We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“William & Mary College Food Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Williamsburg Food Tour

Taste of Williamsburg Food Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide fun and delicious food and drink tours to several of the best local places in town. Wether you're looking for something fun to do and a way to meet up with other travelers for fun drinks or just want to try different foods, we're the tour for you! Drink tours include both food and drinks: Absinthe, Virginia Craft Beer Flight (3 beers), Beer, Tequila, Jello Shots, and Wine. Food includes French Gourmet Macaroni and Cheese, Ploughman's Lunch, amazing brick fired pizza, variety of Virginia Peanuts, and a holly sandwich. Food tours include the same as above, without the drinks. This is a must do for the beginning of your trip in Williamsburg. If you love food or enjoy drinking, come check us out! Tours last three hours and start at 2PM and cost from $46 to $74 per person.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“William & Mary College Food Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our group of eight took the food tour in April, 2013. This activity was part of a family reunion in Williamsburg. Our tour guide, John, was very personable and informative. We had more food than we could ever possibly eat in that time period! One of the highlights was the tour of the college and the Wren Building. We all enjoyed our afternoon and would definitely recommend this tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYtraveler2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    13
    7
    5
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun and Tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a wonderful afternoon eating our way around the Merchants Square and touring William & Mary College with our guide, John. John was quite personable and knowledgeable about the area and even the recipes. While the tour was more expensive than one we had done in another city, these portions were ample (as well as delicious) and we didn't need dinner that evening... Our only regret was that we didn't book the tour earlier in our trip so we could revisit more of the restaurants!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WineandRoseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun but too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I went on this tour using a Groupon. It was fun to go to the different places but it is definitely not worth the price. I feel that even with the groupon, I overpayed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alane07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance Z, Owner at Taste of Williamsburg Food Tour, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Customer,

Very sorry that you did not feel that it was worth what you paid. We do our best to ensure that each customer feels that they received value from the tour.

To prevent situations like this, we both list everything that you will receive and show photos of them both in advance and during the booking process. This was also shown to those who purchased the Groupon.

However, am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and had fun.

Food tours in other cities are more expensive, and based on some of the other reviews here, offer less food for it. Food tours are not for every budget and they are not for everyone- they are a premium product for foodies.

As for the price, we didn't make any money on the Groupon and have to stay in business, pay overhead and insurance, keep our employees employed and compensated for their time, and pay our restaurant partners. This is the only explanation I can give for the price, and I hope it helps answer the concern you have over the price.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I had a fun time walking around with 4 other couples on a sunny January day with our very nice tour guide. He took us to several stores and taught us a lot about the area and the food. We had a ball and would highly recommend this tour to others. Try to go in the winter or spring when Williamsburg is slow with visitors. John our guide was fun and very outgoing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed the tour. Our tour guide, John, was wonderful. He was personable, entertaining and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the other couples on the tour and the food was excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Williamsburg Food Tour also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Williamsburg Food Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing