We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location to explore Williamsburg; Great host family.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldrich House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aldrich House B&B
Ranked #16 of 23 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location to explore Williamsburg; Great host family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent two nights at the Aldrich over new year. The house is well located for exploring Williamsburg. The house is on a quiet suburban cul-de-sac, yet when you exit via the backyard, it is only a 5 minute walk to the historic area.

We stayed in the Anderson room, which is on the top floor of this 2 storey house. The room was very large, with 2 king beds. We slept in the four poster bed and it was extremely comfortable. The house was decorated for Christmas and was very warm and inviting.

Breakfast is at a set time (8.30am) and shared with the other guests around the dining table. We were 6 one morning and 4 the other. All good company. Breakfast included orange juice, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, cinnamon toast or crepes, tea and coffee.

Tom and Sue and their family were very welcoming. They are not boisterous hosts. They will leave you alone, yet if you want to chat, then they are very good conversationalists. On one night, we joined them in the lounge room to watch the football which was nicer than sitting in our room. They suggested and organised buttons for us to attend the First Night event for New Year's Eve which was great fun.

We would definitely recommend Aldrich House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AusTravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just returned from four nights at the Aldrich House. It was wonderful! We stayed in the Anderson Room and besides everything being clean and comfortable, our daughter loved the cubby area--- cozy and just right for reading.

The hosts couldn't have been more helpful and we loved the breakfasts- delicious and well prepared.

We also had Tom take us on a tour of Williamsburg. It added so much to the trip and complemented all of our later visits to the interpretive sites.

Room Tip: The Anderson Room is wonderful for a family....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have just stayed for a night in this B&B and found everything much to our liking. The house is ideally located for exploring Colonial Williamsburg on foot and is lovingly furnished and beautifully decorated (very Xmassy at the moment). The hosts were very welcoming and the breakfast home-cooked traditional American-style. Very memorable in the best sense of the word, and I am recommending this to all my friends and acquaintances.

P.S. There was no problem with light or noise at all --- perfect blinds, no street lights and no noise from any cat.

Room Tip: We had the Lewis Room but I'm sure all the others are as nice and clean as ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IH10004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The house was clean, room & bed were comfortable. Bathroom a little small, but lighting in there was poor. Breakfasts were nothing fancy, but filling - Waffles one day, French Toast one day & Pancakes one day, with eggs, fruit & meats. Owner was nice, but not very outgoing.
Very convenient to historic downtown, could walk there easily. Met very nice couples that were staying there.
Can't say I was impressed, but it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnr717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I went in February for our one year wedding anniversary!We stayed in the Paton Room and it was beautiful!The whirpool tub and the super soft sheets were the best!Breakfast was delicious!We are definitly planning on going again!Thank you Tom and Sue for making our stay so great!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammyt2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

My sister and I were celebrating her birthday with a trip to Wililamsburg and we decided the Aldrich House B&B based on other reviews on tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed. We stayed in the Anderson room. With two king-sized beds and a sitting area, there was plenty of room for the two of us and the room would work for a family as well. We thought children would've especially enjoyed the climb up the ladder to the loft alcove at bedtime. Breakfast was very nice each morning and we enjoyed the opportunity to visit with the other guests. The location couldn't be better, so convenient to Colonial Williamsburg. It's a wonderful place to start your day and comfortable to come back to after a day of sightseeing and walking. Kudos to Tom and Sue for their efforts to make you feel at home and to make you want to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachnut2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Aldrich House B&B is so very lovely. The owners (a husband and wife team named Tom & Sue) lovingly created a warm and homey environment. The decor is mostly antique or styled in a more colonial fashion, keeping in tune with the Colonial town of Williamsburg.

They are located walking distance from almost everything in Williamsburg and very near (by car) to Jamestown and Yorkville AND the outlets!!

The breakfast was delicious - there was always eggs and a meat, plus french toast or waffles.

Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uwschissdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.9 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 23 in Williamsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrich House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrich House B&B

Property: Aldrich House B&B
Address: 505 Capitol Court, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests have stated many times that our proximity to Colonial Williamsburg is the best. Come and enjoy our accommodations in Williamsburg, VA at the Aldrich House Bed and Breakfast for your trip back into history, your visit to the College of William & Mary, Busch Gardens, or to just get away and relax. Our place is your home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing