We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nazar Mediterranean - CLOSED

Nazar Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The food was very fresh and good, but the hummus (while very fresh) was lacking flavor. The Doener kebap was good, but more on the lines of a Greek gyro than a true Turkish Doener. They do not have cacik sauce, but substitute it with a tsatsiki sauce. Server was extremely nice, but the service was a bit slow and it was hard keeping the kids entertained for such a long time. Overall a good restaurant, but maybe not worth the drive if it's out of the way.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coyforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nazar - A great relief”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This little restaurant on Jamestown Road is a great relief from the pancake houses and chain restaurants of Williamsburg. I love the food, which is pretty close to what I have eaten in Turkey and other places in the middle east...and all served with a smile.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jasonparkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Some great items and service but some average food too”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Loved the service, the quiet serenity of the restaurant, the grilled pita/spinach appetizers, and the zucchini pancakes, which were phenomenal. The steak kabobs were average, slightly organ-tasting, and under-flavored.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank HZS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
278 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Drive 4 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg for Spectacular Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were expecting Nazar to be good (we like Mediterranean food) but the food here was stellar! Quirky and comfortable atmosphere, friendly (and slightly shy) hosts and food that is off the carts make it a super choice. Making choices is a problem because we wanted to try everything and everything we tried was yummy. The freshly baked round bread that accompanied our order (see picture!) was a nice addition but we had so much food! If we lived close to this place, we would never eat any place else.
The food tasted fresh with fresh ingredients. we tried their special zucchini pancakes and they were so good that we had to ask about them. Turns out, the "real" way of making them would be to make them into dumplings. But, they didn't work well in a restaurant setting, so they adapted them into "pancakes." TIP: even if you believe you hate zucchini, order these. They are amazing.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bravo-cinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good food and good prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We both had a lamb kabob that were slightly different and we both liked them very much. The restaurant is very clean and the service was good. They were busy enough that a extra waiter would have been nice but we were not in a hurry so it was fine. We will go back!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kjpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing