We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for heading into Colonial Williamsburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ndog
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location for heading into Colonial Williamsburg”
Reviewed June 16, 2007

Facility: The place is nice enough and pretty new, but it's main attraction is that it's within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg and attached to the park so you get a discount on tickets if you stay there.

Room: We wanted a king bed, but would have had to pay $30 more so stayed with the two queens. They were actually double beds, not queens, so my wife and I slept apart. The walls were rather thin as well and we could hear the next door room. Being next to the pool wasn't helpful either as we could hear them too, fortunately they closed up at 11:00 so it got quiet after that.

There is internet service as well, but not wireless so bring an ethernet cord or expect to pay $5 for buying one there.

Breakfast: It's included, but only cereals, fruits and bagels, nothing over the top, but with kids, I'm sure it would be just fine. The place is crowded, but manageable.

Overall: I doubt I'd stay there again, unless I had a family, as it's a good savings off tickets if you're headed into the park. Not that there was any major irritation, but just that it's more of a 2 star family place.

  • Liked — Location to the park
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Ndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    652
    178
    54
    16
See reviews for
1,019
413
45
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central NJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Woodlands is a great home base for a family to explore the Williamsburg area. Historic Williamsburg is a short walk or you can take a shuttle. Although the shuttles come very frequently, they make a large loop, so it can take as long as the walk. The drive to nearby Busch Gardens and Water Country USA is simple to say the least, and each is only a few minutes away. Hotel staff was very friendly. There are bike rental, a rather well stocked fitness room on site, as well as a simple, but sufficient, free mini golf course, ping pong tables, volleyball, and pool. We waited until the night before we left to go to the on-site restaurant, thinking it was like most and had a limited menu, and the food was great. The atmosphere was sort of Denny's-like, but the food was wonderful and the service friendly.

There's a fairly good sized on-site do your own laundry room without a change machine. However, the front desk was more than happy to help us out there. There is an informal looking concierge desk in the lobby, but the man stationed there was very familiar with the area and very helpful.

The continental breakfast was like every other hotel's, and although it is set up in a rather large room, it was always busy and hectic, no matter what time of day you visited.

All in all, I think the Woodlands is a great place to stay with your family for a Williamsburg trip. It's in a good area, not too stuffy, but had enough of the amenities to make it feel like a better hotel.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank PartyofFiveNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

The size of the suite was great but not the size of the king bed. It was short -- rather strange, I'd say. The breakfast room is not well maintained and is rather difficult to negotiate, especially with the family atmosphere. One day my husband spilled coffee on himself, one day they ran out of hard-boiled eggs and other basics, and one day we went to the lobby to eat because there were no tables available. Most importantly, my wheelchair-bound friend lost her PREPAID handicapped room (prior to 3PM) and found out only after she and her husband had unloaded and gone to their room. The manager was able to move them to the Williamsburg Lodge but I found this unconscionable. There is no excuse for this kind of treatment.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank RevuR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed at the Williamsburg Woodlands for 3 nights and we loved it. The staff behind the desk was very friendly & helpful. We booked a suite and we were very comfortable. Just after we checked in, maintenance knocked on the door and asked (very nicely) if we would mind if they put a new mattress in our room, so we said "yes." The new mattress was VERY comfortable and since we always bring our "home pillows" with us, we slept well. While we were there we noticed they were replacing alot of mattresses in the rooms. The heating/cooling was good, the room was (not immaculate) pretty darn clean, it was very quiet, and the view out the window was very nice. The water pressure in the shower was very good and the towels were soft and thick and clean. Nice big tv's with lots of channels. The location is just the best! It's right beside the visitor's center; we just walked over to get any tickets we wanted and caught the shuttle (which comes/leaves every 10 mins) any time we wanted to go down to the actual colonial village part. We didn't have any problems at breakfast, like some other reviews did. We ate at Huzzah twice; the food was good and the employees friendly - don't forget to ask for your discount if you're staying at the Woodlands, I think it's 20% ! We really liked the Woodlands - would stay there again for sure.

  • Liked — that would be toss-up between the nice room & the great location
  • Disliked — no cell phone reception inside the building! everyone goes out to the parking lot to make calls
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarciaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2007

This will be our 4th Summer coming to Williamsburg and we have always stayed at The Woodlands. We enjoy the peace and quiet that the Woodlands offers. We usually stay in a suite which offers microwave, fridge, etc. When you are traveling with a teenager it is very nice to have two T.V.'s . The rooms I feel are quite comfortable and decorated very nicely. There is a problem with cell phone use inside the rooms, but I feel I am on vacation and don't really want to be talking on the phone anyway. The outdoor pool is very nice and we enjoy dining at Huzzah. The continental breakfast is also just enough to get you moving in the morning. I am counting down the days until we come back again.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — can't say anthing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank yankeeGirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norton ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We liked the hotel in general it was fairly clean,except for the carpeting in the room. The mattress was hard like all hotels.It was very convenient to the visitor center and buses and busch gardens . The worst part is the continental breakfast. It was a zoo every morning. The food was good,but finding a table is next to impossible. when you do find a table it's ussually dirty only because the staff wasn't able to get to it. The hotel restaraunt Huzzah's was good and fairly priced for a family budget compared to the restarants inside wiliamsburg. Overall if we go back to williamsburg, we would probably stay at the woodlands again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — contininental breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NortonOhioGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Our stay was for three nights in a suite with a king -sized bed and a sofa bed for our grandaughter. The room and bathroom were clean & and it was quiet, even though it was Spring break with tons of kids. This is a good mid- priced hotel to stay in if you are mainly planning to visit the Historic triangle, ( CW , Jamestown & Yorktown). It is located just off the Colonial Pkwy. and next to the visitors Center. A nearby walking path leads to CW or you can take a shuttle bus from the visitor's center. We had great weather, so we took the 15 minute walk that leads you to the historic area. I agree with other posters about the beds (not the best, not the worst) The hotel needs to provide a larger breakfast area. People overflowed into the reception area, and I felt like a vulture looking for a table to eat at. Its a complimentary breakfast that includes cereal, pastries, hardboiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, ect. There was a LONG line for the waffle machine. My husband couldn't get cell phone reception while at the hotel and had to go to the middle of the parking lot to check messages for business. Most of our time was spent away from the hotel. The outdoor pool was not open for the season, so I can't comment on that. My main concerns while staying at a hotel are a helpful staff, cleanliness and quiet so I can sleep - this hotel provided all, and I would return.

  • Liked — conenient location
  • Disliked — crowed breakfast room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank plantladytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 105 Visitor Center Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing