We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ideal for family vacation! However....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Bypass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Bypass
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal for family vacation! However....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was amazing! Great breakfast, friendly staff, arcade and pool area for an entire family to enjoy! However, I would suggest that if you get a room with a sleeper sofa in hope to accommodate a large group of people, do yourself a favor and get another room with a bed! We stayed in a queen suite with two beds and a sleeper sofa...We had to rotate our sleeping arrangement due to how uncomfortable the sofa mattress was! In the end of our trip I slept on it, but only with the mattress still inside of the sofa! If you are 5'10" or under you will be able to sleep on it easy like a regular sofa, but the springs are painful on the actual mattress! :(

Room Tip: Go for a bed NOT the sleeper sofa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VayKGetAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    200
    47
    12
    3
See reviews for
365
138
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I pre-booked this hotel directly through choicehotels.com and got what I thought was a good rate by pre-paying for the room. I checked back on the day that I arrived and the walk-in rate was $25 cheaper than I had prepaid before. Oh well, lesson learned.

The decor of the hotel is VERY different from any other Comfort Suites we have stayed in - very modern and unique. It is quite stunning as soon as you enter the hotel. The girl who checked us in was excellent and efficient. The indoor pool area is small and was overrun by many kids without their parents. I have nothing against kids using the pool. I was there with my family and we were looking forward to using the pool ourselves. Kids were running around the pool, screaming, and splashing everyone around on the pool deck. It was annoying and we left the pool area disappointed that it was not observed by a staff member from time to time.

I noticed lots of food and garbage in the hallways of the hotel. I expected that it would be cleaned up by the next day, but it was still there 18 hours later. After seeing this, I started looking a bit closer around the hotel. I noticed lots of paper peeling in the hallways, holes in the wall from luggage hitting it, broken floor tiles in the elevator, etc. It is not that the hotel was in poor shape that would stop me from staying there again, but it certainly needs some maintenance to fix up these issues.

The food served in the "free" morning breakfast was good and similar as to what you would find at other Comfort Suites. They were pretty full during our stay and several breakfast items were empty. They were refilled by a worker, but that worker was rather rude and surly. I did not see the employee in the breakfast area and I mentioned to my daughter that some of the items were empty and the worker's rude remark and tone about how he was replacing the items was uncalled for. Very unprofessional.

The hotel is in a great location, walkable to several restaurants, and just a few minutes ride to Colonial Williamsburg, the Prime outlet mall, Busch Gardens, and Water Country USA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2TravelLots69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
209 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights and maybe my standards are too high but there were finger prints and spills all over the room! I was also disappoined with the modern decor. I guess coming from a resort stay in Orlando spoiled me but when I see fingerprints all over the door and some sort of food dripped on the air conditioner it kind of puts me off. I will say this was an adequate lodging but as my experience staying at hotels in Williamsburg has gone this is one of the better ones. I can understand in comparison to the rest of the hotels why it is rated number 4 on TA but as the rest of the world goes it is only average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful hotel, loved the decor. It was nice that the hotel has its own unique look and isn't a cookie cutter version of every other hotel property out there. Upon arrival the woman at the front desk was very personable and efficient in checking us in. Had room 403 - 2 queen beds. Again, can't say enough about the unique look, would love to decorate my bedroom with the same tones. Beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and roomy. We decided to explore and went to the pool and jacuzzi. We were in luck because it was a rare time when nobody else was in there. The pool was cool and refreshing. The hot tub - I didn't want to get out. Some people might find the water temp to be too hot but I found it to be perfect. Checked out the gym and he game room, both looked good but we didn't actually use either of them. Breakfast in the morning was just what we needed. Of course, they could always use another waffle maker, but it really doesn't take that long. They had the basics and everything was tasty. On both mornings we always saw an attendant buzzing around keeping things orderly. The hotels location was very convenient - just a very short ride to busch gardens, water country USA, or colonial williamsburg. I don't see how you can go wrong with this place. There are other choice hotel properties in williamsburg with lower advertised rates, but the few extra dollars for this property are so worth it. I want to go back to williamsburg just for this hotel!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tib3322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Clean, very friendly & helpful staff. Nice large suite. Would definitely recommend, Would go back.
Did not try the restaurant for dinner.Grandkids wanted Chipotle, Ruby Tuesday. Breakfast was a huge spread

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. Excellent Hotel. VERY CLEAN ROOM and Close enough to attractions. Front desk was very friendly. Everytime we saw housekeeping they said hello and asked if we needed anything. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitorfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skyline
Level Contributor
177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The decor was beautiful. The motel was clean and fairly new. The room was very spacious. We loved having a refrigerator and.microwave in room. We stayed on first floor right near the pool. It was nice being that close to pool in room 104. I would suggest you stay on a upper floor because we could hear heavy walkers on the tread mill pretty early. We really enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. They allowed pool time from 6 am until 11 pm, those are great pool times. The breakfast was very good. It was well stocked and a good variety even in a very busy breakfast area. We highly recommend this motel. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Bypass

Property: Comfort Suites Bypass
Address: 220 Bypass Rd # NO.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Bypass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Bypass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Bypass Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing