We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Map Hard to Follow”

York River State Park
Ranked #21 of 92 things to do in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chatham, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Map Hard to Follow”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The trails were wonderful!! However, with the park office closed on weekends (we visited on a Saturday) we had difficulty finding the different trails. Once we did get on one, it truly was well kept and well marked. We spent a lovely afternoon here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank marigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    53
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Loved this area. Gorgeous drive, quaint town, beautiful homes. Wish we had discovered it earlier. Definitely worth visiting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pecos58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“bicycle paths,kayaking”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Kayaking price was very reasonable.$21 for a tandem kayak for 4 hours..
First we kayaked thru the marsh to see the birds in there own habitat.. We almost went out to the sea but our time was almost finished. We came back the next day and rode 8 miles of trails with our cross bicycles. We saw beautiful vistas and wild animals.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is is one picture worthy place. Kastinas Creek valley is beautiful. I went kayaking along the creek and you could not find such serinity in many other places. Beautiful wildlife too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Navigatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Deerfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“July 4th Fireworks”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We visited for the July 4th fireworks. Very crowded. Found a great place to sit just off the paved foot path and across from the beach. Not much available for shops or snacks. Not a worry as I had brought drinks and snacks. We were pleasantly surprised that there was swimming available and many people cooling off in the water. Although we did not have a suits I let my daughters swim in their shorts since we had two hours before the fireworks. Not a good choice as my 6 year old was stung by a jellyfish. Who would have thought of jellyfish in the York River. The nearby medics inplace for th fireworks were great in treating her and shared that they did not rocommend any to swim as they had had an usually high number of jellyfish stings due to the extremely hot waether. Wish I had known that before! No signs were posted. We did not let that spoil our fun. The fireworks were amazing!! Three times my 10 year old thought the finale was occurring. We parked up on the batlefield as was suggested. The crown control was fantastic and we were out of there in a reasonable amount of time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank momtoalyncait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York River State Park also viewed

 

Been to York River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing