We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Central Williamsburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Central Williamsburg”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. It's centrally located -- 10 minutes to Busch Gardens and downtown Williamsburg and near some good vacation eats like Golden Corral, Applebees, Dairy Queen as well as fast food chains McDonalds. There are also plenty of other restaurants I've only seen there.

Another great amenity is that they serve hot breakfast. We were there 3 nights and they had different menu each day: day 1 was Sausage and bagel w/ cheese and bacon, day 2 was Sausage patties and western omelette, and day 3 was sausage in maple syrup and french toast sticks. They also had a waffle station, cereal, oatmeal w/ fruit station, bagel/english muffins, muffins, and danishes. The options were great for my family with 2 small kids (5 and 2).

The room itself was nice too. I didn't expect a microwave but we had one and ended up not using it though. There was a small fridge and sink in the area too. We had a king bed and a pull out couch, good enough for the 5 of us, w/ my sister tagging along.

The staff had been very pleasant and accommodating. There was a decent sized pool and ok looking gym but we were always on the go.

Definitely recommend this hotel and looking forward to staying here in future visits!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirgPolicarpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your experience you had at our hotel! You said it perfect! Your kind words are appreciated! Our location is very prime and located near local attractions and restaurants. Our wonderful staff do all that we can to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We look forward to many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    341
    97
    47
    16
See reviews for
507
369
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here overnight for a college visit during July 4th. It was our second stay and it was good as last year. We reserved a 1 king bed suite although we needed 2 beds but it had a pull out sofa so it was fine. We had our teenage son and our youngest with us and I was worried the accommodation would be too small. Because it was just an overnight stay, my teen slept on the sofa bed. He said it was little too soft for him. However, the king size bed was big enough that my daughter slept in between my husband and I. The layout of the room was a little different...not rectangular like most rooms but more of a square. We had a small refrigerator, microwave, and sink as soon as we walked into the room. The bathroom was around the corner and the bathroom sink was outside which was nice...because there was two sink and 3 large mirrors, it was easier getting ready in the morning. Our hotel was booked but we didn't hear any noises. We were on the 5th floor. The breakfast was the usual Hampton style and it was nice that we can just eat quickly and leave for my son's college visit. I would definitely stay here again...by the way, check in and check out was quick.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trixgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We appreciate your willingness to share your resent experience at our property.We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.
Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I chose this hotel after looking at multiple reviews and I agree that the hotel was nice, clean and the staff were quite friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really good and a cost savings considering we had to eat out every day for lunch and dinner. My only regret is not checking to see if the room had a fridge or microwave, I just assumed that this level hotel automatically would at least have a fridge. That was my fault for not checking. Considering that we stayed for almost a week, it ended up costing us a lot more than planned in food expenses than we would have liked, and we wasted a lot of meals since my kids are picky eaters and nothing we bought outside seemed to satisfy them. If we had a fridge I could have quickly put some sandwiches together as they liked, kept some yogurt, cheese etc. I know a microwave is only available in a few hotels but it is something I will keep in mind for next time too. Otherwise I recommend the hotel, everything about it was fine. We even used the indoor pool and hot tub and those were fine. Housekeeping did a good job every day too. Another added nice touch were the chocolate chip cookies at the front desk in the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alycol12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you had a nice visit at our property.
Our team members strive every day to make each and every guest feel like they are home and we are delightful that you had recognize our efforts.
Thank you and come back to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We experienced two downsides to this hotel: no refrigerators or microwaves available in the guest rooms, and their internet/wi-fi connection was HORRIBLE. My husband was complaining about it, two other people in the business center were complaining about it, and I was frustrated with it. I've never seen such bad internet access. This place is more concerned with style than practicality: the bathroom sinks were much too high for anyone ages 5 and under to reach for teeth brushing and hand-washing. The duvets on the beds were too hot for sleeping, and the sheets, by themselves, were too cold--there was no middle ground for bed covers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns regarding your recent reservation with our hotel. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve.If you need further assistance regarding this matter, do not hesitate to contact.me directly. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.
Once again, please accept my sincere apology. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We just got back from our family trip to Williamsburg and glad we stayed here. The hotel has updated and clean rooms that are a nice size for a family of 4 and we had free WiFi access. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We arrived a couple of hours early and the front desk staff was able to check us in right away. The free continental breakfast was fine and offered a variety of options. Since there are so many pancake houses and breakfast places nearby, we did opt to eat elsewhere a couple of mornings for more variety. The location is great and central to many restaurants and attractions. We weren't too far away from Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country USA and Busch Gardens. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boricua78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while visiting Hampton Inn & Suites Central. Its our goal to make sure each and every guest feel like they are at home away of home. At the same time such words of praise fulfill the hard work of our team members.
I will more then happy to share your feedbacks with our team.
We do appreciate your business and come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped here as a midway break. Picked it because of the indoor AND outdoor pool, location and price (AARP discount). Friendly greeting at the desk and check in took less than 5 minutes. They could use more luggage carts, because the staff had to go searching the halls looking for them. Free coffee, tea, etc... in the lobby if you cared to have some. Room was a decent size, but it was missing the small fridge and microwave I would have expected in a place that has "Suites" in the name. Location was excellent- nearby to many attractions and restaurants.Indoor pool area did NOT have that over chlorinated dank aroma that is common, so that was good. But the outdoor pool was a bit less than ideal. Maybe it was a windy day earlier, but it was full of leaves and didn't look great. Water was fine, not to warm, but it just din't "look" great. 5 or 10 minutes with a skimmer and it would have been cleaned up. Overall, a decent stop. One more thing- the little "Suite shop" off the lobby where you can buy snacks is a bit of a ripoff for anything other than a can of soda. small bag of pretzels+ $3, and small MM's was 2.25. Kind of like room service or mini-bar pricing. Go to the 7-11 just down the road (couple hundred yards) to stock up for the kids or yourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sponge_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your time and efforts to share your recent experience at our hotel.
I'm concerned about the issue you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A great Hampton Inn with service, cleanliness and fantastic location. Quiet, caring staff with quick check in. Hot breakfast included which makes this the better value in town. No disappointments here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Hampton Inn & Suites Central. We will definitely share your positive experience with all of our team members. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Address: 718 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a busy schedule of meetings or a fascinating day exploring Williamsburg's historical attractions, retreat to the Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central hotel. Swim laps in the indoor pool, unwind in the whirlpool or take a refreshing dip in the outdoor pool. Clock up some miles in the fitness center or help yourself to free tea and coffee and relax in the lobby. The business center is always open for catching up on work or contacting family back home. For breakfast, our hotel near Colonial Williamsburg offers Hampton's free hot breakfast every morning. Hampton's On the Run™ Breakfast Bags are available Monday to Friday for guests in a hurry. Relax in a guest room or suite and watch a movie on the flat-screen TV or surf the net with free high-speed internet access. Pick up a late night snack from the suite shop and get a fantastic night's sleep on the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Our hotel also offers meeting space for an intimate business meeting or social event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg-Central
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing