We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton was a great place for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hilton was a great place for us”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights to attend a football camp nearby. Great location - a ton of restaurant choices within walking distance. Clean hotel with very friendly staff. Rates were reasonable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,


Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    319
    97
    38
    35
See reviews for
475
279
36
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We just returned from our 2nd visit to Williamsburg for my son's Top Gun football camp. We were not happy with the place we stayed in last year, so this year I did research to find a better place to stay. HGI was terrific, nice pool, fitness room has great equipment, wifi works well, pools are extremely comfortable, and the breakfast is definitely "a cut above" from all the other hotel breakfasts (also loved the cookies!). We booked the Bed & Breakfast package rather than paying the daily rate for breakfast, but the cooked-to-order part is very nice, plus there are several buffet items. The breakfast area is lovely, never got too crowded, and the staff who work the area are extremely friendly, cheerful, and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place over any of the other "free breakfast" hotels, and when we return to the area I won't need to do further research, as we'll be staying here on all future visits.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our cook to order breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,


Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is located in the perfect spot, close to Colonial Williamsburg and the Busch Gardens theme parks. There is plenty of parking around the hotel. The lobby was clean and bright, very welcoming. The front desk staff were always kind and friendly.
Our room was spotless, very clean. The bathroom was very clean. All of the white in the bathroom was white, not an off white, but sparkling.
Breakfast may have been my favorite part. Get down to the lobby early ( no later than 8) to avoid the morning bustle. The morning wait staff are friendly. The food was DELICIOUS! The chef made everything perfectly. There was plenty to choose from without it being overwhelming.
My only complaint is not with the hotel, but the roads around it. Coming from Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens, you have to make a loop using backroads to get to Richmond Road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently visited the Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg to attend a football camp with my son. We thorughly enjoyed our three day stay at this hotel. The hotel is nice, clean, and very well maintained. My son was especially fond of the freshly baked cookies that the hotel offers on a nightly basis, gratis. The staff are extremely nice, and helpful; we felt very welcome. The hotel is in a great location in Williamsburg; centrally located, and within walking distance to numerous restaurants. Also, 5 to 15 minutes driving distance to many more. However, I will not patronize this location in the future.

In all honesty, I would recommend this hotel for others but I cannot return to this location in good conscience. Through no fault of the hotel, the airline I utilized, or myself the Newark Airport was shut down for a few hours due to weather conditions. Obviously, this created a nightmare within the airport and many flights were cancelled or delayed, mine included. I phoned the hotel to inform them that in all likelihood I would not be able to check in until the following day. As I did not arrive into Richmond until 2:30 am with my son, and all of the rental car facilities were closed we were forced to rent a room there for that morning.

I phoned the hotel again to update them on my status and was informed that I would lose my reservation if I didn't not allow them to issue me a late check-in for that night, and I would have been charged for the night anyway because I had not cancelled within 48 hours. Since, I was paying for the night anyway (and as stated I'm traveling with my son, the idea of driving around Williamsburg the following day trying to secure new accommodations did not appeal to me) I allowed this to occur.

Through my own fault I assumed that since we had not actually used the room, I could appeal to management and have the charge reversed. Upon check-out I left a message asking management to contact me, which they promptly did. I was informed in the nicest possible manner by the Assistant GM that she could not reverse the charge. Subsequently, I ask to speak to the GM whom also declined, with empathy, to reverse the charge.

So, basically I ended up eating one nights stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg AND paying for the same nights stay in Richmond. Obviously, I am not thrilled about this. Therefore, as I did not receive the consideration I believe was in order, I will not return to the Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg. I would absolutely recommend this hotel if you're positive that you will not have any delays in checking into this hotel. Again, let me be clear: THE STAFF AT THE HILTON GARDEN INN WILLIAMSBURG HOTEL IS FANTASTIC!!! I simply believe management could have shown more flexibility in my particular case.

Room Tip: Sleep quality was rated poor due to no central air, and the air conditionar was somwhat noisy but to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My review is based on just one night stay.
The front desk staff (Nancy and Joe) were very welcoming and good humored. After we settled in our room, they telephoned us to make sure we found everything we needed.
The room and bathroom were spacious, very clean and comfortable. Great water pressure.
Free parking. The area felt very safe.
Very pleasantly looking lobby and breakfast area. Breakfast itself is just OK, but it did its job before we hit the road.
If we were to go back to Williamsburg, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_citizen_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Joe and Nancy made such an impression. It is always great to hear wonderful things about our staff members. We hope to see you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn in Williamsburg delivered a nice three-night vacation stay. The hotel is centrally located to a lot of places and is very clean. The staff for the most part was very friendly and accommodating minus a few ladies at the front desk during the AM. We had one problem with the room that was never fixed. The A/C leaks and soaks quite a bit of the carpet. The afternoon cookies are a nice treat and the breakfast is very good and a great price for a hotel. Hilton is one of my favorite chains as I know what type of hotel to expect from them when choosing one of their categories of hotels. This hotel is very solid and I’d gladly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. Although you had a problem with the ac unit during your stay I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I would like to personally apologize not only for the ac unit making the carpet wet but for my staff members not fixing it during your stay. Please contact me directly, so that I can get more information as to why it was not fixed during your stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmawr, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Garden Inn on July 6th enroute home from SC. Nancy was at the reception desk , very cordial and couldn't have been more accommodating if she tried! The room was immaculate and felt very "welcoming". The next morning we departed for home but not before we'd had breakfast in the dining area where Barbara was the hostess and Gloria and Cynthia were servers. This team was only one of many who obviously make up a very diligent staff that possesses a very impressive work ethic.

We thought we'd "try" this type of lodging just to see what it offered...well, from this point on, you can rest assured the Hilton Garden Inn is where we'll be staying for any forthcoming trips to that wonderful Williamsburg area! Many thanks to all of you who helped to provide "a home away from home"...your efforts are greatly appreciated!

Room Tip: If handicapped, the staff will try to offer you a room on a lower level; they go out of their way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethecharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that so many of our staff members made an impression on you. We enjoy hear comments about our staff members and have passed on your comments to our staff. We hope to see you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Address: 1624 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our convenient location in the heart of Williamsburg's restaurant and entertainment district at the Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, VA hotel. All the attractions of Colonial Williamsburg are located just minutes away. Our hotel also boasts proximity to Jamestown, Yorktown, Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA. Find everything you need for work and relaxation in this Williamsburg, VA hotel. Benefit from complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. With a complimentary 24-hour business center and meeting space for up to 125 people, the Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg hotel is the stand-out choice for meetings and events in Williamsburg. Take advantage of our 24-hour fitness center, Pavilion Pantry(R) convenience store and indoor pool. Guest rooms feature all you need for work and relaxation with the latest technology and comforting amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing