We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican we've had in a long time”
Review of Plaza Azteca

Plaza Azteca
Ranked #64 of 390 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
513 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Best Mexican we've had in a long time”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We just thought we were just going to Lunch, but were in for a real treat. The interior looked upscale. The menu was nicely varied. We decided to order a guacamole salad appetizer. We balked at the price, but were blown away. A waitress showed up at the table with a cart and proceeded to hand make the guacamole from three fresh avacados and added all the ingredients we liked. It impressed us so much the price was no big deal. The service was superior. I dropped my fork on the floor. In less than 30 seconds, a sever came over with a fresh one. Can't remember what our entrees were, but we enjoyed every minute of our experience there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BandB-Lovers_30-yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    116
    50
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“You have to like Mexican. If you dont like spicy they have that for you too.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I dont like spicy foods. So I cant vouch for the spicy stuff I know they have. But I can say the casadeas are wonderful. I like the mexican taste but I really can not eat spicy it upsets my stomach. So if your afraid to eat here dont be. Just watch what you order and ask. They will assist you. The attomosphere and people here area wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Plaza”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Plaza Azteca has great customer service. The staff was very efficient at doing there job. I usually go to a local Mexican restaurant but thought this one was better. The only bad thing, this is not a reflection of the restaurant, was the booth behind us was rather loud. We could here the whole conversation. Everything else was very good. I enjoyed the whole experience of this Plaza Azteca. On the way out, we were given a coupon to come back and information about Cinco de Mayo. We would have come back but had other plans for that weekend. I hope this helps in deciding to go to Plaza Azteca. I usually do not write about things like this but it was such a good experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ldstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced Mexican”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't worth the price. You're paying for an Americanized atmosphere that is over the top. We tried the suizas, a favorite of ours, and they were probably the worst we've had; not to say they were bad, just the lowest on the list. I would rather pay a third of the price for the place in the strip mall down the street and be much happier with the food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FranktheLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We tried this restaurant for a change and because we missed having Mexican food on this trip.
Plaza Azteca is a good place if you want a large variety of choices and good combination plates.
We had read about their guacamole and their white salsa. The guacamole was made tableside and was the largest serving that I have ever seen at one table. It could have served 4-6 people. Worth every penny it cost us. The white salsa was so so. Really didn't know what to expect when we ordered it. Couldn't tell if it had a mayonnaise base or a sour cream base. We both tried a combination plate. Mine was a beef enchilada & chicken enchilada with black beans and rice. My husband tried the chili relleno, beef enchilada with refried beans and rice. Both were fairly good Tex-Mex.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Azteca also viewed

Williamsburg, VA
Williamsburg, VA
 
Williamsburg, VA
 

Been to Plaza Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing