We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Williamsburg
from $40.99
More Info
from $15.40
More Info
from $12.00
More Info
Reviews (2,274)
Filter reviews
2,249 results
Traveler rating
1,629
509
92
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,629
509
92
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial williamsburg hedge maze tour guide beautiful building great tour original building colonial times patrick henry sword weapons history furnishings period life reconstruction character reproduction
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,249 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

What a terrific job they do to explain and show you the living conditions and the grandeur of the wealthy in that time period. Another "Must See" at Colonial Williamsburg.

Thank monty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

The Governor's Palace is one of the star attractions at WIlliamsburg but it had been looking run down. They have recently redone the entry hall with arms display based on new research and refurbished the maze and gardens in the back. A very enjoyable tour with our guide Megan. Highly recommend it and also be sure to book the small group tour of the Carter house next door which is undergoing restoration. They show you how they research a building. Very interesting.

Thank NChoagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

The tour inside the palace revealed authentic artifacts from our colonial history, showing how aristocrats lived back then. The tour guide was very informative, friendly and willing to answer all our questions. We were both impressed with the well preserved furniture and household items.
TIP: Listed separately, they also put on the ”Visit a Nation Builder” series in back of the palace, in an outdoor stage, where a person performs in the character of a figure from this time - very interesting. Put both on your list to visit.

Thank We-R-Voyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

The mansion is beautiful and worth a tour, but beware, I've been many times to Colonial Williamsburg and am now hearing different versions of history. The young lady on this tour said "this is just what I think" an awful lot. I certainly though this was inappropriate and not on par with the mission of Colonial Williamsburg. People come to learn history, not hear the opinions of the tour guides.

Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great tour at Colonial Williamsburg. Guide was friendly and informative. Palace was the best place decorated from the era on property.

Thank COJOWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed touring the building and grounds. I was quite surprised by the colors inside the building. They were much brighter than I expected. The tour guides were very nice and answered question. You walked through at your own pace.

Thank Suziwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Must visit this in WIlliamsburg and enjoy the history of our country back then. It is good for everyone in the family.

Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are many great historic experiences available at Historic Williamsburg. The Governor’s Palace may be the most visually impressive, but there are more entertaining tours and experiences in other buildings. So, you’ve bought your ticket, go in and see the place, especially if you are into historic interiors. However, if your there on a crowded day with kids, I would put it low on my list.
My wife has a hard time being critical, she thought it was “fine”. Enough said.

Thank Georgann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed hearing about the different governors and their families. When you enter you will be amazed at the armor.

Don't forget to enjoy the gardens as well.

Thank Velma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Like many buildings in the area, this one is a rebuild after having been destroyed.

The painstaking restoration is amazing though and the items that have been placed in the palace are very cool.

This is one of the pay sites in Colonial Williamsburg so you can't just walk in.

Thank GabrielFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews