We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“outstanding customer breakfast, clean rooms and decent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“outstanding customer breakfast, clean rooms and decent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Spent 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. I was impressed with how they treated me and my family with utmost courtesy. The rooms were clean and breakfast was served for free till 10 AM. Most hotels free breakfast ends at 9 AM. The indoor/outdoor pool was a plus. I will surely come back again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank axela14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while visiting Hampton Inn & Suites Central. Its our goal to make sure each and every guest feel like they are at home away of home. At the same time such words of praise fulfill the hard work of our team members.
I will be more then happy to share your feedbacks with our team.
We do appreciate your business and come back to visit us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    294
    77
    30
    13
See reviews for
431
302
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, conveniently located to access Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center free parking area and the Colonial Parkway, that takes you to both Yorktown and Jamestown attractions. Breakfast is complimentary and good, and there is free coffee available 24 hours. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Only flaw is if you ask the front desk staff for directions, they just seem pretty bored to help and they are not able to provide you with a decent map, even this being a tourist place; you're better off following Google maps instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aquino22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you had a nice visit at our property.
Our team members strive every day to make each and every guest feel like they are home and we are delightful that you had recognize our efforts.
Thank you and come back to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and it never disappoints - the staff are friendly, courteous and very hard working. The hotel is super clean, has great amenities for the price and is close to all Williamsburg attractions. We will be back again for sure for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
5 Thank 707rudyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you had a nice visit at our property.
Our team members strive every day to make each and every guest feel like they are home and we are delightful that you had recognize our efforts.
Thank you and come back to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The room was great, but staff was less than friendly and the accent was difficult to understand. Few breakfast options compared to other Hampton Inn locations. The pool itself seemed clean enough, but the chairs were sprawled all over the place and old towels were on the floor. The hotel was not busy at all, so I feel this was simply neglect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your time and efforts to share your recent experience at our hotel.
I'm concerned about the issue you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

When you reserve a room at a Hampton Inn you expect to pay a little more, but get a better than average stay. First the good. The hotel is in a convenient location to food, shopping, and Colonial Williamsburg. The grounds, lobby, and breakfast area are as expected Hampton-esque and well kept. The wifi service was fast and reliable.

Now the not so good. While the front desk staff was friendly, they said they would call us when the room was ready. They didn't.

When booking we were informed that the standard rooms did not come with a refrigerator, but one was available upon request. It wasn't.

Our room was a standard King but quite small and oddly shaped. It was clean, but the first thing I noticed walking in was a peeling wallpaper seam. Also, the air conditioner was extremely loud. That combined with a more "hard" than "firm" mattress led to a less than restful nights sleep.

We left and stayed the next night at the Days Inn across the street and had a much more pleasant experience for quite a bit less money.

Overall our stay was not a horrible experience (with the exception of the a/c), I just expected more from a Hampton Inn and probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boatr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Beautiful hotel with the best staff!!! We stopped in with our family for three days to experience Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Complimentary breakfast was fresh and filling. Fitness and Pool area clean. One of the best vacation experiences at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while visiting Hampton Inn & Suites Central. Its our goal to make sure each and every guest feel like they are at home away of home. At the same time such words of praise fulfill the hard work of our team members.
I will be more then happy to share your feedbacks with our team.
We do appreciate your business and come back to visit us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here during a quick overnight trip to Williamsburg. Luckily, it was during February, so the crowds were absent. The room was quiet, clean, and everything we expected. Friendly staff, great breakfast, and the hot shower was well-received during the cold weather. The hotel is not that close to Williamsburg's main attractions, so a car is highly recommended. I can see this place getting busy during the summer, so if you do go, try to beat the crowds. Once you leave the hotel, there's really no going back unless you have completed your planned museum visits, historical sight-seeing, etc. Great stay, overall!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ContraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you had a nice visit at our property.
Our team members strive every day to make each and every guest feel like they are home and we are delightful that you had recognize our efforts.
Thank you and come back to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Address: 718 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a busy schedule of meetings or a fascinating day exploring Williamsburg's historical attractions, retreat to the Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central hotel. Swim laps in the indoor pool, unwind in the whirlpool or take a refreshing dip in the outdoor pool. Clock up some miles in the fitness center or help yourself to free tea and coffee and relax in the lobby. The business center is always open for catching up on work or contacting family back home. For breakfast, our hotel near Colonial Williamsburg offers Hampton's free hot breakfast every morning. Hampton's On the Run™ Breakfast Bags are available Monday to Friday for guests in a hurry. Relax in a guest room or suite and watch a movie on the flat-screen TV or surf the net with free high-speed internet access. Pick up a late night snack from the suite shop and get a fantastic night's sleep on the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Our hotel also offers meeting space for an intimate business meeting or social event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg-Central
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing