We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Williamsburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed many times over the years and was never disappointed. Once or twice, because of short notice, we stayed at Providence Hall, where the rooms are large & recently updated and quiet but not our favorite, although less expensive. We have always been delighted with every room we have stayed in all done in the southern style, appropiate for the area. The staff is more than excellent, always just perfect. Both restaurants & bar are wonderful. I wish i would never have to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KizrSozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    59
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
165
233
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My 2 grandaughts and I stayed here Dec 26-28 before traveling to New York. It was truly a wonderful experience. The colonial house was centrally located so we could walk to almost everything.
Due to inclimate weather when we arrived we had to reschedule our carriage tour which we had the
following day. The colonial cottage had 2 double beds and a fireplace. The girs thoroughly enjoyed their stay there and the staff at the Williamsburg Inn was top notch, making it quite a holiday get away. I will be returning when the weather warms up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoluluLoisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spending time at the Williamsburg Inn at Christmastime is one of the great joys of my life. Everyone there, from bellmen to wait staff is friendly, helpful, and professional. I think my favorite room is the East Parlor, where there is always a fire laid and waiting. I like to work in there during the day and I usually have it all to myself.
Even if you can't quite justify the room rates, you owe it to yourself to have a meal there-even if it's just breakfast. You'll feel like you belong there-that's how nice everyone is.

Room Tip: They're all quite lovely and the people who see to your comfort are wonderful, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaobla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn over Christmas. Colonial Williamsburg itself is very pretty and interesting from a historical perspective. This said, the Inn and the other venues on the grounds need service help. This place is very expensive all around...but not with a commensurate level of service. In the restaurants, the Regency Room in particular, they were not accommodating or helpful. The staff committed one of the biggest no-no's in my book: bickering and complaining amongst themselves where guest can hear. This happened twice during our stay. Most unpleasant. The food itself is so very average at very high prices. The food is what you get at a country club dining room. Uninspired and boring with service that doesn't really work that hard. Colonial Williamsburg would work better for me as a side trip...not as the main destination. If I were to return, I would NOT stay on the grounds....stay in town and visit the grounds as you like. I'm certain there is friendlier and better accommodations in town.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank grenny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just stayed at the Williamsburg Inn over the holidays and for our first holiday away from home and we were very impressed! We had a deluxe room with a fantastic bathroom, a wood burning fireplace, and great amenities such as a Manager's reception, a yule log ceremony, golf, spa, and the Historic Area.

We really enjoyed breakfast in the Regency Room and casual, but quality meals in the Terrace Room. The staff genuinely seem to enjoy caring for guests, the doormen remember your name and treat you like family. Since it was our first year travelling and staying in a hotel over the holidays as a family we were a bit worried about missing our home and traditions, but we were very impressed (CW and the Inn had a lot going on) and we did not want to leave!

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the fireplace rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMartellin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed a night on a business trip. Food menu was very limited, bartender Mark was great. The room was well worn; had three huge lines in the carpet like it was being pieced together. The location could not have been any better as was the service, but I can't really see paying the rates that they ask for.
Probably would not return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheHef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Some 30 years ago, we made frequent pilgrimages to The Inn, and the visits were extraordinary in every way. Then, years went by, and we did not return until 8 years ago. It was post-hurricane, and the huge oaks in the front lawn of The Inn were gone. But that was not all that was gone: In our opinion, the magic was gone. We had a pleasant stay, but the elegance was no longer there. We did not return until December 2012 for a weekend stay at The Inn. Our visit was extraordinary, with all the grace and magic and elegance that we experienced so many years ago. Thank You, Colonial Williamsburg!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bmcilwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Property: Williamsburg Inn
Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Williamsburg Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing