We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Taskinas Creek Hiking Trail is # 1

The Taskinas Creek Hiking Trail is 2.0 miles with multiple benches and overlooks. It is the best... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
tedmc_12
,
Richmond, Virginia
A part of Colonial, Revolutionary and Civil War History

A strategic location for so much American History. A significant area of important battles during... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
devnprt1
,
Las Vegas, Nevada
Read all 211 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Williamsburg
from $15.40
More Info
from $40.99
More Info
from $12.00
More Info
from $66.00
More Info
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
136
59
13
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
59
13
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fossil beach great trails mountain biking fossil hunting shark teeth picnic shelters walking trails don't forget your camera blue heron low tide chesapeake bay early june yorktown battlefield nice museum day trip colonial williamsburg hike
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

The Taskinas Creek Hiking Trail is 2.0 miles with multiple benches and overlooks. It is the best trail as it is for hiking only which allows for more solitude. Most other trails are multi-use and share hiking with cyclists and horses so are more busy.

Will return for some of the other trails, beach combing and the Visitor Center with hands on wildlife artifacts.

Thank tedmc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A strategic location for so much American History. A significant area of important battles during the Revolutionary and Civil War.

Thank devnprt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

More to that the three days allowed but worth the time if you like history. Again the people that work here are knowledgeable and play the roles with a flare. Thanks for teh history lesson and entertainment.

1  Thank doctorapplaince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

A fleeting visit which I loved for the historical aspect, wonderful area; just wish i'd read these reviews before visiting, wasn't aware of the fosil beach. It is though a wonderful state park for so many activities.

Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

This was our first visit to Yorktown area. the river was an important part of the water battles that took place here. this area like Williamsburg @ 300 years old has many preserved buildings. and the battlefield where british general Cornwallace & his troops were defeated in the end .Remember the movie the Patriot with Mel Gibson ? if not watch it

Thank lambo320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Great place for hiking and to take in some beautiful scenery. Staff was not the greatest at welcoming you to the park or offering information. We got there later in day and was not fully prepared but will be back!!

Thank mrspage821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

This state park has it all. Great hiking trails, views of river and marsh areas great for kayaking. Walks along the fossil beach to find wonders of marine life remains from yesteryear. Eagle & birds of prey nesting & sighting. A favorite !

Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

I was able to go down to the boat launch and take my kayak off the rack and drag it over the sandy beach. The river is not overly fast so the paddling was ok even though I had to work at it. Am staying only 5 miles away at the Williamsburg RV Resort and wrote about it @kenkeranen.com. I also went into the State Park at a different entrance and the gift shop and information center is well put together the facility and grounds are extremely clean.

1  Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

Ok, I love this park so much I took a job last summer as a seasonal park ranger for my special 50th birthday treat for myself. Who else can say that! I have visited this park as a state park season pass holder more than any other! Marshes, fishing, kayaking, osprey and eagles, and fun fossil hunting at Riverview beach all await. I finally found a pristine Ecphora predatory snail shell too. It is destined for a local museum so everyone can enjoy it, and is between 3 and 5 million years old! Colonial Williamsburg is just a short drive away, making this a perfect day trip for kayaking when you tire of looking at old things and listening to tour guides. Go listen to osprey and kingfishers and there are river otters here too! You just might see one, as they are not horribly shy. Last summer, a pod of dolphins came up the York River every morning, and returned back towards the Chesapeake Bay at sunset between early June through Labor Day weekend.

3  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018

We've visited this park twice now as a fun stop while traveling between D.C. And Williamsburg or VA Beach. It's an easy half mile walk to the fossil beach, where fossils are plentiful. You can only collect one per person. But it's a fun excursion for kids and a good way to stretch your legs. We saw lots of osprey on our last visit too!

5  Thank moorefamily19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews