We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Week Stay, Pretty Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One Week Stay, Pretty Decent”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed six nights at this location and thought it was a nice property. Some of the front desk staff was a little bit cool for my taste, excepting a couple of folks who were proactively friendly. Room was very good, bed was uber-comfortable as is typical for this chain, and housekeeping was excellent. The pool and exercise areas were clean, well lit, and pleasant.

The hotel is centrally located and there are a lot of good (and a few less-than-optimal) choices for food and entertainment within reasonable walking distance, in addition to all of the historic areas which are a short drive away. Location was a plus for this property.

About five o'clock one evening late in my stay, the power went out in the city for a little over twelve hours following a storm. The hotel had no backup power beyond battery-powered emergency lighting that lasted a couple of hours. Then it got crazy dark. The hotel staff put chemlights in the hallways and handed out small flashlights, so I think it was handled well at the local level, but a small backup generator to power essential services and emergency lighting doesn't seem unreasonable for a hotel at this price point.

Of course, one rarely uses the stairwells in a multi-story hotel, but the power outage forced everyone to use them. At the bottom of the stairwell, I found about 10 mattresses tucked under the lowest landing. Combustible material under stairs is a big no-no under most fire codes as it can catch fire and block emergency evacuation routes.

Lastly, and of minor importance, there was a strange and persistent smell (funky-body?) all week in the hallway between the front desk and the elevators. It wasn’t a show stopper but wasn’t very pleasant and should be addressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your six night stay at our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the power outage that occurred. We try out best to make our guest as comfortable as possible if there is a power outage. We will be considering your comments for future policies in the event the power is out for an extended period of time. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    322
    98
    40
    37
See reviews for
482
284
36
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bear
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel that we have always stayed in was not avaiable for Spring break- so I booked Garden Inn. we found this hotel to be our new favorite! This hotel is an older hotel, however the rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfy. we loved it so much there that we booked an extra night. Kids loved the pool and the free tea/cookies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelawareMom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We appreciate you review of our hotel. It is nice to hear that we exceeded our expectations when the hotel you normally book at was sold out. We would be delighted to see you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good location, less than 10 minutes to colonial Williamsburg. Excellent buffet breakfast, $8.95, blueberry pancakes, fresh toast were the best!

Very helpful and professional staff, free coffee, tea and cookies daily. Would come back for return stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our cook-to-order breakfast. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have been staying here for nearly ten years on our way to vacation and we would never change! The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are roomy and comfortable (we do always book the suite) and the morning breakfast has a lot of variety as well as a custom order from the kitchen. They even make it convenient to make to-go coffee/tea/cocoa. I would definitely recommend booking the bed and breakfast package. They also have a variety of cookies each afternoon for free in the lobby (kids love it!) and a small "pantry" with items to purchase including alcoholic selections (reasonably priced for a hotel). The location is perfect. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance or just a short drive for something a bit more upscale. There is shopping just down the road at a large outlet mall - which also includes premium shops or some touristy places within walking distance. Great stay - as always - thank you!! See you all again next year!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cms1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review about our hotel. It is always nice to hear about what keeps our customers coming back year after year. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a nice Hotel. Staff is very helpful with local information. My family enjoyed our stay here.We had no problems. Beds were comfortable and everything was nice and clean. I really liked the small kitchenette with fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

we enjoyed the inn &the fact it was very convenient to good restaurants but really enjoyed the breakfasts the inn served. As well as your buffet choices they had a chef to cook anything you pleased. It was nice to be greeted in the morning by a smiling hostess &pleasant wait staff. The homemade cookies in the afternoon were a nice treat after touring all day.Convenient also to the historic area as well as the huge outlet mall so there was something for everyone. Will always look for this type of inn on future travels

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cate042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We appreciate your review about your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear that our guests had a pleasant experience with us. We are glad to hear that you will be trying other Hilton Garden Inns in the future. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Williamsburg.


Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The good:
Beds were comfy. Hotel was clean. Room was spacious - had room for a queen sized bed and a little sitting area. Complimentary wifi. Lobby is pretty. Good breakfast - omelets/pancakes/french toast to order, fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt

The not so good: no vent in bathroom. Noticed some paint chipping on bathroom ceiling and a chip in the bathtub. Other guests were loud and drunk - I boarded one elevator in the lobby, and the loud drunk people another, and I could hear them through the elevator shaft. Our neighbors also hung out in the hallway (instead of their room) but they simmered down as it was time to sleep.

The ugly: Breakfast service EXTREMELY slow. There was a long line in the middle of the lobby where we waited 15 min to be seated (but there were tables with seats available). After waiting to be seated, we had to wait in the omelet line for another 5-10 min while ONE chef cooked all of the omelets. Good thing we weren't on a tight schedule.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. It is always nice to hear the good and what needs improved upon. I would like to personally apologize for the wait time that you experienced during breakfast. Our breakfast is popular among our guests and during peak hours there can be a wait time. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Address: 1624 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our convenient location in the heart of Williamsburg's restaurant and entertainment district at the Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, VA hotel. All the attractions of Colonial Williamsburg are located just minutes away. Our hotel also boasts proximity to Jamestown, Yorktown, Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA. Find everything you need for work and relaxation in this Williamsburg, VA hotel. Benefit from complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. With a complimentary 24-hour business center and meeting space for up to 125 people, the Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg hotel is the stand-out choice for meetings and events in Williamsburg. Take advantage of our 24-hour fitness center, Pavilion Pantry(R) convenience store and indoor pool. Guest rooms feature all you need for work and relaxation with the latest technology and comforting amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing