We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Comfortable, Casual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 27 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming, Comfortable, Casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

GREAT LOCATION....
We stayed after the "Surprises Galore" review folks and enjoyed 5 nights at the B & B. We appreciated the wonderful kingsize beds as we rarely get them in a B & B. (Husband is 6'6"). The mattresses were perfect for a good night's sleep. We frequently have no TV's at B & B's and didn't care if the TV was new or not. We were able to watch programs if we wished. Over the past 20 years we have stayed at B & B's with no host or owner and it's not been a problem. We met our host the next morning who was very accommodating. He told wonderful stories, (all true), each morning and the guests seemed quite delighted to listen and respond. Our breakfasts were delicious and the housekeeper/cook is bilingual. There is no problem of understanding. Since this is the host's actual home, we were delighted that he showed us the main floor as well as the basement. There are wonderful antiques in every room. If you so desired, you could watch the new TV on the mammoth screen downstairs or play pool. Ike was helpful in recommending local restaurants too. On the last night, he even printed up our boarding passes for us. Oh yes, the fan in the sitting room does work, the switch is on the wall!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 912Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    15
    3
    8
    0
See reviews for
37
141
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingtown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This weekend marked our 6th trip to Williamsburg for a long weekend get-away from the hustle and bustle of the real world. We have stayed here at the Sampler for the last four years and the accommodations have been nothing but top notch. We normally check in earlier and the room is always ready to go and the keys are waiting for us in arrival.
The Inn Keeper has always greeted us upon arrival and made us feel completely at home and relaxed and insist on giving us the tour each year. The rooms are nice and relaxing and sitting on the rear balcony will provide the quality time and seclusion you are looking for.
Breakfast is served at 8:30 and always has a different twist with an assortment of fruit and an all new coffee maker that will satisfy anyone's needs. We look forward to coming back every year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Sampler Inn provides a quiet setting to stage your stay in Colonial Williamsburg. It is very short drive (2 minutes) to Colonial Williamsburg. The Sampler Inn now has coffe 24/7 with a beautiful Nescafé coffe station that brews latte, cappacino, and espresso. The breakfast features standard fare of eggs, sausage, breads, fruit etc. The only qualm I have with the John Smith room is the bathroom is a bit tight and the exhaust fan is in need of replacement.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinola70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Such a disappointment. Upon arriving everything seemed to have potential as a slight breeze kept the fallen leaves dancing on the ground. Keys were waiting for us with our welcoming note. This is not unusual as we realize the keeper/owner will not always be there to greet the guests. But, neither did the keeper/owner appear that evening, the next morning or before we left. Personal contact, personal attention, personal hospitality were COMPLETELY absent...zip, zero, zilch! No hosts to be found. Never have we encountered this before. Hoping to have been greeted with fresh snacks and beverages, perhaps a serving of wine and cheese or chocolate by the keeper/owner, it was canned sodas in the fridge and what appeared to be some sad looking and lonely Sam's Club items on the counter. In agreement with other reviews in that the house is way too cluttered, it goes past being warm and homey and looks like a mess. Our room, ahh the room. A stuffy smell was evidence that the room had not been aired in some time nor had it been cleaned in detail - just wiped. Bed was loosely made with collapsed pillows that had no body at all...imagine sleeping with a beach towel as your pillow. A queen size bed would be more appropriate for the space as both sides are very near the wall in the John Smith room. Both the tv in the bedroom and sitting room were vintage 19"-20" CRT models born in the late 80s or early 90s. The one in the sitting room had broken buttons on the unit with a remote that did not work. Watching tv was not the focus of our get-away but c'mon, this was very bad. Also, the switch to the ceiling fan in the sitting room had a lock on it to prevent the fan from being used. ATTENTION OWNER - FIX THIS! The gas fireplace was plesant. No mini fridge, microwave or coffee maker to be found. Bath was teeny but adequet - an adventurous person could be seated while brushing their teeth and washing their feet in the shower...all at the same time. Add to all of the above the fact that everything was worn and a little dirty, the experience was far less than desireable. Once again hoping to meet the keeper/owner at breakfast, well the trend continued. A house-keeper/cook who did not speak clear English greeted us saying only "Hi, there it is." The table setting looked like what one might find in a frat house. The Sam's Club theme continued with poor quality food items, preparation and presentation...pitiful! Yes, we were hoping for a delightful cook/host with a smile and a twinkle in their eye. One and only one good thing we should mention. The house is in a good location, just far enough from the busyness of the restored area and Merchant's Square...perhaps a half-mile walk. Overall, this is was a bad experience for us. This is what you would expect at Motel 6 or the equivalent for $49...not a B&B in lovely Williamsburg so close to everything Williamsburg. If only a robot would have come out of a closet to spend time with us. We chose based on reviews from Trip Advisor and well, we came up short this time. Remembering what Abraham Lincoln said...'Don't believe everything you read on the Internet." Sorry but we cannot recommend.

Room Tip: Suites have a nice porch setting but with a poor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jansman247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A wonderful experience at this quaint and comfortable B&B! Ike is a terrific host, and the staff is first-rate. Highly recommended as a romantic getaway! You will be treated in a friendly and relaxed manner --- and you will truly eat a "skip-lunch" breakfast!

Room Tip: The King William Room is well worth it, with a sitting room and a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We would recommend staying here to anyone! The inn keeper, Ike and the staff were so attentive and welcoming. The home is beautiful and the suites were 5 star. Thanks again! We will most definately be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drizzle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This B&B is big enough to provide a fabulous, comfortable, spacious suite and small enough to offer all the comforts of home. Our host, Ike, proved to be a warm, charming and engaging man who not only provided us with a wonderful B&B experience, but gave us travel and sightseeing tips to enhance our stay. He also happily accommodated our early morning bicycle ride departures with a great breakfast and perfect directions to begin our rides.

My wife and I heartily recommend Ike and the Williamsburg Sampler.

Thanks, Ike for a wonderful stay.

Ron & Lisa K.
Hendersonville, NC

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
4.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.3 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast

Property: Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast
Address: 922 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18-century plantation style 3-story brick colonial. Located within walking distance to historic Colonial Williamsburg. Governor' "Inn of the Year" in 1995. Famous for "Skip Lunch" (R) breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing