We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best weekend of my life.”
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Williamsburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best weekend of my life.”
Reviewed March 8, 2010

I just spent the best weekend of my life at the Williamsburg Inn. I've stayed at the Inn 4 times since the mid 1990's and have always found it to be a top-not experience. I've stayed at luxury hotels around the world an find that the Inn offers a great value - very large rooms (compared to expensive European and Asian hotels), well decorated, and a super staff. Yes, you do pay a bit for this level of luxury, and yes, the guests are not likely to be the folks you'll see at the local amusement parks, but if you looking for a luxury experience - this is it. I'd expecially like to thank the Concierge staff - Mary and John - who went out of their way to help me out with some personal details which made the weekend a resounding success. One additional comment - it was a warm on the weekend, and the birds were chirping a bit loudly outside or my room - but it added to the romance of the weekend after we all survived a cold winter. The Williamsburg Inn is an absolute recommend in my book.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank horseandporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    61
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
173
244
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We enjoyed a great one-night stay at the Williamsburg Inn over Valentine's weekend. I reserved the stay in January 2010. We stayed in Room 3296. It was a large, corner room with a king bed, couches and chairs, and a large bathroom. It was nicely decorated, very clean, and fresh (not worn). Service was excellent. We especially enjoyed breakfast in our room on Sunday morning. Room service was prompt, and the food was hot and bountiful. The preceding night, we enjoyed a nice dinner at Shield's Tavern. The I highly recommend the Williamsburg Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiistory-Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We had reservations for many rooms in the Market Square Tavern that were made quite a long time ago and confirmed one week before our arrival. To our surprise the reservation was not there when we arrived on December 30. The staff at the Inn were not very apologetic for a mistake they made, and even tried to make the leader of our group feel as if he had made the mistake. After quite some time we were given rooms but instead of having seven rooms all in one building we had to split up and have four rooms in one Inn and three rooms in another down the street. Not the way we had planned to celebrate a special birthday in our group. I could go on an on about the poor service, but I must mention the full 18% automatic gratuity for a table of 7 at the buffet lunch. We saw our server twice and once was to request a menu and the second was to request the check.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank gcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2009

From beginning to end, our stay at the Williamsburg Inn was first-class. Arriving just after dark, we got our first hint of elegance when we pulled up to the hotel’s majestic entrance. We entered beneath a large second story balcony, adorned with three evergreens draped and aglow with tiny, white lights. Fresh greens and wreaths accented the windows and doors. The hotel staff was warm, friendly and knowledgeable. The bellman who accompanied us to our room took time to orient and acquaint us with our lovely surroundings, offering helpful suggestions about the many activities and amenities, (including a new, world-class spa) available to us during our stay.

Unlike the “worn” elegance we’ve experienced at other reputable hotels of this caliber and age, we found everything about our room and the main areas of the hotel comfortable, tasteful, and impeccably clean. Recent renovations reflect an attention to detail. The bathroom was beautifully decorated and bed linens cozy. Our room was handsomely furnished, contained a working fireplace, and, befitting the holiday season, included a charming, little boxwood Christmas tree. We capped off the evening with an enjoyable stroll down historic, holiday-bedecked Duke of Gloucester Street.

After a restful night’s sleep, we consumed a tasty buffet breakfast in the Inn’s Regency dining room. Serving tables were laden with a wide assortment of fresh eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, fruit, pastries and the like. We especially enjoyed the delectable lox; delightful, fresh berry smoothies; delicious, homemade granola; and the biggest, sweetest blackberries we had ever eaten! The wait staff was attentive and friendly; yet unobtrusive.

Our only regret was not having the time in our schedule to extend our memorable stay. Needless to say, we are already looking forward to our next visit to the Williamsburg Inn!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leisuretravelers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

This hotel must have been decorated by someone who has never left the South. I am a world traveler, and was hugely disappointed. The clientele appeared to be over the age of 60, and they will soon find themselves with no more clientele. I don't even know where to begin. First, I paid over $400 per night and it doesn't compare to any other hotel of that price: ie Rosewood, Four Seasons, JW Marriot, Grand Hyatt, etc. Our room was huge impersonal. Everything was gold. The wall paper, the curtains, the carpet, the polyester bed spread. No other color.


No duvee. two tiny pillows per person and only one on the pull out sofa.
No blackout on the curtains so the light of the parking lot illuminates the curtains at night and makes them glow brightly.
Bring your own soap other wise you will have to remember where you put the little cheap bar of soap (nothing interesting) shower? Sink? Tub?
Old fashioned tv

Good things:
Sofa bed was large enough for 2 people in the room with the king bed they put us in the handicap room and my daughter found it ginormous.

Proximity to the town of Williamsburg?
The food in the restaurant was southern comfort food, we managed with 2 salads and the staff was friendly.

The ice bucket was not stocked and I was told to call room service to get ice which I didn’t bother to do.

My phone didn’t work, engineering never came and I called the front desk three times.

Don’t splash any water on the bathroom floor which is very slippery and marble and huge. There is one tiny floor mat.
You will need nerves of steel to endure the love songs that they turned into classical muzac while eating if you can keep your food down.

Remember to bring a box of tissues if you need any. There were none in my bathroom.
A side lobby next to our room and huge ceilings and the wallpaper and the curtains had the exact same huge pattern. It makes you dizzy and wonder.
Perhaps this is standard for the South? For much older people? Or perhaps, they can get away with old fashioned hotel service because of their proximity to the Colonial Williamsburg. I would never recommend going there again at that price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CowGirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Attempted to book the Holiday Package at the Williamsburg Inn but was quoted much higher price. Was told that the Holiday package was not valid over the holidays. I was trying to book a room for three nights the last week of December 2009. I re-read the website page and there in small print, it said the Holiday Package was an Offer valid September 6–December 29, 2009. So,, I called back and informed the sales rep of their own adverising.. The second call I was told oh yes it is valid,but so sorry, only more expensive rooms are available. The ole bait and switch. I have sent a complaint to the BBB. The last time I book through the WIliamsburg 1800 History line, my family received a hotel that had mold and was musty and wet. I am giving up on the 1800 History Williamsburg Travel sites.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SalemKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Lovely public areas and within walking distance of the Colonial part. However, WiFi and cellular service were difficult. Upkeep of room was disappointing - HVAC leak in the ceiling. Staff seemed overwhelmed at breakfast, and it was not particularly busy.

However, staff was also very willing to try to help and find solutions.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Property: Williamsburg Inn
Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Williamsburg Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing