsides were: 1) room was kinda small for two queen size beds. 2) The bathroom did not have a fan and 3) the bathroom had no towel racks.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that a room with 2 queen beds left little room for moving around. I cannot imagine 4 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llc273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear LLc273

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate you taking the time out to give us a subjective review. We are happy that you liked our newly renovated property. We will be more than happy to have you experience one of our suites the next time you are in the the williamsburg area. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express. What a great place. We stayed two nights while visiting Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. The room looked brand new with modern décor it was fresh and immaculate. The bed was comfortable and they had great pillows. We enjoyed the variety of breakfast choices including eggs, pancakes, and much more. Kirk at the front desk was very helpful and when we asked about restaurants he directed us to a large variety of restaurants a short drive from the hotel. We plan to go back in spring and we look forward to staying here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Lizerd,

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay here at our new renovated Holiday inn Express, and that you found all the amenities that we provided very appealing to your taste. I will definitely inform kirk that you found his information on the area real helpful and we will be definitely looking forward to serving you again in the spring. Once again thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I booked this hotel a different way and unfortunately it booked for a week exactly ahead of my intended stay (usually I book on the hotel website). Even though I did not notice until an email was sent after the date it was booked, I called the hotel to tell them of my odd dilemma. The employee Chelsea was a very nice. She forwarded me to the Manager's voice mail and told me to call back in the morning when the Manager would be back at the hotel. When I called back the Manager took care of everything and rebooked us for the upcoming Saturday, which thankfully the hotel had plenty of room. Clean, comfortable and everything in good working order, we had no problems with this hotel. Great cable and very comfortable bed. It was a great big room and we asked for a rollaway bed and it fit with lots of space to spare. What made this hotel a deal was the facilities and free breakfast as well as outstanding customer service. The breakfast was well stocked, everything tasted great and it had hot breakfast items and good selection. We will be back.

Room Tip: We found this hotel to be very quiet! Pool was in good shape and well taken care of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naturefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear, Naturefreak

Thank you so much for your kind words we are happy to have met and exceeded your expectations for your time of booking and during your stay here at our property. Will definitely give Kudos to out staff for making sure that all your needs were met and that you had a healthy breakfast to start off your day. Once again thanks for your feedback and we will definitely be looking forward in seeing you in the forseeable future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It was a ladies get-a-way this past weekend which was definitely overdue. Each morning for breakfast, Sandra, was very attentive to not just our needs but others as well. She was on top of everything...replenishment of food, utensils, drinks, taking trash out...you name it, Sandra, did it! She worked diligently by herself! She was truly a SuperWoman! with an awesome attitude!

Even when it was extremely busy with a whole bunch of hungry people, we told her to take her time...did not want her to feel rushed/pressured. Sandra continued to serve everyone with a smile regardless of how busy it was in the dining area. Sandra never complained...just stayed focus and remained professional at all times.

We told her supervisor, Angelique, of Sandra's exceptional customer service and how we really hope that she (along with co-workers) truly value Sandra as an employee.

Sandra made our ladies get-a-way weekend at Holiday Inn 720 Lightfoot Rd in Williamsburg, VA an even better stay. We plan to visit again and definitely hope to see Sandra. Kudos, Sandra and may God continue to bless you as you bless others! You are awesome!

Sincerely,Thea W.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Thea W,

Thank you for taking time out to write such a beautiful review about one of GEM that we have working here, Sandra. The Acronym GEM stands for going the extra mile for our guest and thats what we try to build in our service culture so that all our employees can make every guest feel like they are at home and that they are appreciated. In this case we can see that Sandra accomplished just that to make you feel apprecited and well taken care of, therefore i will pass on your kind words to Sandra, and we are happy serve you again whenever you are in the Williamsburg. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Went to Williamsburg for the night and saw this hotel on Trip Advisor. Was pleased to see that it was newly renovated and was close to a variety of activities in the Williamsburg area. When arrived, we were greeted by the day manager. Very pleasant and helpful. The room and bathroom was very clean and freshly remodeled. The king size bed was really comfortable. The only disappointment was the free breakfast buffet. The pancakes tasted like play-dough and I could not eat them. The eggs were cold and tasteless. I was surprised that there was no breakfast meats. The juice was watered down. At least I was able to eat a bagel and had a cup of coffee. Stay here but eat breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: King size bad was very comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kcurbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear, Kcurbear

Thank you for your feedback, we happy to see that you found our facility to be very clean, our rooms comfortable and our close proximity to all the williamsburg site. However we are a liitle ambivalent that you didnt not enjoy our complimentary express start breakfast, we will take your points and try to fine tune our breakfast and make sure that when you return to the Williamsburg area you will be more that happy to give us another try to make it up to you. Once again thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Easy to locate and check in. Bed was comfortable. There was no good comfortable place to sit. The knob to set refrigerator temperature was broken, and the turntable gear in the microwave had melted so it wobbled badly and made loud clunking noise when in use. Room was dark and we had to ask that flickering bulb be changed. I would not recommend this particular HI.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidigirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear heidigirl48,

Thank you for your feedback, we are not happy to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have looked into all the points that you made and appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your comments . As it relates to a place to sit in the rooms, we are more than happy to welcome you back so that you may relax in one of our spacious suites whenever you are in Williamsburg again. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 73 in Williamsburg
754 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North

Address: 720 Lightfoot Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-9013 (Formerly Days Inn Colonial Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $81 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg's newest hotel opening July 2013. Located in the heart of the shopping district including Williamsburg Premium Outlets, Williamsburg Pottery Factory, Antique Store of Williamsburg and Williamsburg Walmart. Hotel features free WiFi, Indoor Heated Pool, 24Hr Fitness Center and comes with StaySmart Breakfast. Come home to Holiday Inn Express! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Colonial Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing