We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Aldrich House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aldrich House B&B
Ranked #14 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
St. Mary's
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed January 12, 2011

What a wonderful stay we had at the Aldrich House Bed & Breakfast! From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable in this beautiful and very clean home. Tom and Sue are great and treat you like family friends. They had decorated their home beautifully for the Christmas holidays and it is within a short walking distance from Colonial Williamsburg. We have fond memories of sitting in front of the fire, with Christmas music in the background and the sweet scent of goodies being baked in the kitchen. Our stay was wonderful and we would recommend the Aldrich House whenever you visit Williamsburg!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sNanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

All round wonderful! Tom and Sue were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were huge and very tasty indeed. The Patton Room was very comfortable. Very pleasant and central location to visit historic area of Williamsburg. Would advise anyone visiting Williamsburg to stay at the Aldrich House!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill28860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrettsville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I felt at home here, and found the room to be very cozy and decorated exactly how you would like to see a Williamsburg B&B. The breakfasts were great. Sue made something different for us every day. You will fall in love with K.C. It was great being within walking distance of Duke of Gloucester. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in my favorite city for my 30th birthday trip. Thank you Sue and Tom!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KParkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We spent the weekend at the Aldrich House Bed and Breakfast and loved everything about it, especially their little cat KC. What a dear! The house is beautiful. Breakfasts were wonderful and the family was very helpful, giving information and tips on the area, sharing their love for the area. We would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catlover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2009

While both our moms were visiting near their birthdays, my husband and I decided to surprise them with a trip to Williamsburg. As we searched B&Bs in the Williamsburg area, we finally settled upon Aldrich House. We based our decision on several factors: walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg, accommodation for the 4 of us in one room, and reasonable price. It was the least expensive B&B we researched, and that was our only concern (i.e., “you get what you pay for”). Well, I am here to testify that you get a whole lot more than what you pay for!

Aldrich House is lovely and charming…there is nothing pretentious or overly embellished about it… it is like visiting your favorite aunt and uncle out in the country. When we arrived, Sue and Tom were not able to greet us, but they left us a note along with a key to the house. We walked in, and both our moms were delighted. We were all amazed when we walked into our huge room (the Anderson Room), which exceeded our expectations. It was tastefully and lovingly decorated, and it was all very clean and tidy.

On both mornings, we walked downstairs and were treated to a simple, delicious breakfast (i.e., scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit salad and French toast). Combined with orange juice and coffee, it was a perfect way to start our day. Sue and Tom are down-to-earth, friendly, and hospitable. They were helpful with directions and dinner suggestions; at breakfast, they provided pleasant conversation and interesting anecdotes about their experiences at Aldrich House. After breakfast, it was only a 5-10 minute walk to Colonial Williamsburg.

My husband and I had a lovely time and would return in a heartbeat to Aldrich House. Our mothers, on the other hand, found their visit to Williamsburg to be one of the most memorable trips of their lives. Thank you, Sue and Tom, for helping create that memory for us.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idea_Spaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldrichhouse, owner at Aldrich House B&B, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
Thank you so much for your review. We enjoyed you staying with us also. What you experienced is what we strive for with all our guests. We hope your Moms visit again soon and ya'll make a return visit to us or just come and treat yourselves. Take care and God Bless.
Sue and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Nice little B&B just a 5 minute walk from Colonial Williamsburg, and while I'd stay there again, I'd bring sleeping pills. The rooms were extremely bright at night from the street lights and the blinds didn't do much. At midnight, with the lights off, it was bright enough to read a book comfortably. We ended up hanging towels over the windows.

The indoor/outdoor 3 legged cat was a suprise, especially when it cried all night outside our door. Both mornings, the other couples complained about the cat noise as well. Its not just your usual meow, this can has a "special" sound that remind me of stepping on a bassonist. Tylenol PM is a must for sleeping here. Cute little cat, but loud.

Floors squeak very loudly, too. If you plan to stay out late, everyone will hear you come in... or you'll hear them if you want to sleep before they're home.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank morbid0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldrichhouse, owner at Aldrich House B&B, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
You are right. The cat will cry out sometimes. She's almost 20 years old now and has a bad night occasionally. We have also changed the blinds to a larger width. They look nicer and hopefully, turned the right way, will block the light better from the street light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

My family will be spending Christmas in Williamsburg, and we will be staying at the Aldrich House for the fourth time. We love this B&B! First, we like the fact that it is smaller than most other Williamsburg B&Bs, with only four rooms, so it feels cozier and more like home. Tom and Sue Patton welcome you into their family. Tom is actually running the B&B, while Sue works out of the home. He is ex-military and has also worked for Colonial Williamsburg, so he really knows the area. The B&B itself is a salt box style located a mere two blocks from the Capitol end of the Historic District. That can be a real plus in a busy season, since you won't have to worry about parking. Breakfasts are plentiful and good and are served in their dining room family style. This promotes getting to know the few other guests. The two other common areas are a formal living room, with colonial sofas and wing chairs, and a comfortable TV area with sink-in leather couches. The bedrooms are spacious, especially the Anderson Room upstairs and the large bedroom downstairs (I don't recall its name). If you have kids, the Anderson Room can accommodate them - in addition to two king beds, it has a loft that younger ones can use to "camp in" with their stuff. The downstairs bedroom is great for couples or an older person who does not want to climb stairs. I have saved a great point for last - this B&B is very affordable compared to others in the area and much less expensive than staying in a Colonial Williamsburg property. The only potential drawbacks are two - a house cat for anyone who is allergic and their payment method - which requires a 50% deposit when you book and the remainder paid by cash or check at the time of the visit. I put my 50% down on January 13th for this Christmas visit, so you know what a fan I am of this place. I bet one visit here will not be your last!

  • Liked — Warm family atmosphere
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BandBLover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrich House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrich House B&B

Property: Aldrich House B&B
Address: 505 Capitol Court, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldrich House Bed & Breakfast guests have stated how our proximity to Colonial Williamsburg is wonderful. A short walk and you are in the Historic Area. We offer an unpretentious atmosphere and serve a full breakfast (family-style) that will keep you fueled for the day. Stay at the Aldrich House Bed and Breakfast for your trip back into history, your visit to the College of William & Mary, Busch Gardens, or to just get away and relax. Our place is your home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing