We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked two rooms at the Country Inn and Suites for 5 nights this past week. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Location-wise, you couldn't ask for a better place. We had flex passes for the week so that we could visit all of the main attractions. The Country Inn was within 15 minutes of most of the local attractions, and about 5 to the "big 3" - Busch Gardens, Water Country, and Colonial Williamsburg.

The breakfast was really pretty good; much more than I expected for a hotel "continental breakfast". Beyond the typical bagels, toast, yogurt, and cereal, they had Belgian Waffles, a pretty good selection of danishes and donuts (Krispy Kreme...yum!) and 2 buffet style chafing dishes, which varied from day-to-day. We had, throughout the week, eggs (though "microwave-style"...the type you'd expect on a breakfast sandwich), sausage patties, bacon, french-toast, and breakfast potatoes. The big downside is that it gets CROWDED for breakfast...go early.

The pool was nice. We really only had one day where it was a little too crowded for our liking, but of course our kids didn't care. It's a pretty small hotel, so I don't expect that it gets real crowded often (there was a baseball group staying while we were there). Also, there is a toddle pool in the area as well (8-10 inches deep) which is nice for the smaller children.

Some nice extras: an on-site "lending library" with books to borrow; a "welcome bag" with info about the area, a bottle of water and a snack; lots of info around the property about local dining, attractions, etc; Fresh baked cookies at the welcome desk...on this point, I must note that I was offered cookies for everyone in my family (9 cookies in total), without the blinking of an eye. I was impressed with the hospitality of the staff, from the front desk, to the kitchen staff, and the cleaning staff...all were quite nice and thorough.

The only downside that I could really think of regarding the site is the surrounding area. There are some nice restaurants and the attractions are close, but finding a proper grocery store or department store took us a while...there aren't any real close. But there is a 7-Eleven! So, if you need anything, stop before you get to the property, or else you'll have to drive across town to pickup goods.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

THANK YOU for the great review. I love the details you included and hope others will find them helpful when trying to pick a hotel in Williamsburg. We are so glad your family enjoyed tehir stay and that you had the chance to enjoy ALL that Williamsburg has to offer. We hope you all will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 625 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed August 3-5. We booked two double rooms. Got to hotel at 3:45pm after long day at parks. Waited in line over 15 min overheard clerk telling another guest "room not ready". I figured maybe they just walked in with no reservation. When I finally got to clerk stated "well one of your rooms is ready, the other is still being worked on". When asked how long stated "half an hour". After unpacking cars for both families went back to front desk to check progress of room manager at desk offered no apology stated " It will be another hour". At this point if we had not already been charged a day for hotel on credit card would have left. When asked if we could somehow be compensated for lost time manager stated "no there is nothing we can do we are fully booked and we are working as fast as we can". Second room not ready until 5:00pm. Rooms outdated. Bathrooms have no fan so by the time fourth person showers ceiling and floor soaked. AC units noisy and did not keep room cool. Heard train second night but did not wake others in room. Breakfast good variety but crowded. Hotel has poor management and is understaffed. Check out time doesnt change so we paid full price for a room but lost 2 hours due to poor management. As another reviewer said you get what you pay for but at $96.00 per night I expect more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We sincerely apologize for what you experienced during your recent stay at our property. We understand when you arrive to your destination you would like feel welcomed and to have your room ready. We also want our guests to feel like family when they stay with us. We would like to discuss this further. Please feel free to contact us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com. ~Dana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed for three days - July 29 through August 1. Checked-in around 700pm and the process was very quick. We were off to the room within five-minutes. The room was on the fourth floor and we enjoyed getting the extra exercise by taking the steps to the room or when leaving the room. Took a quick check throughout the room and found it to be clean. The hotel is very close to Busch Gardens which was our main focus for this trip. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and we slept wonderfully for three straight nights (best nights I've ever experienced in all my travels). The breakfast that was offered was filling and very satisfying. All staff were very friendly and acknowledged us whenever we were nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

GREAT REVIEW..... It is always a pleasure for us to get feedback from our guests, especially when we have succeeded in providing an enjoyable & memorable vacation. We are glad your family enjoyed staying with us and visiting Busch Gardens. There is lots more to do in Williamsburg so come visit us again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed there July 30-31 2012. We had 2 rooms. Chose it over our more favorite Embassy Suites because (1) it was closer to Busch Gardens and (2) half the price. Check in around 330 on a Monday afternoon was slow with only one front desk person who was trying to multi task with check in and telephones.

The property is older but still passable.. rooms got pretty musty when A/C off for any length of time.

Kicker was when it was time to go to bed one of the beds had hair on the sheets under the blanket.. So sheet could not have been changed from prior guest. Front desk folks were nice about it but only offered to bring us new sheets ("do you want us to bring you new sheets?").

No apology. No explanation. We changed the sheets for both beds ourselves.

Otherwise a very serviceable hotel.. we were on the first floor so didn't need to use the elevator that others have reported was slow.

Breakfast bar was OK. Plenty of room to eat.... decent selection for the price.

We'd likely not stay there again and instead go back to the local Embassy Suites...

Room Tip: The first floor just down the hall from the breakfast area was not bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenGlassLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit in July. I do apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay and thank you for bringing them to my attention. We want to be able to provide our guests with the best possible service. With this in mind I will be sharing your comments with staff members to help us improve our performance and provide that exceptional service. We hope you will give us another opportunity to service you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very friendly staff, good breakfast buffet, clean rooms. Location very good for both Water Country and Busch Gardens. Downside is that most restaurants and shopping are on the western end of Williamsburg. One strange observation: only elevator is so slow that more people use the stairs than the elevator.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Kirbyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are glad to hear that your family enjoyed their time in Williamsburg and hope you will keep us in mind if your travels ever bring you back to the Williamsburg area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed a couple of years ago, and it was very nice, this time very outdated. The room smelled musty and turned down our beds and black hair all on the pillows and sheets. The bathroom had mold and was also not clean. The elevator is extremely slow, most families got tired of waiting and walked up the stairs instead and they were also talking about how outdated it was. I will not be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us in July. On behalf of our entire staff I apologize for the concerns you shared about this visit. I have shared your comments with all staff members and we are working diligently to correct these issues.
Please accept our sincere apologies and a future 1-night complimentary stay with us. We hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our usual hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights with 2 teens and my hubby we had a great stay . Rooms were clean and nice size. I especially liked that they had 2 queen size beds . The staff were friendly and helpful ,although the kitchen staff were nt as helpful as the other members of staff. The pool was small though adequate and extreamley clean . The breakfast was decent would have been a lot better if the lady there had an occasional smile on her face . I would stay here again I think its a great location for Busch Gardens , Colonial Williamsburg and Water Country USA I thought they were very family friendly and great for teens .

Room Tip: My room was 209 on second floor and over looked the pool which I thought was great because I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequenttravellerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thanks for the great review. We are glad your family enjoyed themselves. I do apologize that our breakfast room staff didn't seem as friendly as everyone else & will be sure to share your review with all staff members. We hope to see you all again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#52 of 73 in Williamsburg
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)

Address: 7135 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $52 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly & attentive staff invites you to "Be Our Guest" at the Country Inn & Suites – Williamsburg East. Let us delight you with outstanding service in a warm country setting. For your comfort & enjoyment we are pleased to offer a smoke-free family friendly facility with a seasonal outdoor pool, picnic area, video game room, fitness room, restaurant, laundry facilities, wireless internet access, library, complimentary breakfast & fresh baked cookies. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure our central location, just 2 miles from Busch Gardens, 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and close to shopping, dining & golf make us the perfect location for all that Williamsburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area) Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area)
Country Inn Williamsburg East
Williamsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing