We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Losing a bit of its initial appeal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Losing a bit of its initial appeal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We have stayed here several times since our child started college at William & Mary. It is very attractive and clean. However, on our most recent stay, the air conditioner bothered us. There is nothing they could do about it, so we did not report it. The problem was that it starts up witih a whoosh once the temperature reached a certain level, then cut off, then then loud start-up again -- all night. A steady low fan would have been much more acceptable.

The parking was ok this time, though in the past we have been surprised to find a place unavailable. Going next door was of no use. I had to go across the busy road to the Homewood Suites, then run back when the traffic allowed. I have commented on this problem a couple of times in post-stay surveys, with no reply from Hilton even though I am an Honors member, They can't make any more space, but they should provide some compensation as a good gesture, it seems to me.

The breakfast seems normal for this chain.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrazyAboutAcadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    317
    92
    36
    14
See reviews for
464
340
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We booked a two room suite to accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids after getting evacuated from the Outer Banks. We wanted a room that had at least a sitting room with a refrigerator to keep our packed food cold. The room we got was much better than expected with a regular freezer & frig, pull-out couch and sitting chair, along with two queen size beds. The room and hotel are clean with moderate wear. The indoor pool and central location to the outlet malls and historic sites were also central in our decision.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Travlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Va.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, mostly because of the good reviews. We found the hotel to be mostly clean, the staff friendly and the location OK for what we needed. It is within 5 miles of Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. The king suite was very nicely sized and found to be clean. It has a small fridge and microwave. The sink and mirror are seperate from the bath/lav, which is nice when three people are trying to get ready. The pools were ok, not very big though. The breakfast was the biggest disappointment for us. Not a very good selection and very crowded. Had your normal food, although the egg products each morning were definitely processed. The bacon was very greasy and undercooked. We opted to eat out each morning as we were not impressed by the offerings at all. Overall, it is a nice place to stay, just don't expect too much in the way of extras.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huckleberry67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Hampton Inn at 718 Bypass Street, Williamsburg Virginia is an awesome hotel. From the moment you step through the doors, the friendly staff greets you and gets you checked in in no time. They are so helpful with restaurant suggestions, directions and anything else you may need. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are clean and so comfortable. The beds are awesome also. The complimentary breakfast is very good, with a wonderful selection of foods. This hotel is centrally located, with easy driving to Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb092460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Very favourable first impressions continued throughout our three night stay. Attractive exterior with plenty parking which is complimentary...always a big plus..leads to a bright , clean , modern ,spacious interior. Bedroom was fair sized ,with nice furnishings . Staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful . Breakfast area is good , and the breakfast itself has improved from our last stay at a Hampton Inn. The indoor and outdoor pool areas are kept clean and tidy. Only slight negative was, for a newish hotel, an extremely noisy air conditioning unit...maybe it was only our room....I don't know . location is convenient being just a few minutes drive from shops , restaurants , bars , and attractions . There is a bus stop right outside for anyone who doesn't want to drive. If I ever re-visit Williamsburg this Hampton Inn would be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calsidewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our family went to Busch Gardens Sunday July 31 and Monday August 1. looking for a hotel for sunday night.

We had heard good things about Hampton Inn and they were all true. We will use them were we can. We do not travel often, so we are not the super customers but just want something clean and safe and willing to pay extra for that consistency.

The staff was very nice, the room was spotless, the ac worked perfectly, bathroom was clean, the inside and outside pools worked great, and the hot breakfast in the morning was the perfect start to a busch gardens day. Eggs/with ham chunks, waffles, cereal, fruit, fruit juice, bagels, muffins, milk, coffee.

Sometimes you get lucky. We had the double queen for $119 for sunday night. Was able to check in at 3:00, we had spent all morning at Water Country usa, got cleaned up and a 1 hour nap and we were able to head out to Busch Gardens for the night time activities and fireworks.

Maybe 5 minutes from the parks.

Hotel was built in 2009. Still a brand new property.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anothertraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

After spending a night in the other Hampton Inn on Richmond Road in Williamsburg and barely sleeping because of ants in our room, this Hampton was a welcome relief. The staff, esp the front desk, were very nice and helpful. The first night we were able to get a room with two queen beds (there were four of us). They didn't have a room with two beds available for the next 2 nights, so they gave us a spacious handicapped room with a king sized bed and a couch and rollaway bed. They kept our luggage for us as the king room wasn't ready and we were off to see the historic sites around Williamsburg. The staff recommended good restaurants in Williamsburg and helped us find our way to a really nice beach in Virginia Beach. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was really good. The only thing that wasn't up to Hampton standards was the indoor pool. The water was cloudy and greenish. The outdoor pool was nice though. Although this hotel is nice, $140 is a bit much for a one night stay, but then again all the hotels in this area are overpriced we thought. We would stay here again if we come back to the area which we probably will just not in the summer. It's incredibly hot and humid here. Fall seems like a better choice to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lark37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Address: 718 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a busy schedule of meetings or a fascinating day exploring Williamsburg's historical attractions, retreat to the Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central hotel. Swim laps in the indoor pool, unwind in the whirlpool or take a refreshing dip in the outdoor pool. Clock up some miles in the fitness center or help yourself to free tea and coffee and relax in the lobby. The business center is always open for catching up on work or contacting family back home. For breakfast, our hotel near Colonial Williamsburg offers Hampton's free hot breakfast every morning. Hampton's On the Run™ Breakfast Bags are available Monday to Friday for guests in a hurry. Relax in a guest room or suite and watch a movie on the flat-screen TV or surf the net with free high-speed internet access. Pick up a late night snack from the suite shop and get a fantastic night's sleep on the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Our hotel also offers meeting space for an intimate business meeting or social event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg-Central
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing