We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Christmas get away”
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Williamsburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Two couples spent 5 nights at the Inn. Great rooms. Included breakfast buffet huge! They greet you with "welcome home" and it feels like it. Fire crackling in the main lobby, cozy nooks all over the inn wonderful to chat and plan the day.

Comfortable beds, paper at your door. Dinning room is world class.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank JFR502S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 645 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

We kick-started the holidays by spending four days in Williamsburg the first week of December--our third visit to the Inn. Because we called too late to get into the Inn proper, we had a room in Providence Hall, the building adjacent to the Inn. It was very nice--spacious, quiet, and very clean, with an excellent view of the pond. The proximity to the historic area is wonderful--one block--and we enjoyed all the amenities of the Inn's major building. Breakfasts and dinner were served in the Regency Room; lunch in the Tavern Room--all with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Williamsburg Inn has everything you might remember about true full-service luxury properties: outstanding location; over-sized tasteful and timeless rooms; warm, welcoming and efficient staff; huge tasteful baths with separate showers; old-style public rooms; traditional fine dining; concierge services to enhance your stay and, yes, a true universal desire to exceed your expectations.

This is not nouveau-riche luxury the reviewer sees every day in South Beach and from time to time globally. This is old-money luxury, and if that level of decorum and understated ambiance appeals to you, enjoy it at the Williamsburg Inn, for it is becoming rarer in a world of glitzy, over-the-top, wretched-excess expressions of wealth. The Williamsburg Inn is a "class act," pure and simple.

As you enter your room, the entire design comforts you with something warm and familiar, not cold and sterile like many formula hotel rooms. The standard room is well oversized, similar to a suite without a dividing wall, with several windows overlooking the grounds. The bath is two rooms, the first with two vanities and a two-person tub, the second being the toilet and large shower stall. Separate bathroom heating controls allow you to exit your bath or shower to a comfortable temperature. The furniture, decorating and fixtures are spotless and in excellent condition.

Perhaps a drawback for a few is the smaller LCD TV viewable from the sitting area or the bed, stored in a large armoire. Everything is traditional style, and there are plenty of independent lighting fixtures to create a mood or level of functionality. Bedding comfort is superior, if a bit soft. Bed linens are fine, however the most obvious room drawback is the bath linen, small and reminiscent of a dorm or gym. This is an inexplicable inconsistency, especially when you see the two thick bathrobes in the closet.

Whether this is your first visit or the umpteenth return (and many return annually), the concierge on duty is outstanding in helpfulness and can-do attitude, without any stuffiness or hesitation waiting for a gratuity. (Sure, they will accept a token of appreciation, if you so choose.) As you comfortably sit at their desks, they take as much time as needed and are equipped with maps, brochures and, most valuable of all, experienced opinions. Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown have a plethora of worthwhile activities, so they can help you set priorities and make all your reservations for concerts, dining, tours and other special events.

The staff of doormen, bellmen, hostesses, wait staff, maids and housekeeping, room service and on and on was born with a smile and pleasant lilt to their voices. It is hard to walk the property without being warmly greeted and being given that "I feel special" feeling. The only exception was the front desk staff which lacked the warmth and gregariousness of the other 95% of employees. While generally adequate, they were relatively indifferent to officious.

There is golf and a spa which the reviewer did not experience. The grounds, like all of Colonial Williamsburg, are exceptional. Lastly, and perhaps the distinct advantage of the Williamsburg Inn, is the location right on the edge of the colonial area, within 5-15 minute walking distance of most buildings and sites with the exception of the visitor center. For that you catch the shuttle bus which stops within a block and a half.

The Williamsburg Inn is one of the world's great properties. While the Inn has standard luxury resort facilities, the unique features of Colonial Williamsburg create a rare gem which should not be missed in one's lifetime.

Room Tip: After looking at the room map on this sprawling property, I could not identify what you might consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoBeSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The service was great, the staff very helpful but the room itself and some of the common areas could have been a bit cleaner and more polished. I am not saying the place was unclean but it could have used a "spit shine". Overall great stay, a good fun place for a long weekend.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TheSpaniard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a junior suite with bedroom view of garden.
Room was nice and spacious. Bathroom was fantastic and amenities lovely.
All staff were friendly and the service was great.
Superb location for exploring the beautiful historic city of Williamsburg.
My only criticism was the bed which was far too soft and concave

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolutely the best place to stay. Wonderful and gracious staff, beautiful rooms. great food...
when having breakfast ask to sit in Lucy's section.. she is a charm. But then all the staff at WI are incredible. Hey, great rooms, great food, wonderfull, entertaining and educational Williamsburg right outside the door... put it on your list.
PS If you don't enjoy yourself here, then stay home and don't tarvel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A beautiful and well maintained/manicured property, extremely helpful staff, exceptionally clean and comfortable... The Williamsburg Inn is the best this area has to offer by far. Colonial Williamsburg's flagship hotel, it dates back to 1937 and it still reflects life at a more genteel and civilized time. There was a small hiccup at check-in involving the rate I was going to be charged. I was there for Colonial Williamsburg business. My rate was supposed to reflect this. At check-in I was told, by a relatively new, young, front-desk man. He processed my check-in at top rack-rate... which was almost 4 times higher than the rate I had been promised. Upon my protestation his reply was, "Sir, this IS the Inn." A Manager subsequently resolved it... partially. It was fully-resolved in the days that followed... so much so... upon check-out I was surprised to learn that my room charges had not been reduced... they had been covered, comped, cleared in total. I have always maintained, in the world of customer services... when a service provider screws up.... it is an opportunity for them to make it worse OR perform, what i call a "customer-miracle" and win the customer for life. This is not only a first-class, luxury property... It is a SMARTLY managed property. (Um... the young fellow who checked me in needs a little guidance.)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CryingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $168 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Williamsburg Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the height of luxury in Colonial Williamsburg, the iconic Williamsburg Inn has been reimagined to bring you the best of the old world and the new. Staying true to its impressive Regency style, food and beverage options have been elevated to suit today’s evolved tastes. You’ll also enjoy stunning upgrades to our outdoor spaces and redesigned signature themed suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing