We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Williamsburg.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Williamsburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
ParisLondonNewYork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Williamsburg.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We truly enjoyed our weekend stay at the Inn. Everything was perfect from the moment we have arrived. This is very beautiful hotel with euqally beautifully decorated rooms and common areas. The decor reflects the good taste of the guests that stay in it. There is no other hotel of the same class in the entire area - period. We loved our suite and it was a great feeling to come back to it after long hot days of visiting the many great places at the Colonial Williamsburg. Our bedroom is decorated in very beautiful classic colonial style with strong European influences. The relaxing color palete was just perfect. The lobby was plesently furnished with fine furniture and draperies of the highest taste.

I can only compare this hotel to the best hotels that we have stayed in.
If you are for a short overnight stay you might want to opt for less expensive and yet equally beautiful room rather then a suite probably, but if you are staying for more then couple nights then suite is definitely a way to go. We were very happy with the suite, but this is what we usually reserve if possible as a family with a child.

Room service was excellent! Fast, courtous, perfect. Breakfast tray always looked picture perfect.
The themed china and silverware were just a fine detail that added to the good feeling.

On-site restaurant is superb. This is the finest dinning in it's finest form. It was more sophisticated food and service wise then our other local favorite - The King's Arms Tovern that we enjoyed for the character and unique dishes of the past.

We plan to come back to Williamsburg again and we definitely are going ot stay at the Inn.
Having a chance to see other hotels operated by the Collonial Williamsburg company - which manages the Inn - we have checked them by stopping by and walking the common areas but those hotels were not anywhere near the high class of the Inn. It is worth every penny.
This is one of those moments when you know that you are not paying only for the night sleep away from home, you are paying for memories.

P.S. Since I have visited other hotels maybe a word to those who are interested or can't book the Inn for this or other reason.. If I had to settle for second option for some reason I would probably go with the Williamsburg Lodge that has some sens of style and history to it however the rooms were bit too simplistic and overall decor was indeed lodge-like. Rooms are decorated more less in Amish/Shaker style. It lacks certain class if that is what you are looking for.

The other two hotels that were operated by the same company are on rather far and low end and they might be perfect for tight budget trip, might be good for families with children or someone who is looking for savings. However if you are after experience then the Inn is the only way to go in my humble opinion. I would highly recommend to stop by and check it out if you are staying elswhere as you might like to choose it for your future trips.

We did get our gas at the off immediate Historic Williamsburg area where all other hotels are located and they are not only far from all the action but they are very plain and very ordinary.
They are in very "blah" highway area.

Room Tip: Suites are the best! Rooms are still good size. Sign up for their email program and they oftentimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowcatprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    60
    22
    11
    12
See reviews for
174
238
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is amazing !!!! In the heart of Colonial Williamsburg, you couldn't ask for a better location. From the time I arrived from the time I left, I was never treated so wonderfully at a hotel.
My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for the weekend and chose Williamsburg, since it's central for both of us. The rooms are incredible, we got the standard King room and there was nothing standard about it. You have to see the bathrooms, to really appreciate how wonderful they are.
We did not dine in any of the restaurants, but from what I hear they are quite lovely.
The staff was outstanding, from the doormen, to the front desk staff and the housekeeping staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and went far and above our expectations.
We would certainly stay here again and can't wait to do so.

Room Tip: Try to go in the fall, it's not quite as crowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dataitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family and I found the hotel and the staff gracious and delightful in all respects. We would stay there again in a split second -- for much longer next time. I don't usually review hotels, but I had been a bit nervous about the WIlliamsburg Inn after reading a couple of negative reviews on trip advisor. While I was there, I kept trying to work out what the naysayers can have been talking about. Count me as an enthusiastic "yes" vote on the Williamsburg Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FioTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for two nights. We were able to take advantage of a promotion that Colonial Williamsburg had. Book one night, get one free and it also included tickets to Colonial Williamsburg. It is in walking distance to pretty much all the colonial sites. If you don't want to walk there is a shuttle that runs every 10 minutes and stops at various points.

The hotel is set back from the street and is just a beautiful hotel to drive up to. I was impressed with all the beautiful furnishings in the hotel. Our room had several Stickley pieces in it. The bathroom was very large and I loved the Spa toiletries that they offered. We did not use the Spa facilities but we did go check them out. Very nice gym, indoor pool, whirlpool
and outdoor pool. We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment. The purpose of our visit was solely to visit Colonial Williamsburg. This hotel was in the perfect spot for that. If there is any negative to comment on this hotel, it would be that the curtains do not completely block out all the light. They did filter it a bit but not completely. We didn't really care though, since we wanted to be up to cover all the sights.


We took the suggestion of the concierge at the hotel and started at the visitors center. He suggested we watch the 36 minute movie "The Patriot", starring Jack Lord. It was produced in 1957 and it was an excellent introduction.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NVAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Location is about the only positive thing about this hotel. From the moldy and stuffy rooms to the untrained and unfriendly staff this hotel is in need of a serious management overhaul. It's time to step into the 21st century.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We visited about 2 weeks ago just as the weather was shifting to the heat. Proximity of the Inn was walking distance to all the attractions. It was great to be able to use it as a base to experience the entire history of the times. This is especially important during the heat as we could take a break and go for a swim and then return for the night activities.

The staff is wonderfully accommodating and fulfills your every need. When the neighbors were too loud or smoked a cigar (strangely enough in a non-smoking room/hotel), they took care of it. Turn down service every night was great. From our welcome to good-bye, they were spot on in terms of care and courtesy.

The room was big enough to comfortably fit the 4 of us in 2 double beds (kids 8 & 13). We had plenty of space for out luggage and a separate sofa to relax. Bathrooms are large with a separate bath and shower. It was easy for all of us to wash off the day with the wonderful bath towels. Kids like the robes.

We had the included breakfast package where tip is included. The service was exquisite. The dining staff took the time to learn out names and greeted us with cheer every morning. Starting the day with the choices was perfect for us to last past lunch. I would highly recommend including this part of the package. All food was fresh and many choices for all types of eaters.

Lastly, the concierge were wonderful to have in planning our dinner reservations as well as booking the tours and carriage rides. They helped us with the kids stuff like getting started on the RevQuest. They even got us a cake for a birthday in our room.

Overall a great stay with a wonderfully attentive staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j_otter_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Tradition and exquisite service is the hallmark of this wonderful hotel which I have enjoyed since my parents began taking me here as a child and I wandered the hallways and watched in wonder as a harpist played each beautiful melodies each afternoon. The location couldn't be better. Walk directly from the hotel into the heart of the historic streets of Colonial Williamsburg. The hotel went through a down period in the late 1990s, but it has reinvigorated itself and has its own pool and gym and wifi. Dining is old fashioned but always excellent. Expensive, but worth the cost is you want to be treated royally.

Room Tip: Try to get a view over the golf course which get the afternoon sun. Use the Colonial Williamsburg bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Signe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Property: Williamsburg Inn
Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Williamsburg Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing