We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg East. Upon checking in we were greeted by very friendly staff members leaving after a day of work. They made some small talk with us while we waited to check in. The guest services woman who checked us in was very welcoming too. They had fresh cookies waiting for us at the reception counter. We were given our key and went to our room. It was a nice room. It had some recent updates done to the bathroom and the room The bed spread was a little outdated but the bed and pillows were nice and comfy! All was clean and the heat was set on low so it was nice to come into after a day out in the cold. The complimentary breakfast was one of the nicer ones I have seen. They had many selections including eggs, sausage, french toast, waffles, oatmeal, donuts, muffins, bagels, bread! Coffee tea and many juices available.The only thing they were lacking was an assortment of fresh fruit. I only saw apples. Overall this was a very nice hotel to stay in very friendly servers int he morning for the breakfast also! Happy people!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear debbie w,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments regarding your stay. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We are so glad you and your family stayed with us and that we could accommodate you. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    188
    73
    40
    17
See reviews for
297
161
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narvon, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've travelled to Williamsburg many times, this was our first stay at Country Inns. The person at the desk, as well as the lobby were welcoming. Our room was attractive and very clean. Everything worked. Staff was friendly and helpful. We especially noticed the young woman working the breakfast bar, who kept everything in full supply. The breakfast had a nice variety - hot & cold cereal, waffles, fresh fruit, eggs, sausage, bagels, and coffee cakes ... and more. 24 hour cookies, coffee, teas, & cocoa. A good start and end of the day. Enjoyed our stay, and look forward to a return.

Room Tip: Our roomon the 2d floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDITH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear JUDITH H,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you stayed with us, and that we could accomodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We always look for a Country Inn & Suites when traveling. This is the second time we have stayed at this location and it was just as wonderful as the last. We were greated every evening by Chelsea Hill at the front desk with warm cookies and an even warmer smile. She's a keeper!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Lisa L,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your commetns about Chelsea. She will be excited to hear such great comments about her service. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for a Field Hockey Tournament. Guests above us were noisy until after 11, so avoid lower floors because of thin flooring.

Breakfast was nice: Cereal, Waffle Maker, Oatmeal, Muffins, Sausage, Biscuits, various Juices.

Room Tip: Select top floor if possible to avoid noise from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenzi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Lenzi67,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the noise. We are very sorry for any inconvenience. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights while visiting Williamsburg for our 30th anniversary. I had reward points so I only paid 55.00 per night for a King 1 bedroom suite. This hotel was nice and clean. A couple of issues though. The pool & hot tub did not work for 2 days. This was disappointing as the indoor pool was my main reason for choosing this particular hotel. Also, breakfast was not replenished as often as it should have been.I also would have liked it if they had a bigger assortment of area attraction brochures. The desk area in the living area was good however the wing back chair seat was broken. The bed was very comfy. The front desk and staff were very nice. All in all I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrow10830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Luckily, I got the room on sale for $60. It was not the cleanest.. The sheets obviously weren't changed, the bathroom had mildew and wasn't fully stocked. The staff was friendly, though, and let me check in early.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHERRY H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I would love to speak with you about your experience during your stay. It is my goal that every guest enjoy their stay look forward to returning. I truely apologize for your issues and certainly look forward to speaking to you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights while in town for a wedding, after driving in 10 hours from Buffalo, NY the woman at the desk was very kind and helpful. They were extremely courteous and patient on the phone as well when I made the reservation and very accommodating when i needed to change my reservation! The room was very comfortable and clean and the pool and hot tub are as well. Its in a great location with lots of places to eat and shop near by as well as many historic areas. Defiantly would recommend it!! We will for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Suzy L,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We are so glad that you stayed with us, and the we could accommodate you. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Address: 400 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing