We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Woodlands this past weekend as part of a family wedding. Our King Suite was just perfect although the pull out sofa bed needed a better matress. Very good and knowledge staff and included breakfast. Williamsburg Visitors center and free bus was right next store so you would not have to drive to Old Williamsburg. Better then that you could also take a short walk to also get there as we did.

Room Tip: If you were planning on using the pull out sofa for children I would suggest that you get a Double D...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John41354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,017)
There are newer reviews for Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,405 - 1,411 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

I thought this was a great and comfortable room. It felt much more luxurious than I expected. I had nice sized room and living room,very spacious, and the decor was very nice. Beds are large and comfortable. For the price, it is great. I'd like to go back in the summer, because the pool looks very nice for kids. We plan to come back and I'd love to stay here next time I come.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Clean, quiet, friendly staff, good breakfast, and a beautiful wooded area with a waterfall behind the breakfast room (we loved watching it through the wall of glass). The welcome center with gift shops on the grounds was a very nice feature. The shuttle bus stops in front of this hotel so we we took advantage of that to go back and forth from the historic areas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandanell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We arrived at the Cascades late Wednesday night. We were greeted with a scene of horror. As soon as we walked in, we smelled a strong, musty smell. Upon closer examination, we found a colony of cockroaches eating the glue from the peeling wallpaper. The bathroom was even worse. The sink was leaking into a trash can, the toilets wouldn't flush and the showers were impossible to control. Our bed also had some cleanliness issues as well. The worst aspect of our visit was the door locks. We had to get five separate room keys for two people because they kept breaking. Then, on the last night of our stay, our entire lock broke. It took four men 2 1/2 hours to fix it. They were in our room until 12:00 at night. The one positive about Cascades was its good location near historic Williamsburg. In conclusion, the Cascades is not a place for you or me.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Emily_36808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a conference this week.
The room I stayed in was clean, the bed very comfortable and there was adequate water pressure in the shower.
The continental breakfast offered a standard selection of cold and warm breakfast offerings for hotel guests.
The hotel staff were all very professional and courteous when encountered anywhere in the hotel.
Travelers expecting a full gym should be aware that this fitness center is compact with four assorted cardio machines.
The room was good for a single traveler, but for a family, the two queen bed room might prove to be close quarters.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We actually were upgraded to the Woodlands because the Governors Inn was closed for renovations. The grounds were nice and the room was comfortable. However the first night we were there, one of the beds was not made properly - it looked like the sheet on the bed was either the wrong size or just not put on right because the mattress was not covered. I called the front desk to ask that it be redone. Someone came up fairly quickly, but they just handed me a new set of sheets and left! My husband then called and complained and the same person came back with someone else. This time they remade the bed -which should have happened the first time.

The other thing that bothered me was that every time I had to go to the front desk - to get change for the washer, buy something from the little store or just ask a question - I had to wait in line for at least 10 minutes each time.

Breakfast was okay. The breakfast staff was very nice and did a great job refilling and cleaning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in a king suite for three nights during our recent trip to Colonial Williamsburg. It was very quiet and woods surrounded the whole premises. The room was spacious and very clean. The only thing I can fault is that there is no soap dish in the bathroom. What are you supposed to do with the soap after using? If you place it on the edge of the sink it gets slimy. The breakfast was not served in the main building, you had to walk to the conference center. Kind of inconvenient in bad weather. The buffet was sufficient but I would have liked to see them provide fresh eggs instead of powdered reconstituted ones. We stayed here years ago and the breakfast buffet was soooo much nicer and better tasting. The hotel is just in back of the Visitor Center and very convenient for catching the shuttle bus to the Colonial area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $117 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing