We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff made it very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The staff made it very good”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Ann and her staff made a bad situation (power outage for almost a full day) tolerable. They offered money back and/or putting us up elsewhere but we decided after a long day at Busch gardens to stick with them for the night. Glad we did, breakfast was on time and tasty. Would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Bill M,
Thank you so much for "sticking with us" during the power outage. We are glad you enjoyed your stay despite this problem. And thank you for your kind remarks about our staff. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    170
    109
    69
    33
See reviews for
370
98
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked room for 4 days in August 2013 for our annual Bush Gardens vacation. When we checked in the room we found trash under the air conditioning unit. We over looked this as we were tired. The next day our kids were getting showers and removed a towel from the rack only to find the towel full of hair. The hair actually went well with the hair in the tub. My wife went down to the front desk and complained. The front desk clerk was great in finding us another room.

We've stayed at a couple of Country Inn and Suites and this was definitely the worst one we've stayed at. On a good note, the breakfast was good and the coffee was hot...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oofitzyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I want to express our sincerest apologies for the cleanliness issues you experienced. Although it is never pleasant to hear that we have failed to deliver at the level of service we strive to maintain, we do need to be made aware of these situations. I have addressed your concerns with staff members and assure you that we are working deligently to correct all of these issues. Again, we apologize for the problems you encountered and hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazlet, nj USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked this hotel to get points on my Club Carlson account and because I found a good rate on Tripadvisor.
The good--- Staff is VERY friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included and was plentiful, enough choices. Excellent location to parks and Colonial Williamsburg. We did not hear a peep from any other guests. Loved the cookies and fresh fruit, though sometimes when we stopped in there weren't any. Shower had ok pressure, but drainage was slow. Free wi-fi.

The other-- Kind of a tight lobby area, and breakfast area seemed very tight as well. The individual room A/C is a little loud. Pillows were terrible, flat and shapeless and beds were bouncy. Decor was dated and tired in our Queen room.

I misunderstood that there was a difference between "Queen room" and "Queen suite" and was disappointed when when we had only 2 queen beds and no pull out sofa, and no fridge. I asked if there was a "Queen suite" available, but at $100 more per night it would have been more than double the rate we got on the queen room and was not worth it for our 3 night stay.

The 3 night stay was fine but I will probably investigate other Carlson properties before I stay at this one again. Or perhaps even splurge for more spacious accommodations once updates are complete.

Room Tip: We were the very last room on the third floor, good for quiet, but the wi-fi seemed a little sketchy...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gkgreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your visit. On behalf of our entire staff I want to apologize for the issues you had and thank you for the details in your review so that we are able to address each one of them. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope you will keep us in mind if you're ever in our area again. Also..... THANK YOU for being a Club Carlson member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed August 5-9

Good
Rooms were spacious
Front desk was very friendly
Great location within 5 minutes to Busch Gardens and other attractions
Free breakfast is very good with plenty to choose from.
outdoor pool is average

Bad
Room was a little outdated with tiny amounts of mold on the bathroom tile and wall paper.
train across the street can be a little loud in the morning.

Summary
Great hotel for the price (paid less then $100 night) and perfect for a short stay if you are doing Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Karl M,
Thank you for choosing Country Inn & Suites for your stay in Williamsburg and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the bathroom issues you noted and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will keep us in mind if your travels ever bring you back to the Williamsburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is our first time at this hotel - very nice hotel, clean room, friendly front desk. We did ask for the frig and will pay $5 per day; there is also a microwave. AC very noisy. Previous posters have stated a problem with the curtains - behind the sheer curtains there is a white blackout curtain which you need to close, then close the sheers - no problem with sunlight in am. Package rec'd at check in was very organized - list of close by restaurants with addresses; list of main attractions with directions - all very clear. Our only problem is the children running through the halls and up and down the elevators until 10:30pm two nights in a row. And problem with pillows - nothing to them; they flatten as soon as you lay your head on them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mygardenhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your visit to Williamsburg on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed most of your visit.. But, do apologize that there were noisy children unattended and that you were not comfortable on our pillows. We truly appreciate your comments (both good & bad) and will keep them in mind when making future improvements. Thanks again for choosing Country Inn & Suites.... We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Comfortable stay, and less than 2 miles to the parks. The Hotel is dated but they have done a good job with upkeep. The staff was friendly. The office had plenty of literature on had to get you where you needed to be. I would recommend this Hotel to friends and family. Breakfast was crowed and the hostess had trouble keeping up. Go early and you will be fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedicRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will keep us in mind if your travels ever bring you back to the Williamsburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Perfect location when visiting both Busch Gardens and the Williamsburg Historic Area. 1 mile from each and convenient to Richmond Road which has every restaurant you can choose from. Hotel sits by itself so it was very quiet, if we didn't see that the parking lot was filled, we would have thought no one else was here. Breakfast was good, staff kept everything stocked. The only thing I thought was strange, the curtains were sheer on the windows, you are up high enough for no one to see in. I would definately come back.

Room Tip: If you don't want to wait for the elevator, request a 2nd floor room, then you are only walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJFamily921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi NJFamily,
Thank you for posting such a nice review of your stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
1.7 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#53 of 74 in Williamsburg
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#35 of 74 in Williamsburg
333 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Address: 7135 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly & attentive staff invites you to "Be Our Guest" at the Country Inn & Suites – Williamsburg East. Let us delight you with outstanding service in a warm country setting. For your comfort & enjoyment we are pleased to offer a smoke-free family friendly facility with a seasonal outdoor pool, picnic area, video game room, fitness room, restaurant, laundry facilities, wireless internet access, library, complimentary breakfast & fresh baked cookies. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure our central location, just 2 miles from Busch Gardens, 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and close to shopping, dining & golf make us the perfect location for all that Williamsburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area) Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area)
Country Inn Williamsburg East
Williamsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing