We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fred and Jane doing a great job at the Bentley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bentley Manor Inn
Ranked #3 of 27 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fred and Jane doing a great job at the Bentley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved this Inn. Our hosts could not have been more helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and with a nice choice. Fred and Jane effortlessly created a happy atmosphere around the communal table as they served breakfast. On chilly evenings, a lovely log fire blazed in the sitting room where complimentary wine is served.

Our bedroom was of moderate size but was very well designed with lots of storage and hanger space and a comfortable bed.

It's about 15 minutes leisurely stroll from the Bentley through William and Mary College to colonial Williamsburg, which is an all day open air theatre with some great acting. Don't miss the Thomas Jefferson tour de force!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubliners2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
212
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I could not imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Colonial Williamsburg! This was our first trip here, and everything was great. Jane and Fred are wonderful host, easy to talk with and very knowledgeable about area restaurants and attractions. We enjoyed many delicious breakfast meals and even better conversations with them and other guests. Their home is right behind the College of William and Mary, in a quiet residential area and within walking distance to Williamsburg and area restaurants. We enjoyed our five days visiting the area, but miss these two wonderful people more. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRienstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After recently moving to DC from the west coast, Bentley Manor Inn provided a perfect place to start an exploration of the East Coast and, more specifically, Williamsburg. Fred and Jane were phenomenal hosts with excellent information, accommodations, and food. Breakfast was remarkable, 5pm wine and brownies offered a great opportunity to meet fellow guests, and the room was clean, comfortable, and very welcoming. Certainly the best stay we could have hoped for!

Room Tip: We loved the Thomas Jefferson room!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Those of us who enjoy staying at B and B's have come to appreciate the personalized interaction and attention to detail that cannot be experienced through your traditional hotel experience. Williamsburg has its share of fine, highly rated Bed and Breakfasts. My wife and I recently stayed at The Bentley Manor Inn for four nights this March, 2013 when visiting the "Historic Triangle". We absolutely fell in love with this B&B. No surprise that it is the number one rated Bed and Breakfast in Williamsburg. It is a great location and close to town, rooms are immaculately clean, breakfast is top notch with delicious options, and even gluten free on request. The Innkeepers, Fred and Jane are as warm and hospitable one could ever find. Their love and passion for what they do shows. All of the rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the Governor Berkley room. Loved it! This B & B was a real find. You will not be disappointed in choosing the Bentley Manor Inn.

Room Tip: All four rooms are nice and close to the same size. We loved the Governor Berkley room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtland, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I highly recommend the Bentley Manor Inn!!! It is 5 STARS all the way. The owners a beautiful team that knows how to make you feel so welcome. Their home is beautifully decorated.The breakfast was so delicious. Thank you Jane and Fred for making my Sister's birthday so very special!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms would be great to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I were just overnight in Wiliamsburg, and found Bentley Manor Inn through tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. It is a lovely and charming home with even more charming inn keepers. When we arrived we were welcomed with homemade cookies - and a glass of white wine before we went out to dinner. It is an easy walk to the College of William and Mary and the historic district. The breakfast was delicious, with a choice of omelet or homemade apple pancakes. We had leftovers from our dinner out and Fred kept them in their frig and prepared a zip lock bag of ice for us to take them home. They offered help at every turn and allowed me to stay long past the check out time, waiting for my husband to finish his golf game. In every way, it was an excellent experience. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: The house was built over 50 years ago to be an inn, all four bedrooms are upstairs, each has its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VoyageurAmicable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I highly recommend the Bentley Manor Inn. The home is meticulously appointed and maintained, all in a charming colonial style. Fred and Jane are fantastic hosts. On arrival, Fred took the time to fully brief us on the Williamsburg area. The breakfast they prepared for us and the other guests was generous and tasty. We would certainly stay here again on a future visit.

Room Tip: We loved the Governor Berkeley Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellagio2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.7 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 27 in Williamsburg
5.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Manor Inn

Property: Bentley Manor Inn
Address: 720 College Terrace, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bentley Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Manor Inn is a charming classic brick colonial in the heart of historic Williamsburg, Virginia. The Inn combines traditional decor and craftsmanship with the modern conveniences guests have come to expect. Guests’ chambers offer light, airy rooms, all with private baths. Capture the timeless essence of Colonial Williamsburg with an unforgettable stay at the Bentley Manor Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Bentley Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing