We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint elegance at the Williamsburg Inn”
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Williamsburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is like returning home when we enter the Williamsburg Inn! We have stayed at the Inn or one of the historical Colonial homes on all of our visits which now exceed at least 20 stays! The quality of service is exceptional as is the entire experience.

Room Tip: The suites with sitting rooms are delightful. If traveling with a family, ask for a suite with an a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Womeester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Williamsburg Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 603 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Williamsburg Inn continues to deliver a top-drawer experience. It's charm is only part of the attraction; the service, the delicious menus, and the attention to the smallest details make a stay there unlike almost anywhere. We stayed for a long weekend of golf at the Golden Horseshoe, take in a couple of the colonial activities, and spa at the Williamsburg Spa. Every staff member at every venue went out of their way to ensure we had everything we desired. Truly, these folks provide one of the best levels of service anywhere. Whether you're coming to do the Colonial Williamsburg experience, which is unique, or some of the other attractions in the area, don't miss the chance to stay at this storied hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotel was outstanding. Rooms with fireplaces are lit by staff whenever you want and view of orchid tree and golf course in back were lovely. Food was very good and staff on every level was superb. They truly wanted your experience to be memorable. Exercise facility was large and had everything including classes held throughout the day. Inn was short walking distance to colonial Williamsburg area. Just a beautiful stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with the fireplaces, only about 7-8 of them. But you could have staff light the fireplace...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Williamsburg Inn is a truly delightful place to stay, eat and enjoy the historic
themes of the Colonial Village. Close to all activities, returning to the Inn after a
fun day is true pampering. Whether you chose to enjoy the resort, spa, dining
or whatever else you may do, the Inn staff is always ready to greet you and assist in
any way. The Concierge service is spectacular- they can arrange just about anything.

Having breakfast at the Inn dining room in the AM is a great way to start your busy
Colonial Village day. The evening meals are available as well as the tap room
menu items. Clean, fresh and beautifully decorated is something you won't be disappointed
with. Compared to other area hotels, this Inn may be considered $$, but it is well worth
the cost. You can leave your car, walk to any place or take the close bus service and
enjoy the Village.
There are other spots easily walkable outside the village for dining or clubs, not to mention
Colonial Williamsburg shops!

We most recently stayed before Christmas, a lovely time to enjoy everything, but have also
stayed in the Spring, when the new born lambs were out in the field, the Palace in floral beauty and the grounds in bloom.

Truly a gem of Colonial America and preserved history.

Room Tip: Ask the desk staff when you book the room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mar w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the historic lodging on site at Colonial Williamsburg (1 bed - tavern room I believe). The accommodation itself was very nice, oldy worldy as you would expect, so you can’t expect modern and pristine. You do have a TV, en-suite, comfy (if small) bed. It is clean and tastefully decorated. Excellent to look out the window and see in-costume characters walking by into the night and early morning, we really felt like we’d be catapulted back in time...then we spotted one of the many tourists feeding their faces that weekend;-)

Talking of food, room service was good, prompt and tasty.

We did go up to the hotel (Willliamsburg Inn) one night for a few drinks. It was lovely there, great service and very well decorated. It was a bit pricey for drinks. Saying that, if I were to go again, because I’ve now done the historic lodging, I’d be tempted to stay in the hotel, for a bit more luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElizabethGClaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

No question the best spot in Williamsburg. A real treat for a throw-back weekend. Some elements of hotel a tad dated, but that's the charm. Grounds were immacculate, staff very friendly and helpful, and generously-sized room was a treat with the family. Room had recently been very-tastefully redone, but in keeping with history. Very conveniently located. Not necessarily among the best ever, but certainly the best in Wburg IMO, and very fitting for the location. Have a drink on the back patio if you can.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gfp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I took my wife to Colonial Williamsburg on December 7th - 10th, to enjoy the holiday seasonal decor and events for just the 2 of us. What a great time, I found a great offer for the Williamsburg Inn and got a Suite in the Inn with 2 fireplaces and a canopy bed, that was wonderful. The 2 mornings stared with coffee that is in the lobby complimentary and the porter building a fire each morning in the parlor room for us. We stayed in the Inn for 2 nights and the last night moved over to the Lodge as the Inn was full. We had one Holiday Breakfast at the Tavern and lunch back at the Inn - both mornings we did breakfast at the INN, love that dining room. The Inn is very elegant during the holidays, we did 2 classical shows and the THE CRYSTAL SYMPHONY is very unique. Shopping in Williamsburg Village was great, we purchased many gifts that were unique for our family and it was so enjoyable. We had lunch on Saturday on a bench after picking up a few things at the Wine and Cheese Shop, some fruit, tuna salad and it was delightful. The highlight for us was the lighting of the green, and walking right behind the "Fife and Drum Core" as the eluminated each of the homes on the green. We went directly back to the INN and were able to get a table in the bar/dining room area instead of the Main Dining Room - very pleasant indeed but many were turned away so either rush or have reservations at one of the tavern during this peak time. We didn't get into the Holiday Tea - I failed to make reservations in advance for that and one must if they want to enjoy it. We love the slow paced and elegant atmosphere of the INN - the Spa is wonderful and very nice - the entire place is a Luxury Resort that I think many skip but they are missing out.

Go during the holidays and do a Thursday - Saturday stay to miss the crowds of the weekend. We plan to go back for the GRAND ILLUMINATION another year with our children and take our parents.

Room Tip: We love the INN and any room is great but splurge for Deluxe Room or even a suite if there in winte...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $454 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Williamsburg Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing