We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Williamsburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Bypass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Bypass
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Williamsburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a nice newer hotel. We had a spacious room with two beds and a sofa with a bed. The beds were comfortable. Room was clean. They had a nice breakfast bar with good selection including waffles, eggs, sausage links, donuts, cereal, fruit, muffins. Friendly and efficient staff. Close to all attractions. Good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    191
    46
    12
    3
See reviews for
358
134
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, MD
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel in a good location in Williamsburg. The size of the suite we booked was very large and hard to find. We had a pull out, two queens and a separate bedroom with a King. This allowed each child to have a bed and my husband and I to have privacy and space. Since we were travelling at Christmas, I did not want our sleep to suffer and cause hard feelings about being away from home. The price was very reasonable because of the time of year. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was adequate, but not luxurious. It has a large amount of space for the morning breakfast. The front desk was helpful and friendly.

The decor is the most distinct thing about this hotel. It is modern pushed to the point where it is almost ugly, and I like contemporary decor. It has an industrial feel with bold contrasting patterns and color. It misses cutting edge and tends towards tacky. Maybe it is the setting of Williamsburg that makes it seem odd. This did not cause me to regret staying here, but it would be a tie breaker if I was choosing between this one and another with similar attributes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delmarvamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Comfort Suites has not been a brand on my radar for several years but based on past reviews and the price, our family opted to stay here for several nights while visiting the Williamsburg area. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was adequate and what we expected. The kids loved the chocolate waffle batter a treat! Pool area smelled very strongly of chlorine - much stronger than normal - to the point where I needed to leave the area for fresh air. The room itself was large with plenty of space to spread out. Very convenient to Colonial Williamsburg. It was very quiet, which was very important to us. Overall, a very good experience.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MMJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My friend and I stayed here this past weekend with our kids and we really enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and clean and the hotel was clean as well! We checked in about 9pm. Quick and easy check in, front desk clerk was very polite and friendly! Our room was nice and clean. Had everything we needed. Girls wanted to go swimming so we went down and let them swim for an hour. The girls enjoyed the pool very much! My friend and I got in the hot tub and it was great! They had towels we could use as well down at the pool. Beds were very comfortable, the pillows weren't very comfy, but they were hotel pillows so I guess its expected. My daughter slept on the pull out couch, had no problems sleeping on it. Shower was hot and great pressure. Breakfast in the morning was the normal fare. Belgian waffles, bagels pastries, cereal, etc. Also finding this hotel was very easy as well, right next to a Golden Corral. Check was fast and easy as well. All in all I really enjoyed my stay here, will def stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiwdurando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel while visiting Busch Gardens Christmas Town (well worth the crowds). Hotel is new. We stayed in the two "bedroom" suite, which is actually one large bedroom with a door that separates it from the rest of the suite, which had two queen size beds and a sleeper sofa. Plenty of room for 5 of us, and the price was very reasonable. Breakfast was standard continental style, including waffles and a nice treat for the kids-chocolate waffles. Pool and hot-tub were pretty much the norm for a hotel this size. Overall great value for the price and compared to others. Very friendly staff and cooperative. If using your Tom Tom to get there, I had a little trouble finding it. If you find the Golden Corral, it's in teh same parking lot. Only complaint I have is that like so many hotels, the heat/ac unit is located under the window-standard, but they tend to be loud and constantly cycle on and off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penns Grove, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel on the first week of Dec. 2012 for the second time this year. Everything was just as wonderful as it was the first time around. Staff very friendly and helpful,
All the maids and everyone were so very nice. Rooms and the whole hotel were beautiful and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was great, lot of choices. Was very convenient to all restaurants and shopping and activities. Inside pool and hot tub were great. We go to Williamsburg , VA
twice
a year and I will definitely stay here again. What a beautiful place and atmosphere. Tom and Jackie P.

Room Tip: Both times we stayed we had handicapped rooms on two different floors. They were convenient and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TippyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Comfort Suites gave us a lovely suite. Beds were comfortable. Room was nicely decorated and very clean. The pool and hot tub were our favorite place morning and evening. They were in excellent condition with early and late hours to help us begin and end our days of sightseeing. Breakfast had good choices and hours. Staff was friendly and accommodating. I would definitely use this hotel on my return to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Bypass

Property: Comfort Suites Bypass
Address: 220 Bypass Rd # NO.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Bypass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Bypass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Bypass Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing