We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a grand lady”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Governor's Palace

Governor's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.99*
and up
Colonial Williamsburg Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The luxurious palace of the loyalist governor, complete with meticulously replicated late 18th century furnishings.
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a grand lady”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Tour guide took us through the garden and house, and provide curious facts about the construction and lifestyle of governor and his family. We viewed the family room and bedrooms, and the grand ballroom.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alju320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,292
    427
    80
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This has to be one of my favorite spots in all of CW. Our guide, BJ, has worked there for 33 years and he had so many interesting stories on our tour. I felt like I could envision the last royal governor and his family fleeing in the night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mawonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for concerts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a faithful reproduction of the original palace filled with antiques of the period. It is a completely guided tour. The docents are very knowledgeable, as is everyone in Williamsburg!
If you can, attend one of the classical concerts by candlelight within the palace ballroom. It's a wonderful experience and the musicians are dressed in period costumes and are very talented.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CBWOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is amazing how the governor lived when most people had a one room home. It is part of any Colonial Williamsburg package and definately worth stopping in!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Walk back in History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The tour was excellent, not only we got to see what it looked like in the colonial times, our tour guide (fully in character) was very knowlable and very open to questions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governor's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Governor's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing