We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, affordable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Holderness, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, affordable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. Great location for touring Williamsburg. We booked on line, saving money on an already very favorable rate. Staff member who checked us in was very friendly and helpful, even giving us a welcome bag with maps, guidebooks and snacks. Our room was clean, comfortable, and I really liked having two sinks in the room! We didn't use the exercise room, but it looked very nice. Breakfast each morning was generous and varied. WiFi was included throughout the facility and it was free. A very pleasant stay. Thanks, everyone, at The Country Inn & Suites!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Busyinnkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    201
    79
    43
    17
See reviews for
325
171
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prairieville, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I booked through Priceline. The hotel was much more than we expected and very affordable. I would have to rate it 4 1/2 out of 5. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the eating area clean. Fresh baked cookies were at the front desk every evening...this made all 32 of my sweet teeth happy. You can bet that I'll stay here again if ever in Williamsburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Keith D,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your commetns about the stay. We are so glad that you stayed with us and that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean , safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suties Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here during our visit to Williamsberg and loved the hotel. We booked it using hotwire.com and got an incredible deal. We were even upgraded to a suite, which was in perfect condition and was huge for the two of us! The morning breakfast was delicious. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_sunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Lisa_sunnyvale,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We will pass them on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast. We are always trying to make this service better. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dover de
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Have stayed here many times and it is still the best value in the area. The rooms are always clean and spacious. We had the two room suite and thoroughly enjoyed it. The breakfast changes daily and is filling and delicious. The hotel is in a perfect location for everything in Williamsburg. Have recommended to everyone i know.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, but the two room suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnchris46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear johnchris46,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Old beat up furniture, stains on tile of bathroom floor, tv channels not working.

I switched rooms to no avail. I even left hotel after prepaying on Hotwire, stayed close by at another chain for cheaper. Just not a warm and fuzzy feeling staying here. When I asked them about the tv not working, I was told the whole area was out. I called 2 hotels within a couple blocks, all tv's working.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Woodinva,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay and moved to another hotel in the area. We first would like to thank you for your feedback regarding the furniture in your room. We are currently replacing all the furniture in the hotel. Overtime these things tend receive a lot of wear and tear. After you brought to our attention to the stains in the bathroom. The General Manager and Lead Houskeeper investigated this issue further and did not see the stains that you saw in the bathroom. If there were stains in the bathroom we would not let a guest stay there till the issue was resolved. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the HD in your room. There was an outage in the hotel that day. We are very sorry for that inconvenience. The tech was contacted regarding at this matter. At the time the tech was delayed fixing the issue. We appreciate all guest feedback regarding the hotel. We strive as a hotel to make all of our guests happy. In doing that we do what it takes, and in this case we have reached out to Hotwire to refund the money to you the guest to make this up to you. We are very sorry that you were not satisifed. We hope you would give us a second chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a family reunion here in November and the location was perfect.
Close to everything and easy to get to and from.
The staff was Excellent.
The continental breakfast was good and included belgium waffles. Could have had a little more variety but it was a great place to start our day.

Room Tip: We had a queen suite and used our room as the family meeting place. It worked out great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear djness,

Thank you for teling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. Thank you for staying with us. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in the Williamsburg Historic Area for five nights. I loved the location of the hotel - a few blocks away (0.5 miles) from the visitor center/shuttle bus to Colonial Wiliamsburg. it also conveniently located near a number of restaurants (economical, moderately priced as well as very expensive). The hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. The buffet breakfast was better than most. The rooms were nice in size an were clean. Great value for the price. We will stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Dwain B,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review of our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Willimasburg. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your wife. Thank you for all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Address: 400 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Carlson, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing