We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A good price for Williamsburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A good price for Williamsburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed at other places in Williamsburg over the years and found this Hampton Inn on Bypass Road to be the best value for money so far. Granted our one night stay was mid-week in April, but the last minute reservation yielded us a king bedroom suite overlooking the trees behind the hotel at the end of the corridor on the 4th floor. It was a spacious room with kitchenette, wash basin conveniently separated from toilet and shower and everything in perfect working order. I was impressed at breakfast that although service was supposed to conclude at 10.00am they were still filling the buffet at 9.55am. My request for bananas was granted cheerfully and efficiently. Indeed all the staff were friendly, although I was a bit surprised as we were checking in to hear the receptionist telling two out of state guests that the Williamsburg Pottery is the main attraction in the area!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put those kind words of praise. We are glad you stayed with us while visiting Williamsburg that time. We hope you have found your stay so pleasurable that you will select Hampton Inn & Suites Central each time travel brings you to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    294
    77
    30
    13
See reviews for
431
302
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Check in was very pleasant and professional. Check-out was altogether another story. The receptionist was on the phone and just simply ignored us for about a full ten minutes. Only got attention when another receptionist returned to the front desk. The room was clean for the most part. The a/c unit was extremely too noisy. Both the microwave and refrigerator needs to be anchored so they do not come flying at you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Levi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.
I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our
guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're
doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.
We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Room was very clean upon arrival. comfy bed and spacious room. We asked for late checkout and they accommodated us with no hesitation. Close to all activities in the Colonial Williamsburg area. I am going to echo other people and say that the entire staff was polite and friendly. Would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Hampton Inn & Suites Central. We will definitely share your positive experience with all of our team members. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everything was excellent except for one problem. First, the staff were friendly & helpful, the lobby was outstanding, the breakfast was okay. Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable and clean, plenty of space and enough outlets for charging electronics. The bathroom had lots of storage area and a big walk-in shower! We thought it was going to be heavenly, but unfortunately there was only one little soap dish. Shampoo, conditioner, razor all had to go on the floor. The shower head was so high I could reach it to adjust the spray, and it took forever to adjust the water temp. Either scalding or freezing, at least 3-4 minutes before it was okay. But with a couple of tweaks, perhaps a shelf & a hand-held shower head, this could have been as great as the rest of our experience here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderingthrulife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your experience you had at our hotel! You said it perfect! Your kind words are appreciated! Our location is very prime and located near local attractions and restaurants. Our wonderful staff do all that we can to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We look forward to many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, MD, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband, 10 yr old son and I spent the week in the Colonial Williamsburg area, and found the hotel clean, very close to all attractions, and a pretty good home away from home for that period of time. Everything was easy in regard to check-in, check-out, convenient (but a little boring after awhile) breakfast on site, coffee, tea and cookies at anytime, and comfortable, light rooms. It was relaxing, and the indoor pool, hot tub (small), and fitness center are a big plus. Our son swam nearly every evening we were around. We had a suite, but there is only one TV and no partition, but not a dealbreaker. Only issues were some noisy guests a few nights (need a sign to say quiet hours are xxx to xxx hrs at night, a shower we had to call maintenance for twice (alternates very scalding to cold), extremely slow internet connectivity, and HVAC fan would not go on low. Would still recommend, as clean, very nice staff, and close to everything.

Room Tip: Get a suite for more room if you can, and try to get on third (top) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a very relaxing weekend here. The entire hotel staff were awesome. The breakfast staff was the best! The hotel is about a mile from Merchant's Square and the Colonial area.There is a pedestrian path from the hotel to Merchants Square which we used each day for a beautiful run through colonial Williamsburg and back to the hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5hike4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, easy access to Williamsburg, shopping, and restaurants. The hotel was very clean, great staff, and a really nice breakfast. There was a pool, hot tub, and fitness facility. Every staff member was polite, helpful, and professional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Address: 718 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a busy schedule of meetings or a fascinating day exploring Williamsburg's historical attractions, retreat to the Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central hotel. Swim laps in the indoor pool, unwind in the whirlpool or take a refreshing dip in the outdoor pool. Clock up some miles in the fitness center or help yourself to free tea and coffee and relax in the lobby. The business center is always open for catching up on work or contacting family back home. For breakfast, our hotel near Colonial Williamsburg offers Hampton's free hot breakfast every morning. Hampton's On the Run™ Breakfast Bags are available Monday to Friday for guests in a hurry. Relax in a guest room or suite and watch a movie on the flat-screen TV or surf the net with free high-speed internet access. Pick up a late night snack from the suite shop and get a fantastic night's sleep on the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Our hotel also offers meeting space for an intimate business meeting or social event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg-Central
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing