We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, not great..you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent, not great..you get what you pay for”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed there July 30-31 2012. We had 2 rooms. Chose it over our more favorite Embassy Suites because (1) it was closer to Busch Gardens and (2) half the price. Check in around 330 on a Monday afternoon was slow with only one front desk person who was trying to multi task with check in and telephones.

The property is older but still passable.. rooms got pretty musty when A/C off for any length of time.

Kicker was when it was time to go to bed one of the beds had hair on the sheets under the blanket.. So sheet could not have been changed from prior guest. Front desk folks were nice about it but only offered to bring us new sheets ("do you want us to bring you new sheets?").

No apology. No explanation. We changed the sheets for both beds ourselves.

Otherwise a very serviceable hotel.. we were on the first floor so didn't need to use the elevator that others have reported was slow.

Breakfast bar was OK. Plenty of room to eat.... decent selection for the price.

We'd likely not stay there again and instead go back to the local Embassy Suites...

Room Tip: The first floor just down the hall from the breakfast area was not bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenGlassLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit in July. I do apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay and thank you for bringing them to my attention. We want to be able to provide our guests with the best possible service. With this in mind I will be sharing your comments with staff members to help us improve our performance and provide that exceptional service. We hope you will give us another opportunity to service you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    175
    111
    74
    33
See reviews for
381
102
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, good breakfast buffet, clean rooms. Location very good for both Water Country and Busch Gardens. Downside is that most restaurants and shopping are on the western end of Williamsburg. One strange observation: only elevator is so slow that more people use the stairs than the elevator.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirbyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are glad to hear that your family enjoyed their time in Williamsburg and hope you will keep us in mind if your travels ever bring you back to the Williamsburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed a couple of years ago, and it was very nice, this time very outdated. The room smelled musty and turned down our beds and black hair all on the pillows and sheets. The bathroom had mold and was also not clean. The elevator is extremely slow, most families got tired of waiting and walked up the stairs instead and they were also talking about how outdated it was. I will not be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us in July. On behalf of our entire staff I apologize for the concerns you shared about this visit. I have shared your comments with all staff members and we are working diligently to correct these issues.
Please accept our sincere apologies and a future 1-night complimentary stay with us. We hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our usual hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights with 2 teens and my hubby we had a great stay . Rooms were clean and nice size. I especially liked that they had 2 queen size beds . The staff were friendly and helpful ,although the kitchen staff were nt as helpful as the other members of staff. The pool was small though adequate and extreamley clean . The breakfast was decent would have been a lot better if the lady there had an occasional smile on her face . I would stay here again I think its a great location for Busch Gardens , Colonial Williamsburg and Water Country USA I thought they were very family friendly and great for teens .

Room Tip: My room was 209 on second floor and over looked the pool which I thought was great because I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttravellerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We are glad your family enjoyed themselves. I do apologize that our breakfast room staff didn't seem as friendly as everyone else & will be sure to share your review with all staff members. We hope to see you all again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocahontas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here in 2009 & July 2012. We were very pleased both times. Great location, clean, safe. The beds were comfortable & queen size. The pool was sparkling clean. The hot breakfast with numerous choices was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thanks for the Great review. We are so glad you have enjoyed staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here last year and liked it, this time was different, blankets very stained on edges, Im talking big brown stains and dont know why these were even allowed to go back on a bed. We stayed for 6 nights and twice had to go to the desk for new key cards because they wouldnt work, then our last night ( and this isnt their fault) a storm knocked out electricity for 5 hours, then an hour after the storm, the fire alarm went off forcing an evacuation at 2 am. We got back in at around 3 am. I thing for the rates, they need to make sure clean looking linens make it on the beds.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfingbudha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry that this stay did was not up to our usual standards. I have shared your review with staff members and have taken care of the housekeeping issues you detailed. We apologize and hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our usual hospitality again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at a weekend, many families there obviously heading for Busch Gardens but well located too for Colonial Williamsburg and the Historic Triangle. A bit more upmarket than other places we had stayed in on our tour. Nice comfy room, decent breakfast. Surprising noise occasionally from goods trains on nearby rail line.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sicarius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope you will keep us in mind if your travels ever bring you back to the Williamsburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
1.7 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#54 of 73 in Williamsburg
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#35 of 73 in Williamsburg
336 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Address: 7135 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly & attentive staff invites you to "Be Our Guest" at the Country Inn & Suites – Williamsburg East. Let us delight you with outstanding service in a warm country setting. For your comfort & enjoyment we are pleased to offer a smoke-free family friendly facility with a seasonal outdoor pool, picnic area, video game room, fitness room, restaurant, laundry facilities, wireless internet access, library, complimentary breakfast & fresh baked cookies. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure our central location, just 2 miles from Busch Gardens, 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and close to shopping, dining & golf make us the perfect location for all that Williamsburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area) Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area)
Country Inn Williamsburg East
Williamsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing