We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just returned from Williamsburg. This hotel is in the perfect location to explore downtown Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown and New Town.

I loved the 24 hr.cookies and coffee :) We used the pool and hot tub, which was a nice treat to have during the winter.

The ladies (I'm sorry, I don't remember nanes) at the front desk were very friendly and welcoming.

We enjoyed our room; it was clean and a great place to rest after a long day. The only thing I would change is the breakfast selection. Would have preferred fresh fruit, more variety of patries etc...

Overall...great! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szimmerman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We really appreciate all of your comments. We hope that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the breakfast service. We will make sure that we pass this feedback on to our staff. It will allow us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    234
    91
    48
    18
See reviews for
382
198
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was a great hotel for the value! Great amenities and clean, spacious, rooms. The TV wasn't the nicest in the world, but we don't go on vacation to do what we could at home! The lobby was homey and the staff was friendly. The pool was also nice and the hotel was in a very convenient place. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crockett312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you so much for your feedback about the hotel. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make changes to the hotel to make it better. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have been going to Williamsburg for a very long time, and we having been staying at the Country Inn and Suites. This Hotel has a great staff, great comfort, great cleanliness, a variety of good places to eat. This hotel even has a complimentary breakfast buffet-(that's a plus). If you're coming to Williamsburg Va, stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson in the Williamsburg Historic Area,

Here are some other great reasons why we will continue to stay at this hotel. Chelsea is one of the employee's who works at the front desk and she has never missed a beat on welcoming us. We feel like family every time we walk through those doors. I am still amazed how she always takes care of all our needs with a smile on her face and the tone of her voice assures you that she wants to take care of you and that means a lot. Sherry the manager is a great manager. We all know how busy a manager can be, however, she always takes time out of her busy schedule to make sure we are taken care of in a very special way. Thank you Sherry!!

This should be a 5 star hotel!!! Next time your in Williamsburg visit Country Inn & Suites and enjoy your very comfortable bed, and your bathroom which is big with lots of towels. We feel safe and comfortable in this hotel as well.

Once again had a great experience and this is more then a home away from home. This is family.

Thank you~

Gene and Grace

Room Tip: Just let the front desk know what you want and you will be taken care of!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Grace,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to be your home away from home. Thank you for mentioning our staff. We will make sure that we pass this valuable feedback on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will continue to choose us.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

This establishment is a pitiful representation of the Carlson Hotel group. I back up this statement with stained towels, suspected mold in the shower, a room door that was extremely difficult to open., and the less than good, lacking in quality breakfast with limited selection & very stale toppings for the oatmeal, & not a pastry except plain donut holes. To place a plastic gallon jug of milk on ice, is crude. The breakfast was so bad, we choose to go out to a restaurant to eat our breakfast.. We have stayed in Country Inn suites in other town's and state's, but this hotel has caused me to rethink choosing Country Inn Suites again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pansy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHERRY H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I do apologize for your experience at this hotel. I did try to call you to discuss these issues with you as it is always my goal to go above and beyond for a guest and I am truely sorry we did not meet your expectations. I would certainly like to discuss this with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We just went to Williamsburg for the Grand Illumination and Christmas Town at Busch Gardens. Both were wonderful. We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites for the first time and it was fantastic. The lobby with the roaring fireplace, sofa and chairs and the beautifully decorated tree, the excellent staff, and the great room. The best motel we have stayed in in Williamsburg. Thanks again for making our Christmas trip so special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotcakelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

stayed here on a whim..looked for place to stay in williamsburg and it was a 3 star hotel..which should be a 4 star..very welcoming for last minute visitors..beds were comfortable and bathroom was big with lots of towels..breakfast was included and was good..front desk clerk was very nice..she took care of all our needs

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Address: 400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing