We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at Aldrich House”
Review of Aldrich House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aldrich House B&B
Ranked #14 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
La Mirada, California
1 review
“Our Stay at Aldrich House”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and had the pleasure of staying at the Aldrich House B&B in
Williamsburg on 4/18/2013 through 4/21/2013. The Patton room was great.
It was large with a King size bed and had a very large bathroom with a
Jacuzzi tub. The room was decorated beautifully.The breakfast was
fantastic. You were served eggs, with french toast or waffles or pancake
crepes and always had orange juice and fruit. Could not ask fro a
better breakfast. The house was a five minute walk to Historic
Williamsburg park. Tom and Sue are wonderful hosts. They are warm,
friendly and very helpful. Tom gave us pointers on what to do and see.
Tom is very knowledge about early Virginia history. The stay was well
worth the money. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. We
recommend The Aldrich House to anyone who is planning to visit the
Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent 5 nights here, exploring Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Monticello during the days. Walking distance to Williamsburg. Tom was up with a hot breakfast ready daily. Each day included eggs, either French toast, waffles, pancakes, or crepes, and either bacon, Virginia ham, or a variety of sausage. Fresh fruit, orange juice, and coffee as well. Tom conducts guided tours through Triangle Tours and was happy to share a lot of his knowledge of Williamsburg and the birth of our country. We stayed on the 2nd floor in the Anderson room with 2 king beds and a private bath. Everything was very clean. Secure Wi Fi included which helped us plan for the next day. Several nice dining establishments nearby. I highly recommend the Aldrich House for couples or families. We felt right at home thanks to Tom and Sue and their family.

Room Tip: The Anderson room has 2 king beds and this neat little nook that kids will love to sleep in with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The home is nicely decorated in Colonial décor. The Patton Room was very cozy and comfortable. Tom shared his knowledge of Colonial Williamsburg while we enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning. With just a short walk to Colonial Williamsburg, we could enjoy history, nature, fabulous taverns and fine restaurants!

Thank you Tom and Susan for your dining recommendations and the lovely surprise we received at our dinner. Loved the Fat Canary and The Cheese Shop!

Thank you so much for your hospitality and a memorable anniversary!

Hope to see you again soon!

Mike & Johanna Toth

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent two nights at the Aldrich over new year. The house is well located for exploring Williamsburg. The house is on a quiet suburban cul-de-sac, yet when you exit via the backyard, it is only a 5 minute walk to the historic area.

We stayed in the Anderson room, which is on the top floor of this 2 storey house. The room was very large, with 2 king beds. We slept in the four poster bed and it was extremely comfortable. The house was decorated for Christmas and was very warm and inviting.

Breakfast is at a set time (8.30am) and shared with the other guests around the dining table. We were 6 one morning and 4 the other. All good company. Breakfast included orange juice, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, cinnamon toast or crepes, tea and coffee.

Tom and Sue and their family were very welcoming. They are not boisterous hosts. They will leave you alone, yet if you want to chat, then they are very good conversationalists. On one night, we joined them in the lounge room to watch the football which was nicer than sitting in our room. They suggested and organised buttons for us to attend the First Night event for New Year's Eve which was great fun.

We would definitely recommend Aldrich House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusTravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just returned from four nights at the Aldrich House. It was wonderful! We stayed in the Anderson Room and besides everything being clean and comfortable, our daughter loved the cubby area--- cozy and just right for reading.

The hosts couldn't have been more helpful and we loved the breakfasts- delicious and well prepared.

We also had Tom take us on a tour of Williamsburg. It added so much to the trip and complemented all of our later visits to the interpretive sites.

Room Tip: The Anderson Room is wonderful for a family....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaS448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have just stayed for a night in this B&B and found everything much to our liking. The house is ideally located for exploring Colonial Williamsburg on foot and is lovingly furnished and beautifully decorated (very Xmassy at the moment). The hosts were very welcoming and the breakfast home-cooked traditional American-style. Very memorable in the best sense of the word, and I am recommending this to all my friends and acquaintances.

P.S. There was no problem with light or noise at all --- perfect blinds, no street lights and no noise from any cat.

Room Tip: We had the Lewis Room but I'm sure all the others are as nice and clean as ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IH10004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The house was clean, room & bed were comfortable. Bathroom a little small, but lighting in there was poor. Breakfasts were nothing fancy, but filling - Waffles one day, French Toast one day & Pancakes one day, with eggs, fruit & meats. Owner was nice, but not very outgoing.
Very convenient to historic downtown, could walk there easily. Met very nice couples that were staying there.
Can't say I was impressed, but it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnr717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrich House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrich House B&B

Property: Aldrich House B&B
Address: 505 Capitol Court, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldrich House Bed & Breakfast guests have stated how our proximity to Colonial Williamsburg is wonderful. A short walk and you are in the Historic Area. We offer an unpretentious atmosphere and serve a full breakfast (family-style) that will keep you fueled for the day. Stay at the Aldrich House Bed and Breakfast for your trip back into history, your visit to the College of William & Mary, Busch Gardens, or to just get away and relax. Our place is your home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing