We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Perfect for Visiting Colonial Williamsburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for Visiting Colonial Williamsburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the days right after Christmas while visiting Colonial Williamsburg and it was delightful! The room was really spacious and very clean, it looked like it had been recently updated. We enjoyed the continental breakfast both mornings and took advantage of the free hot chocolate in the warm and cozy lobby more than once. We also used the business center to print our tickets for both Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens Christmastown. There was also a heated indoor pool onsite that we regretted not packing our bathing suits for. Absolutely no complaints, will definitely stay at a Country Inn and Suites again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Cameron S,

Thank you for telling us about your stay after Christmas. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We hope you and your husband enjoyed Williamsburg. The holiday season is a great time to visit this area. We strive to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    195
    78
    40
    17
See reviews for
314
165
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here a while ago, I really loved it!
Pros:
GREAT BREAKFAST! Lots to choose from, couldnt be better
Huge Room! I stayed in a suite, not sure about single rooms
Really nice staff, always friendly
Very Clean, not dirty what so ever
Cons: Little bit of a small pool fine in winter, maybe problem in summer, i dont know

Room Tip: At least for now, some is being painted, 2nd floor is fine i know for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Eric M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your great feedback. We use guest feedback to allow us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel is starting to get a little old but a nice place to stay and close to Colonial Williamsburg. Lots of restaurants nearby. Great valve. Have stayed here for many years at Christmas time and will in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms are suites. If you want a bigger room ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tngebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear tngebe,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. Thank you for your feedback. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very easy to find. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The room was exceptionally clean and very nice. We hated to have to leave. The grounds were nicely kept up. The breakfast variety was super. Nothing lacking. Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Gloria F,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We are so glad that we could accomodate you. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We will pass your comments on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We decided to visit Williamsburg for our 49th anniversary, and having great memories of our last stay there 8 years ago, once again chose Country Inn & Suites for our lodging. It turned out to be a good decision on our part. The lobby, halls and pool area were as well kept and clean as we remembered from our last visit, (great that some things don't change!) and the staff was simply outstanding. They answered every question and service request with a smile, and provided us with lots of recommendations for restaurants, tourist sites, and shopping areas.
During breakfast one morning a family apparently finished all of the milk at their table, so the attendant excused herself to the rest of us in the dining area, and left to go to store to get more milk. She was back in a few minutes apologizing for delay with milk. How great is that? She was someone who went above and beyond what the average person would probably do. Sorry I did not get her name.
Anyway, a nice 3 day stay in a pleasant, friendly atmosphere. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room next to a closet or close to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear susan k,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for telling us about your breakfast experience. We will make sure that we pass these comments on to the staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you enjoyed your anniversary in Williamsburg. We are so happy that we could be apart of this special time.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg East. Upon checking in we were greeted by very friendly staff members leaving after a day of work. They made some small talk with us while we waited to check in. The guest services woman who checked us in was very welcoming too. They had fresh cookies waiting for us at the reception counter. We were given our key and went to our room. It was a nice room. It had some recent updates done to the bathroom and the room The bed spread was a little outdated but the bed and pillows were nice and comfy! All was clean and the heat was set on low so it was nice to come into after a day out in the cold. The complimentary breakfast was one of the nicer ones I have seen. They had many selections including eggs, sausage, french toast, waffles, oatmeal, donuts, muffins, bagels, bread! Coffee tea and many juices available.The only thing they were lacking was an assortment of fresh fruit. I only saw apples. Overall this was a very nice hotel to stay in very friendly servers int he morning for the breakfast also! Happy people!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear debbie w,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments regarding your stay. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We are so glad you and your family stayed with us and that we could accommodate you. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narvon, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've travelled to Williamsburg many times, this was our first stay at Country Inns. The person at the desk, as well as the lobby were welcoming. Our room was attractive and very clean. Everything worked. Staff was friendly and helpful. We especially noticed the young woman working the breakfast bar, who kept everything in full supply. The breakfast had a nice variety - hot & cold cereal, waffles, fresh fruit, eggs, sausage, bagels, and coffee cakes ... and more. 24 hour cookies, coffee, teas, & cocoa. A good start and end of the day. Enjoyed our stay, and look forward to a return.

Room Tip: Our roomon the 2d floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDITH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear JUDITH H,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you stayed with us, and that we could accomodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Address: 400 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing