We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Inn - But Terribly Expensive”
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Williamsburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Inn - But Terribly Expensive”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Maybe I'm a country bumpkin, but I certainly wasn't used to the atmosphere of the Williamsburg Inn. It was beautiful and luxurious, and the attention to detail was stunning. But the attitude of the staff ran hot or cold, depending on the individual.

We arrived at the Inn and, oops, they had valet parking. Our car, after almost a week of driving, was less than cleanly. We avoided the valet parking and walked in from the parking lot, which wasn't far at all.

The desk clerk was friendly and helpful. The bellman wanted to carry our luggage to our room, but we hastily declined. If you have mismatched luggage - like assorted backpacks and old rolling luggage - then you may feel the way that we did. I couldn't picture him lugging my "Little Miss Sunshine" backpack to our room. He was stiffly courteous and my attempts at self-deprecating humor seemed to be endured but not acknowledged.

He showed us into our room and where everything was. Have some money handy to give a tip - I have no idea how much they're accustomed to, but we gave what little we could. He did not ask for a tip, nor did he stand around waiting for one. It just seemed appropriate to give him something.

The room was lovely, but had a funny odor. The best way that I can describe it is that it smelled like the dirty water in a Bissell Green Machine. My best theory is that they had cleaned the carpet recently and the dirty water had seeped into the heating/cooling system. The smell hit you like a wave every time you walked into the room, and never went away.

The bathroom was the true beauty of the room. I loved the tub, I loved the space, I loved having my own sink. After staying in 3 other hotels - all of varying ratings - the luxury of such a big, beautiful, CLEAN bathroom was wonderful. I would go back in a heartbeat just for that beautiful tub.

Don't go looking for ice machines for that cooler you snuck in. Ice can either be brought to your room by room service or you can wait until the maid comes to turn down your bed. She'll give you a large plastic bag full of ice.

We looked at the room service prices - what the heck, it was our honeymoon. Well, what the heck indeed. If we wanted some food, we had to pay the inflated price for the food, then a 20% gratuity, then a $6 room service charge for having food in the room, and then the Virginia sales tax. Yeah, scratch that. After looking at those prices, we were afraid to drink the bottled water that they supplied. Then the maid left a second bottle on the coffee table, along with the first, and we realized that, yes, it was okay to drink the water - it was complimentary.

Don't roam the halls in your flipflops and bikini. The pool is located at the Spa, which is located near the property. There are rooms there to change, but, in the binder, the Inn explicitly says, "DO NOT ROAM THE HALLS IN YOUR SWIMSUIT." Not even if you're covered up.

The concierge was lovely and helpful. I've read a few other reviews that found them snobbish, but she helped us get passes and went through the map and told us what we should go see. She was wonderful. I wish I had remembered to get her name so I could give her credit here.

We didn't eat here - we couldn't afford it!! Instead, we ate at Pierce's BBQ and Sal's by Victor, both local restaurants that we would highly recommend.

IF you are accustomed to luxury and have money to burn, this is the spot for you. IF you are looking for the best value for your hard-earned buck, this is DEFINITELY not it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    61
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
173
244
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
334 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

This beautiful hotel, a member of "The Leading Small Hotels of the World" is undoubtedly the best location in Williamsburg. Of course, you have to pay for that kind of luxury and service, but for what you get, the Williamsburg Inn is hard to beat. From the well-appointed, spacious rooms, to the beautiful grounds facing the Golden Hourseshoe Golf Course, to the warm and inviting "Restoration Bar", every part of our stay at the Williamsburg Inn was first-rate. Service is impeccable, and no request is too large or small for the staff there. Although we didn't use it, the pool area is beautiful and very inviting. We didn't dine in any of the restaurants on the premises, but if they are up to the same standards as the bar, they should do nicely. If you are a golfer, the Golden Horseshoe is a beautiful and forgiving course, containing two holes listed among Golf Magazine's 500 best in the world.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WynneWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year's if you can call it that. Upon arrival we ate in their premium restaurant , The Regency Room where we contracted food poisoning. We spent the next 36 hours extremely ill in our room, not seeing anything of Colonial Williamsburg. Despite being diagnosed with food poisoning by the hotel's doctor, they have refused to compensate us for the meal that poisoned us or for the vacation we never had. All I can say is buyer BEWARE. You would think that such a supposedly fine world class hotel would be more interested in the well-being of their customers, especially since they inflicted the harm.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank NewJerseyParrot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

It was a cold winter getaway when we stayed at this beautiful Inn. It really is first class...services, people, accommodations, amenities, and nearby historic attractions. When we arrived at our spacious, well laid out suite, we asked the front desk to have the “fireman” come, bring some firewood, and light our fireplace. It quickly warmed the room and us. Even though it may not sound like a significant event, it felt so good and relaxing in such a historic setting. The Inn has so much, a spa, a championship “Golden Horseshoe” golf course, and wonderful traditional food. Although British royalty has stayed here, the staff makes you feel like “family” right at the beginning of your stay when Emery, the Doorman, welcomes you. The dining area is well staffed with people like Linda and Nevin who try to make your experience enjoyable with their recommendations. Our “package” included admission tickets for the adjacent historic Williamsburg area. If you have never visited Williamsburg, this is a treat for all, regardless of age. We debated “Richard Henry Lee” and “George Washington” and attended a service at one of the oldest Episcopal churches in US (Burton Parish) where all the Virginia signers of the Declaration of Independence worshiped. The only downside is that is it very expensive. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Liked — The ambiance
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarpeDiem45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnestown MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at the Inn many times over the years, and it is remains our favorite destination- the hotel against which we measure all others. The service is impeccable, the dining superb, the atmosphere classic, charming, and old school. There may be better values in the Williamsburg area, but there is nothing that compares with the experience and setting of the Inn, and it is within easy walking distance of all of Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRCDarnestownMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

I have stayed at the Inn many times - for Christmas, Thanksgiving, 4th of July - it is always beautiful and consistent. The hotel is beautifully maintained, I have compared many hotels to it over the years. It is charming and quaint and elegant all at the same time. The restaurants are perfect and the Sunday Brunch is the best I have ever had. The proximity of the hotel to the colomial area is excellent. The staff are always happy and accomodating. It is well worth the price.

  • Liked — Consistency, charm, elegance.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitalux2
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

You HAVE to stay here! If you like unique, luxury resorts with character... you will love this hotel! The staff knows your name, the hotel stays true to it's historical apperance by offering a traditional bedside clock as an alarm (and there is also the hidden digital alarm as well) and there is a bottle of cold Panna water awaiting your return each evening from your leisurely walks through Colonial Williamsburg. The furnishings are gorgeous and the rooms are huge! I stayed in a room in the front corner, near the entrance. It was the most moderately priced room, but we lucked out. There were a total of 5 (nearly) floor to ceiling windows with 2 more in the bathroom. The bathrooms are huge and luxuriously appointed. You even get to keep the slippers :) It's a wonderful hotel, with so much history. Splurge and skip the colonial homes for that resort experience! I can't wait to go back! Seriously, the nicest place with character that I've stayed at.

  • Liked — The character, the old hardware and the luxurious appointments
  • Disliked — The room service is over priced and mediocre at best. $50 for pecan pie, a cookie and a carafe of hot chocolate is a bit much for me.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mitalux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Property: Williamsburg Inn
Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Williamsburg Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing