We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal I've ever had.”

Le Yaca French Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Yaca French Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 391 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Le Yaca began in a tiny, country village(Courchevel)in the French Alps in 1964.Daniele Bourderau & Gerard decided that it would be fun to open a small restaurant. When friends learned of their plans they told the hopeful restaurateurs that they were crazy to think that people would drive 8 kilometers on a winding, icy road for dinner.Daniele and Gerard hesitated for 3 months and then decided: “yaca le faire,” a contraction of the French phrase “ il n’y a qu’a le faire” which basically means “let’s do it.” They called the restaurant Le Yaca as a gag. But the name caught on with customers, who were amused by the pun and contributed to the restaurant’s lore by inventing “yaca-isms ” of their own: yaca y aller (let’s go). Daniele came to the United States & opened Le Yaca in Williamsburg.Daniel Abid bought le Yaca in 2001. Daniel worked and trained in such prestigious places as “Le Pre Catelan” and “Lenotre” in Paris; “L’Amandier” and “Roger Verge" and to top it all off “Alain Ducasse.”
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best meal I've ever had.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A wonderful, intimate restaurant without the kids. Everything was cooked to perfection. We chose the price fix menu ($37pp) and well worth it. We will definitely return back to Le Yaca.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank a_cool_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    134
    49
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Better luck next year”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was so looking forward to writing a 5-star on Le Yaca because our previous experiences have been simply sublime. Fortunately our in-laws, long-time Williamsburg visitors to whom we had been singing its praises, could not join us. We can only assume that management's energy has been consumed by the pending move across town and they are just trying to survive this month. Things were just not up to the mark beginning with the hostess sending us off to the bar to wait without wanting to take down our names (which were promptly forgotten) through to the errors in the final and amended bill. The food was very well prepared but the main course arrived not quite cold enough to send back (especially after waiting so long to get it in the first place) but not up to the previous standard of uncompromising excellence. We will check out the new location and hopefully things are back up to the mark in which case we'll be delighted to resume our dreamy relationship; another such experience will be the last.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Better luck next year”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I was so looking forward to writing a 5-star on Le Yaca because our previous experiences have been simply sublime. Fortunately our in-laws, long-time Williamsburg visitors to whom we had been singing its praises, could not join us. We can only assume that management's energy has been consumed by the pending move across town and they are just trying to survive this month. Things were just not up to the mark beginning with the hostess sending us off to the bar to wait withput wamting to take down our names (which were promptly forgotten) through to the errors in the final and amended bill. The food was very well prepared but the main course arrived not quite cold enough to send back (especially after waiting so long to get it in the first place) but not up to the previous standard of uncompromising excellemce. We will check out the new location and hopefully things are back up to the mark in which case we'll be delighted to resume our dreamy relationship; another such experience will be the last.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food & Great Service”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our family of 3 adults ate at Le Yaca on 12/21/13 for lunch. The restaurant offers both a prix fixe menu with three courses for $17 and an entree menu. Whether prix fixe or entree menu, both came with a choice of a house salad or soup of the day. The prix fixe menu included dessert as the third course.
My daughter opted for the prix fixe menu and ordered the grilled salmon salad, potato/leek soup, and tiramisu for dessert. My husband ordered calves liver sautéed with onion marmalade and crispy potatoes, then napped with a port wine sauce. He also opted for the soup. His dessert was a trio of fruit-intense sorbets. I had pork tenderloin arranged over a bed of crispy potatoes and apple-apricot chutney, then napped with a dark cherry port wine sauce. I enjoyed the house salad, simply presented with a creamy champagne vinaigrette laced with Dijon mustard. My dessert selection was a feather light lemon mousse decorated with fresh pineapple, raspberries, & blueberries and raspberry coulis.
As you can tell from these selections, Le Yaca delivers innovative, flavorful cuisine. The salmon was perfectly grilled with a slight crispiness on the outside but moist on the inside. My husband, who loves calves liver, adored the treatment given it by Le Yaca. My pork was tender, with the apricot-apple chutney and dark cherry port wine sauce adding wonderful layers of flavor. These are meals to be savored.
Of particular note, we ate at Le Yaca on the Saturday before Christmas. It was very busy in Williamsburg all week, and we had become accustomed to hurried (and sometimes lousy) service. At Le Yaca, we experienced the opposite. Our waiter was attentive without being intrusive. We never felt ignored or rushed during our meal.
Note: Le Yaca is moving to a new location in 2014, off Richmond Road not too far from the historic shopping district. We will definitely eat there when we return to Williamsburg.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BandBLover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“always solid .. super and terrific”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

very good .. always tops notch.. service ambiance.. the $38 special can't be beat... hope nothing changes when they move

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Yaca French Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Le Yaca French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing