We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property but Not If You Don't Like Perfumed Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
York, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Property but Not If You Don't Like Perfumed Rooms”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a lovely king suite which was spacious and nice but they must have sprayed with some kind of febreez like product. There was such a perfume smell in the room that we could hardly stay there. I called to ask if they had anything to neutralize the smell (windows don't open and you can't set the fan to continuous) but they said they couldn't do anything but offer me another room, or leave the door open to the room! Our noses literally burned from it and we coughed and sneezed our way through the night.

When I tried to talk to the day clerk at checkout, it was a wholly unsatisfying conversation.

Shame because the facility is nice but the cleaning products - awful.

Room Tip: If perfume bothers you or your children - DON'T stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EthelYork_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the overwhelming smell during your stay. We understand that travel is very important and try to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope you will consider staying with us In the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    336
    95
    43
    16
See reviews for
492
366
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We highly recommend this hotel in Williamsburg. We were very pleased with the quiet and convenient accommodations, location, and staff assistance. The staff personnel in all roles that we met at the hotel was nice and friendly and very helpful. We will stay at this location for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was great! Clean, spacious, nicely furnished rooms and friendly, helpful staff. The price was definitely worth it. Close to both Williamsburg and Jamestown and just about every kind of store and restaurant you could want.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is Great. Very close to Williamsburg, drive may be 10 minutes tops'. The staff is pleasent. We were on the third floor King Room with pull out sofa facing the road.Our nightly rate was with AAA. I'll start by saying we did not hear the traffic which I was very thankful for considering the hotel location is on a busy road. Our room was very clean and spacious. When you walk into the room there is a sink, counter top, mini fridge and micro wave and small coffee maker. We really enjoy those extras !! Now is when you will pick up on my pickiness and former Travel Agent views. The pull out sofa was showing it's age. Not all Hampton Inns are the same but I wish they were. Our matress could use to be replaced and who ever made up our room prior to our arrival should have a lesson in putting sheets on the bed. They were not tight. As a matter of fact they were very loose. So the feeling of a fresh newly made bed was not ours to experience. If you like to sleep in the dark bring an eye mask (I forgot mine this time) because in this hotel all the wall lights have mini night lights in them which never go out. My husband used the ironing board and a hand towel to block out the light from the light switch near the bathroom and closet. The heat/air-conditioner worked great and the cable TV had a enough channels to pick from including cartoons for kids and animal planet, CNN and HLN. I did not notice the heavy scent of Air Freshener as quoted by another guest I guess we got lucky. Our room scent was pleasent.
In the lobby area there is fresh coffee and hot water for Hot Choc and tea if you would like it. We always look forward to late afternoon cookies by Hampton Inn. The staff told me they only have warm cookies during the week and not on weekends. How sad since other Hampton Inns I stayed in had fresh cookies 7 days a week. Boo hooo.
We never complain about free breakfast but this time I have to say this: The egg options on 2 mornings were burnt and the hashbrowns were also over cooked too much. We realize this is not a cook to order breakfast but putting out burnt food is not ok either. The indoor pool was well kept and very enjoyable for all who tried it out.
You will not have trouble finding a place to eat nearby. There is something for everyone taste buds.
Overall we enjoyed our stay.You will not be unhappy. Our vist was to see Williamsburg not to grade a hotel. It was the attention to detail that lacked here at the Hampton Inn Central. Another example of that was the mini shampoos and conditioner. No conditioner in our room.
It's the little things which when added up can make or break a good review. Burnt breakfast food, sheets that felt like they were slept in and amuck, no conditioner, light bulbs that were burnt out and those that did work some were the older ones and some were the new "energy" white lights. Nothing seemed consistant here.

Room Tip: If you travel in the summer time request a room on a lower floor. We learned the hard way that most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is awesome. Great staff. Our room was ultra clean room, had the coffee, tea and free bag of popcorn. I do need to echo, however, some of the other comments I read before we stayed here. The internet connection is frustratingly slow. It works, but it is S-L-O-W! Don't plan on streaming a movie or doing any hardcore work that requires the net. I even plugged in the ethernet cord just to see if it would make my connection faster - no luck. I also want to mention that although our room was awesome and really clean, the air freshener smell was ridiculously thick. When we first walked in, I said, "Well, it's so nice that it doesn't smell like smoke." It was a pleasant smell for about 15 minutes. After that, it was just thick. I actually left the room a few times to get some fresh air and popped the popcorn to see if that would help - no luck (that's how strong it was). Still, I'll take the air freshener smell over the moldy (slightly smoke-filled) smell of many other spots because we are only staying overnight. I wouldn't be able to handle this "freshness" for more than a day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great location, central to historic downtown Williamsburg and the outlets and the newly designed Williamsburg Pottery (this was disappointing). The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious (King suite). Breakfast was good and had a variety of choices. The couches in our room looked a little worn and could have been updated. I would return to this hotel. We used our Hilton Honors points for stay on the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here in January and will return on my next trip to Williamsburg! The service was great; very close to Colonial Williamsburg & the College of William & Mary; restaurant selection was weak but what we found close to the hotel was delicious. The location of the hotel is really key. I'm pretty sure it's close to Busch Gardens too, so I'll be back when the weather warms up!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChampagneLife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,060 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Address: 718 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a busy schedule of meetings or a fascinating day exploring Williamsburg's historical attractions, retreat to the Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central hotel. Swim laps in the indoor pool, unwind in the whirlpool or take a refreshing dip in the outdoor pool. Clock up some miles in the fitness center or help yourself to free tea and coffee and relax in the lobby. The business center is always open for catching up on work or contacting family back home. For breakfast, our hotel near Colonial Williamsburg offers Hampton's free hot breakfast every morning. Hampton's On the Run™ Breakfast Bags are available Monday to Friday for guests in a hurry. Relax in a guest room or suite and watch a movie on the flat-screen TV or surf the net with free high-speed internet access. Pick up a late night snack from the suite shop and get a fantastic night's sleep on the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Our hotel also offers meeting space for an intimate business meeting or social event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg-Central
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing