We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed in March 2013 and it was a Great place to stay. Quiet and the food was good. Bed was comfy and the fireplace was a great way to snuggle up and celbrate our anniversary. Walking distance to colonia Williamsburg. Sue and Dick were great and even loaned us an umbrella when the weather turne icky. Would definatly go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agiering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Governor's Trace this fall for a romantic weekend getaway. We could of not asked for a better experience than the one we had at Governor's Trace. Sue and Dick were so hospitable from the initial call to set up our reservation to saying farewell as we left, truly A++. When we showed up, it happened to be raining, Sue and Dick greeted us at the door with smiles and umbrellas and offered the umbrellas to take for the weekend. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Even though all the rooms were occupied, we did not hear or see anyone else...it was like we had the place to ourselves. The library was filled with great informative materials and both Sue and Dick were a wealth of knowledge. They provided plenty of suggestions for restaurants, shopping and overall gameplan for exploring Colonial Williamsburg. The breakfast was delicious and it was a PLUS having delivered to our own room...with candlelight (very rare and romantic). We have a gluten allergy, not only were they accommodating with the menu, Dick was very excited to tryout his new gluten free waffles. The location is truly the BEST in Williamsburg. It is literally steps from Duke of Gloucester Street. We can't imagine a better B&B experience. Thanks Sue and Dick!!

Room Tip: All rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarpavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Governor's Trace while visting Williamsburg and other historic sites as part of our Anniversary celebration. As it turned out, the B&B was more than just a convenient place to stay due to its proximity to Williamsburg: It became an integral part of a wonderful weekend! The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were supurb and our hosts, Dick and Sue, treated us like family. Knowing we had only a limited time to spend in the area, Sue gave us some guidance on some of the area restaurants and attractions that were 'must visit' sites. It was a great help! Overall, I can't say enough positive things about the Governor's Trace. Thank you for a wonderfull stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovTrace, Owner at Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate knowing that we have met or exceeded folks’ expectations and that they go away feeling they have really made the best use of their time here in Williamsburg. Your comments also remind us to pass on to future guests that there is so much to do in this area. We try to determine your desires and suggest to you how to organize your time, where to go, what to see, and where to eat. At the same time, if you already have all your plans made, we step out of the way. We just want your trip here to be the best ever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We chose this property based on the excellent prior reviews we read. We had a large, main level room with canopy bed, and couch/chairs tables in a seating area. Private screened porch. We had a lovely candlelit breakfast of French Toast topped with banana and strawberries, sausage, juice, tea, and coffee. My husband declared the French Toast "the best ever." Dick and Sue were lovely! They offered us sweet tea upon arrival, which hit the spot! (We declined snacks.) Sue and I were kindred spirits as "collectors of collections!" We enjoyed looking at the collectibles and photographs in the common areas, and hearing stories from Dick and Sue. They were hospitable, but absolutely not intrusive. We had a wonderful (albeit short) visit, and I HIGHLY recommend this property. This home is an easy walk to Colonial Williamsburg. This was only our second B&B visit. I have a couple of things, which I didn't consider, to mention for other "newbies." We could hear other guests coming and going. It was actually no worse than what you'd hear in some chain hotels, but we were awakened early by people on the stairs. Don't come expecting a sound proof room! It also didn't occur to me that the bed might not be king-sized! I was initially concerned, since my husband is 6'4". However, the bed was WONDERFULLY firm, and we slept like logs! We would definitely stay at Governor's Trace again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the downstairs Francis Nicholson room, since we didn't have to climb stairs with lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovTrace, Owner at Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. Even after more than 26 years, we really appreciate being in this business when we get feedback that tells us we must be doing a good job. By the way, that wasn’t guests coming and going up the stairs. It was me serving breakfast to the other rooms. Guess I’ll have to try to learn to be a little quieter. We serve a private, candlelit breakfast in each of our rooms between 8 and 9:15.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a very quiet, relaxing weekend at the Governor's Trace B&B. Our hosts, Sue and Dick, were pleasant and very accomodating. The Spotswood Room was clean and comfortable, and we especially enjoyed the delicious breakfast served in our room each morning. The location is excellent -- an easy walk to Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I would highly recommend Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting colonial Williamsburg, VA. The B & B is conveniently located close to the historic sites and is also not very far from the Williamsburg Winery.The owners, Sue and Dick were very warm and welcoming and we would like to thank them for making our stay extra special, enjoyable, and informative. We stayed in the Baron De Botetourt room which was very comfortable and romantic, and the decor of the room was original, artistic, and creative. It felt great to be pampered for a weekend, being served with delicious breakfast in our room. My surprise birthday weekend with my husband will always be truly memorable. We are delighted to have met two wonderful and generous personalities - Sue and Dick, and we look forward to visiting Governor's Trace again sometime in the future! ~Highly Satisfied Travelers from MD.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridetobe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Governor's Trace is a beautiful B&B/home located ideally adjacent to the historic walk. We stayed in the Francis Nicholson Room, which is on the first floor and has a delightful private screened-in porch attached, where we enjoyed our amazing/delicious candlelight breakfasts and many relaxing hours. Sue & Dick are the perfect Inn Keepers/Hosts, as they have all bases covered, which allow for a pleasurable stay. Sue & Dick provided us with several outstanding recommendations, which lead us to Christiana's Tavern, where we enjoyed a magnificent dinner…still thinking about their corn bread! If you are thinking of traveling to Williamsburg, VA, then Governor's Trace B&B is the place to stay! We cannot wait to re-visit. A sincere ‘thank-you’ to Sue & Dick for their genuine hospitality and for a lovely stay. Happy 50th Anniversary to you both this December...it will be here before you know it! Thanks again ~ Jen & Dave

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.9 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
635 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Williamsburg Manor Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Brick House Inn
Brick House Inn
#19 of 22 in Williamsburg
19 reviews
1.6 mi away
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast

Address: 303 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: $165 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cross this threshold and have a uniquely romantic, private, and memory making experience at Governor's Trace bed and breakfast. Located just a minute walk from George Washington's favorite tavern in Colonial Williamsburg, Governor's Trace B&B is the closest Williamsburg bed and breakfast to the Historic Area...just a 30 second walk and "you have arrived." Governor's Trace is also the oldest continuously operating bed and breakfast in Williamsburg, VA. Sue & Dick Lake, innkeepers with more than 30 years experience in operating this bed and breakfast in Williamsburg, have created an environment that allows you to make the most of being alone---together. Governor's Trace "...vies for the most romantic (bed and breakfast in Williamsburg)"...WASHINGTON POST ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing