We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Time at the Bentley Manor Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bentley Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bentley Manor Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
“Wonderful Time at the Bentley Manor Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

Jane & Fred Garland are ideal B&B owners. From the moment my wife & I arrived until the day we left, we were made to feel very welcome. They have done an outstanding job in creating a very warm, beautiully decorated & extremely comfortable bed & breakfast. Each morning, we were served a delicious breakfast with a yogurt fruit cup, choice of juice, coffee & a choice of one of two entrees. Additionally, they each found time to spend with us & engage us in very interesting, informative conversation. We were only there two days but in that time, we felt that we had found two new friends.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
224
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham,England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2008

We stayed at The Bentley Manor Inn for three nights and were delighted by the welcome and hospitality that we received. My mother and I arrived by train from DC and Fred Garland (the owner) picked us up from Williamsburg Station. He took us back into town for something to eat and dropped us off at the Visitors Center the next morning. Bentley Manor is in a quiet street, close to William and Mary College. We really enjoyed our stay there. The visitor's lounge was such a nice place to sit in the evening drinking aglass of wine and munching on one of Jane's gorgeous chocolate brownines, all of which is provided for the guests. The rooms are lovely. They are tastefully decorated and they are mmaculate. Breakfast is delicious. All the guests sit together which makes it a really sociable experience and there is nothing to beat Jane's pancakes! A perfect stay!

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2008

I planned a special birthday weekend for my daughter in Williamsburg and at the last minute a vacancy popped up at the Bentley Manor B&B. I had reservations at two local hotel chains but Fred and Jane made sure that I made the right choice when I chose to cancel those reservations. We felt so at home at the Bentley with the wonderful room and the home cooked breakfast. When we would drive by the hotel chains my daughter and I kept saying what a good choice we made by staying at the Bentley Manor.

  • Liked — Fred and Jane (owners) made us feel so welcomed and they were very helpful.
  • Disliked — Water pressure in shower was low but workable once I got use to it.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmule96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

Hosts Fred and Jane were like long lost cousins with their open and loving hospitality. Could not have had a better experience at any other B&B in the area. We so enjoyed ourselves during our original two night reservation that we extended our stay another night. Our only regrets were that we could not stay longer and that we live so far away on the West Coast that we cannot return soon enough.
Jeff and Gerry

  • Liked — The hosts. The rooms. The breakfasts.
  • Disliked — No off street parking.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sqkop52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alghero, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

Perfection is the only term to describe this bed and breakfast. Fred and Jane, the innkeepers, have created a romantic retreat close to local Georgetown attractions. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, and have every amenity a traveler needs. The breakfasts are fantastic - my husband gained a few pounds during our stay and I won't even venture near the scales. Aspiring innkeepers would do well to pay a visit to Bentley Manor as a guide for "all the right stuff." Best of all, are Fred and Jane themselves. Personality plus, and filled with excellent suggestions for restaurants and activities in the Georgetown area. Thank you for making our holiday all the way from Alghero Italy worth our while!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmsmithny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bentley Manor Inn for two nights when we visited Colonial Williamsburg. The Inn was amazing from the room to the breakfast to the management. Fred and Jane, the innkeepers, were friendly, professional, and just lovely people. The Inn is beautifully decorated with everything freshly painted and perfectly matched. As the Inn is only 1-2 years old, it's charming, but not falling apart in any way, and everything works.
Breakfast is served from 8:30-9:30 am and when we arrived downstairs each morning we found a lovely table set for us. Breakfast started off with orange/cranberry juice and some fruits with yogurt and granola on top. During our two breakfasts we were offered a choice of: blueberry pancakes, cinnamon raisin french toast, eggs any way including omelets, fresh biscuits, and sausage. Everything was scrumptious. During breakfast we were able to talk to Fred and Jane about the best sights to see in Williamsburg - they were friendly and very helpful. We especially liked Revolutionary City at Colonial Williamsburg, which we found out about thanks to them. Each day after returning from sightseeing, we found bottles of water and homemade chocolate chip cookies waiting for us.
We loved our room (the Thomas Jefferson) and there are some that are even nicer. Check the pictures we've posted. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was beautiful. The bathroom was normal size - definitely not cramped - and we had no complaints at all.
In short, we wholeheartedly recommend the Bentley Manor Inn for a wonderful stay in Williamsburg.

  • Liked — Beautiful room and wonderful breakfast
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rmsmithny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

Our first time in Williamsburg and we had a great accommodations at the Bentley Manor Inn. The Innkeepers were very personable and helpful. The Bed and Breakfast was extremely clean, comfortable and it was nice to have a place to sit and talk in the evening and know there were treats as well...waiting for us. The banana pancakes alone were worth the visit...8-)

  • Liked — Comfortable, friendly atmosphere...great location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bmw3sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.7 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 23 in Williamsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Manor Inn

Property: Bentley Manor Inn
Address: 720 College Ter, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3533
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bentley Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Manor Inn is a charming classic brick colonial in the heart of historic Williamsburg, Virginia. The Inn combines traditional decor and craftsmanship with the modern conveniences guests have come to expect. Guests’ chambers offer light, airy rooms, all with private baths. Capture the timeless essence of Colonial Williamsburg with an unforgettable stay at the Bentley Manor Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bentley Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing