We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bentley Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bentley Manor Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We can not say enough good things about our stay at the Bentley Manor Inn. We stayed from 8/19/12 - 8/21/12 and everything about the inn was wonderful, from the delicious breakfasts (they provided us with wonderful gluten free options) to the spotless room. They even upgraded us to the Captain John Smith Room at no extra charge! The owners, Jane and Fred, were very knowledgeable about the area and just delightful hosts. The B&B is within easy walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg and The College of William and Mary, or you can simply drive a short way to all of the sites and shopping Williamsburg has to offer. Fred and Jane make you feel as though you are a guest in their beautifully appointed home without being intrusive. We even got rear ended and found ourselves in the local ER for almost 5 hours, and they could not have been any more helpful. The house is beautifully decorated with period style furnishings and antiques and we will definitely make it our first choice of places to stay when visiting Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
220
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Fred and Jane Garland have been in the Bed and Breakfast business for a long time, and wow - does it show. The inn is impeccably clean, tastefully furnished, warm and inviting...and quiet. This last detail is especially lovely, considering the inn's walking distance proximity to the hustle and bustle of Colonial Williamsburg and William and Mary College. Comfortable beds piled high with soft linens, down comforters and oodles of pillows...private bathrooms with fluffy towels and any toiletries you may have forgotten to pack...small refrigerators in which to chill the wine, cheese and olives you bought in Williamsburg earlier that day...such nice details. Breakfasts are homemade and delicious and, best of all, are offered as options; each morning, guests are given the choice of a savory egg entree or sweeter, more decadent fare...and after days of being on the road and eating everything under sun, my husband and I really appreciated having the option of lighter fare. The coffee is also delicious...I mention this because we're always astounded at the number of inns that provide stellar breakfasts but bland, watery coffee! Bentley's is yummalicious...and so are the fresh cookies served each afternoon. We tried to leave some for other guests, but...

Fred and Jane are consummate hosts. Fred's sense of humor is delightful, and Jane enjoys popping into the dining room to join the lively morning conversations. There is MUCH to do in this area, and we really enjoyed having such a peaceful oasis to return to each night after busy days of seeing the sights. This inn is ranked #1 in the Williamsburg area with very good reason and absolutely deserves the many accolades it receives from its happy guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volga, South Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Fred and Jane, the welcoming owners of Bentley Manor, know how to make you feel at home as well as providing helpful traveling tips. The breakfasts are excellent and allow you to join in enjoyable, interesting morning converstation if you choose. This inn with its historic decor allowed us to experience the past while making us feel at home. This quiet setting with the spotless and very tastefully, decorated rooms also allowed for privacy. We thoroughly enjoyed our daily walk to Colonial Williamsburg and the sights along the way. Three days was not long enough for us. No one will be disappointed with the decision to stay here, and we look forward to another visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Thomas Jefferson room was bright and cheerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed with Fred and Jane for 3 wonderful nights in June. We thoroughly enjoyed our beautiful, bright, comfortable room; the amazing breakfasts; the friendliness and warmth of our knowledgeable hosts; and the fabulous location (a 5 minute walk to William & Mary and 10 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg.) We highly recommend the Bentley Manor bed and breakfast. We would not even consider staying anywhere else on future trips to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capeanncondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My 17 year old son and I stayed at the Bentley Manor Inn before a summer program for him at William and Mary. The Garland's warmth and generosity began when Fred offered to pick us up at the train station and extended through our two night stay. The rooms were comfortable and lovely, and breakfast each morning was delicious. The company at breakfast was interesting, too, my son and I had some fascinating conversations with other guests. We were able to walk everywhere in Williamsburg. A wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Fred and Jane are so nice and friendly, they made you feel very welcomed. The room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious and Fred and Jane are a pleasure to talk to. If you are a couple looking for a get away, don't miss the Bentley.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights on an unplanned weekend. Very quiet, very clean, very nice place. Fred and Jane are wonderful and breakfast is very good. Get the Governor Berkeley room as it has largest and newly renovated bathroom, although all the other rooms are just as adequate and well appointed.
Great location, too. Close to almost anything in Williamsburg and easy access to other areas on the peninsula. I hope we get the chance to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bassnfly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.7 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 26 in Williamsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Manor Inn

Property: Bentley Manor Inn
Address: 720 College Terrace, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bentley Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Manor Inn is a charming classic brick colonial in the heart of historic Williamsburg, Virginia. The Inn combines traditional decor and craftsmanship with the modern conveniences guests have come to expect. Guests’ chambers offer light, airy rooms, all with private baths. Capture the timeless essence of Colonial Williamsburg with an unforgettable stay at the Bentley Manor Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bentley Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing