We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night while attending an event in Williamsburg. As a well traveled person who prefers and often stays in 5 star hotels, I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It is new and very clean. My room was huge with kitchenette, living area, great desk with easy and free internet, comfy bed, great dressing area and fine bathroom. And now for the details. The kitchenette contained a small frig, MW, coffee pot and bar sink all configured in a long counter made of granite. There was ample storage for food, etc so a traveler with a longer stay should be happy. The desk had a very comfortable chair for working and good lighting. This hotel is energy efficient but the room wasn't dark. The thermostat worked great for temp control. The vanity was also granite with lots of counter space, great lighting AND it was raised! So often inexpensive hotels have counters that are low and uncomfortable. The shower had the updated curved rod and a good shower head. No problems with water pressure or temperature. The decor was CLEAN and tasteful. I was extremely happy with the room AND I only paid $76 + tax!!! I've paid 3 times that for places not nearly as nice.

This hotel is located on the "Bypass" road off Richmond Rd in Wmsburg. So if you're looking to be within walking distance to the colonial area or the college, this is not your place. But if you just need a great spot to bunk while in Wmsburg, check this out and save some money.

Often we will stay at the Wmsburg Lodge or even the Inn so we are within walking distance to things. But this hotel will stay at the top of my list for those times when we are in town and don't care about close proximity. Even driving, it's only a few minutes from the colonial area.

And before I leave you....the staff was great. They offer breakfast but I didn't partake so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger "square" rooms shown on the floor plans. Rooms at the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dogwoodlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel is located close to Colonial Williamsburg and many restaurants. The hotel was running a special winter price and the suite was the same price as the room.The people who were on the desk at two different times were very helpful and friendly as were the staff in the breakfast area. Breakfast foods were not hot enough, but a microwave was available to heat them up. They had a good variety of foods, from cereals to omelets. Our room was very clean and the bed comfortable. It was quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sampsonRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We were going to Williamsburg for a New Eve celebration and we decide we would stay overnight to avoid the drive home. This hotel is located right on the by-pass road not far from the historical district and conveniently located to numerous restaurants. The hotel is fairly new, I booked a standard room but since we are Hilton Honors members they upgraded us to a very nice suite. The pool and hot tub are inside and were not being used, the exercise room is a little small. Not a luxury hotel but a very good one for the money. The prior reviews said the service had slipped but since we had never stayed her before we found the service more than adequate, the next time we need to stay in Williamsburg we will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NNWSLARRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I have returned to Williamsburg several times a year for the past 25 years. We have stayed at many different hotels, but for the past several years we have chosen the Hampton inn Central for many reasons. Since it has opened, and particularly this past time we have noticed a subtle but steady decline in service, hospitality and mechanical issues. The hotel is always clean, but I think I should be able to count on that, and the location is good. There was nothing major, but still there was a noticable decline. I know the quality of most of the hotels in the area is not that great unless you pay a premium to stay in one of Colonial Williamsburgs better hotels , so being pretty good , as well as newer, places them at the top of the local chains. The biggest complaint was the fact that the elevators were not working when we checked in and no one even suggested that they would help us with getting our luggage to the 5th floor. I think given my husbands age it would have been a nice offer especially since they are in the hospitality business. He probably wouldnt have accepted anyway;)

Room Tip: I always choose upper floor away from elevator if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smokygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at the Williamsburg Hampton Inn on Bypass Road on December 31, 2011. We stayed in a king room on the first floor. Our room was very clean and quiet. The room was immaculate and the bathroom spotless. The bed was very comfortable. We were just down the hall from the front desk but we never heard any noise from the hall way. Breakfast was above average for a Hampton Inn with hot ham & eggs as well as fresh made waffles. I would recommend for anyone visiting the area. The only reason I’m not giving five stars is that seating is limited in the breakfast area – go early.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1967foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We made our way to Busch Gardens and this was an ideal location for this visit. The rooms were great, the staff friendly, and a nice complimentary breakfast. I was well pleased with this hotel. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This was once of the nicer hotels I have stayed at. Clean, close to tourist locations, friendly staff, suggested some great restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central

Address: 718 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $85 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a busy schedule of meetings or a fascinating day exploring Williamsburg's historical attractions, retreat to the Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central hotel. Swim laps in the indoor pool, unwind in the whirlpool or take a refreshing dip in the outdoor pool. Clock up some miles in the fitness center or help yourself to free tea and coffee and relax in the lobby. The business center is always open for catching up on work or contacting family back home. For breakfast, our hotel near Colonial Williamsburg offers Hampton's free hot breakfast every morning. Hampton's On the Run™ Breakfast Bags are available Monday to Friday for guests in a hurry. Relax in a guest room or suite and watch a movie on the flat-screen TV or surf the net with free high-speed internet access. Pick up a late night snack from the suite shop and get a fantastic night's sleep on the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Our hotel also offers meeting space for an intimate business meeting or social event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg-Central
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing