We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed”
Review of Bassett Hall

Bassett Hall
Ranked #13 of 91 things to do in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of Mr. and Mrs. John Rockefeller Jr. decorated in 18th-century furnishings.
Ridgeland, MS
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I only knew the name of the Rockefellers before visiting this home. I am so impressed by this amazing couple and all they have done for Williamsburg and our entire country. I can't wait to read more about them.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deanna Warnock G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    47
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rockerfellers other home.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a great place to learn about the family that saved Colonial Williamsburg. Really enjoy the guides here and their knowledge of the home and Rockerfellers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank don452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Thank you to the Rockerfeller Family”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is where the Rockerfeller family lived. It was a beautiful house and we were given an ecellent tour of the house

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pediatricnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth Taking the Time”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This visit is very well worthwhile. It is a warm and comfortable home, preserved as it was when occupied by the Rockefellers. A visit here provides plenty of background on the vision and work that went into the preservation of Colonial Williamsburg. It doesn't take much time, but we enjoyed it and we left with warm feelings.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Fairways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Colonial Williamsburg!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Although, not the official time period of Colonial Williamsburg, we enjoyed this tour and home the best. The decor was spectacular and tour guides were knowledgeable and you could tell truly love what they do!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank heatherr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bassett Hall also viewed

 

Been to Bassett Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing