We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale room at a budget price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Williamsburg
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Wetumpka AL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Upscale room at a budget price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

A huge room complete with king-size bed, sofa, chair, large bathroom and a separate room with sink, fridge, coffeepot, microwave oven, and work desk. Free internet access. Plenty of space for storing clothes and suitcases. Many channels on the TV, including Food Network (a biggie for us :-D). Everything was clean and new-looking.

All of this for $85 per night. A bargain in my travel book!

  • Liked — The bedroom area being separate from the kitchen/work desk area
  • Disliked — Room wasn't ready until 4:30 pm; hopefully this was an anomaly, rather than normal.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Heart-of-Dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    165
    93
    43
    32
See reviews for
266
108
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

We had a Sisters Weekend Getaway ages ranging from 15-48. We had 4 rooms. The lobby decor was tastefully done. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The beds were very clean and comfortable. Bright white sheets at a hotel are a plus! The staff was professional, friendly and accomodating. The maids and maintenance staff were very pleasant and took our needs. They offered a good variety for breakfast. Shopping and restaurants are within close proximity of the hotel. You can even walk to restaurants and shopping. Everyone had a wonderful and enjoyable stay at Springhill. We will return to Springhill Suites on our next visit to Williamsburg. It was a perfect
weekend with no complaints.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank JANJ1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while participating in the Patriot's half ironman triathlon on September 8th. The Springhill Suites was everything we could have asked for. We had a king suite with the most comfortable bed I have ever encountered in a hotel - perfect for our weary bodies after six plus hours of triathlon racing! The room was big enough to store our two bikes, and the sink/refrigerator/microwave area served us well due to the fact that we brought a lot of our own food. Bathroom was clean, modern, and spacious. Bed linens were crisp and white and seemed new. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast so I can't comment on that service.

We felt like we got a great value with a $89 per night rate through the W-burg Hotel Association.

  • Liked — great beds
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

The trip advisor reviews were mixed on this property. Normally I love Marriott properties--love their beds and showerheads. The hotel is a very busy property and the breakfast room is laid out in such a manner it makes for chaos. There were never enough seats, and too many people trying to use the waffle maker. The buffet has an ample selection, and there was usually enough food for everyone.

We had 4 in our party, and had a 2 queen suite. Unfortunately the bathroom sink is located at the foot of the queen beds, which mean't when someone got up to use the bathroom, it woke everyone up. There is no door between the living area and the bedroom. This makes it difficult to watch TV without disturbing the person trying to sleep. The room is better suited to a small party.

The walls are thin. Kids are noisy. The pool is small.

The front desk help is friendly.

  • Liked — convenience to Williamsburg attractions
  • Disliked — Too noisy
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luv2trvlRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, MD
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

This was our second stay at this hotel in Williamsburg. Spacious room, two queen beds and pull out sofa, small kitchen area with coffee maker, sink and fridge/freezer. Very comfortable for family with "tweens" who no longer want to share a bed but are too young to be in their own room. Great location on Richmond Ave, within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Indoor pool. GREAT RATES FOR MILITARY FAMILIES. Continental breakfast has a wide selection of hot and cold items. Breakfast ends at 9:00 am on weekdays, so get there early as it has been crowded during both our stays. Very friendly staff, no reason to stay anywhere else in Williamsburg.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank FamMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melaniefoo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

Just returned from 2 nights at the Springhill Suites on Richmond Road in Williamsburg. We had stayed here once before in Dec 2006 so we knew what to expect. Check in was ridiculously easy. I literally gave them my name & they handed me keys. Can't get much easier than that!

I had several criteria when I chose this hotel: must have a continental breakfast, must have interior hallways (don't feel safe in the exterior hallway hotels) and must be centrally located.

We booked a king suite & that is exactly what we got. The only issue I had with the room was that the A/C was definitely working overtime since it was 95 degrees & higher when we were there. The carpet around the A/C unit was damp from the condensation. When I mentioned to the front desk, they were fully aware of the problem and said that the A/C simply does like the summer heat. They also seem to have a problem with cooling their hallways because when you stepped out of your room it was like stepping into a sauna. Luckily, for me, I don't spend much time in the hallways so it wasn't a huge deal. But, yikes, the housekeeping staff probably can't wait to get into a room to clean just to get out of the stuffy hallway!

Their continental breakfast is pretty good. Belgian waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, muffins, pastries, biscuits, they had it all. Just make sure you get down there early. During the week, they serve until 9am and when we went down at 8:30 we had to wait in a line!

I love the location of the hotel because it is right behind the General Store. We could walk over & get some ice cream before returning to the room at night. It also has a very well-lit parking area. There is also a pool, but we never swam in it because we went to Water Country.

We paid $143/night which was a AAA rate. Overall, the hotel is clean and rooms were perfect for my daughter & myself.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — A/C problem in the hallways
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank melaniefoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

If you're looking to stay in a hotel that is close to B. Gardens or Watercountry, this is not the place. It's about a 15-20 minute drive depending on traffic. Our room had paint issues, as there were huge water stains around the windows. The carpet was dirty and we even found a pair of goggles and a sock left under the edge of the bed spread from previous vacationers. The halls were dirty with food, trash and used bathroom towels from various rooms. The end entrance/exit stairs weren't cleaned the entire three nights we stayed there. They need to revamp their housekeeping and make sure that they are keeping the place more clean.

Another tip that may help parents is that you shouldn't let you kids go to the pool without water shoes. We saw several children and an adult slip on the wet tile. It is dangerous and is an accident that happens over and over again. The water needs to be monitored and mopped up immediately! The other solution to that would be for the hotel to invest in some rubber mats for safety.

The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast and the beds. They had a huge selection of breakfast foods. The beds were very comfortable. We did have to ask for more towels all three days. They would only place three towels for a four person room.

This place was overpriced and there were many nicer hotels for the money. This is not your typical Marriott by any means. I would not pay the money to stay here again. We thought we were paying more for a nicer place to rest at night. WRONG!

  • Liked — Continental Breakfast Selection & Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Overall cleanliness and overpriced
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfpack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Williamsburg
Residence Inn Williamsburg
#35 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Williamsburg

Property: SpringHill Suites Williamsburg
Address: 1644 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh and modern, SpringHill Suites Williamsburg has been newly redesigned with business travelers and family vacationers in mind. We've thought of everything from spacious studio suites with new furnishings to friendly service and contemporary living amenities to keep you comfortable and relaxed. Ideally located near shopping and fun things to do, our location offers the perfect home base for visiting a near-endless list of top Williamsburg area attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing