We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay in Williamsburg. It has a great location that feels secluded, but is actually right next to the Williamsburg Visitor Center. The staff was warm and welcoming and very knowledgeable about things to do and see. On this stay we requested a room facing the courtyard area and were accommodated. I would suggest you do the same. They have big windows and looking out onto a garden area was lovely, quiet and peaceful. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. I especially liked the oversized chair that I could snuggle up and read in. They had flat screen TV's and free wireless. They also had a parking area with key entry just for guests.

It was obvious that the staff wanted you to enjoy your stay. They said hello when you came in. This is not a fancy hotel. For example, it does not have mini- fridges and they would be most welcome since the colonial Taverns have huge portions! It is more a subtle quality comfort kind of place. Roaring fireplace in the foyer with arts and crafts style chairs and sofas. Coffee was out all day.

I would have rated it a bit higher but for some reason they were offering gtheir extensive free breakfast in a nearby conference building a short small block away. I found this to be a bit off a hassle. Who wans to walk outside on a snowy day to another building to get breakfast? It used to be in the lobby in this huge breakfast room. Perhaps they are refurbishing that part, but it made me close to not participate with the who.e breakfast thing, thereby lessening the value.

However, this is a grey choice for families that do not need a fridge. They had colonial entertainment in the lobby area free several times during our stay. It is clean and maintained very professionally.

I will be sure to return on my next trip.

Room Tip: As for a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giftedtravels67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,701 - 1,707 of 2,157 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place is nice and professional. Our tickets for Williamsburg had not been attached to the room when we arrived but the receptionist called over to the visitor center herself and printed them herself for us. The rooms were very clean, and I am very particular about the cleanliness of my room. the bathroom was medium sized and the room had two beds. The TV worked well but there was no TV channel guide laying around. the breakfast each morning was excellent...hot foods, juices, bagels, etc.
the hotel is also located directly beside the visitor center and an easy walk to colonial Williamsburg. There is also a shuttle service available with multiple stops.

i read a lot of reviews before coming and a lot of people complained about getting around and getting lost. The place is big but there are signs everywhere if you stop and take a second to orient yourself. I had no problems fomding the place or getting around.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smith1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife spent two wonderful days staying at the Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel in Williamsburg, Virginia. The Hotel is next to the Williamsburg Visitor's Center and only a short walk to the Colonial restored area. Our room was a king suite with all the amenities you would expect, along with a very attentive and courteous staff.A Continental Breakfast is served each morning with muffins, eggs, fruits, cereals, and one morning we had ham with our eggs and the other morning, we had sausage. Our room rate included a package that allowed us to tour the Williamsburg Restored Area. The hotel offered other packages that included Jamestown, Yorktown, Busch Gardens, and Water Country. The only pool is outdoors and was closed for the season. This was not an issue for us, because a pool isn't always necessary. The close and scenic walk to The Colonial Area and the atmosphere of the Woodlands Hotel, made this "an enjoyable experience".

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Convenient to the Williamsburgh historic attractions. WALKING DISTANCE! The walk was super and when we left early in the morning, we came upon several workers in colonial garb on their way to work. Felt like we'd walked BACK IN TIME. Hotel was clean and well appointed. No need to spend more. This place was GREAT!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is not the place we usually stay in Williamsburg but now we may switch! We were there for a conference. The decor is lovely, both in the public areas and the rooms. The staff is extremely friendly. It's a great location because the visitors center and shuttle bus are just steps away. The breakfast was nice. The only odd thing is the lack of AT&T cellphone service. Some of our friends found just the right spot to stand on the steps to the front parking lot and get a signal. Other carriers worked and the WiFi in the rooms worked correctly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenS963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Woodlands was not my choice for accommodations for the weekend as I was attending a convention and that was its site. As my title suggests...finding the entrance (and exit to the hotel, not the property in general) is a daunting task and it shouldn't be! The actual "hotel" is not visible from the entrance. What you first see are one-story buildings (the suites?) that more resemble mini-motels (but tasteful...I don't mean that as a criticism). To get to the entrance you must drive and drive to the back of the facility. Signage is poor and the roadsides, strewn with tree debris and pine-needles this time of year didn't help.
But once you arrive you'll be pleased with the spacious lobby with gas-fired fireplace. Check-in was fast and friendly. My room (not a suite) was larger than most rooms with two queen-sized beds. There is a coffee maker in the room, a nice size flat screen TV and free WiFi.. The continental breakfast (really more than that) features a different hot food item each day. Huzzah! restaurant is in another building but directly adjacent to the hotel lobby. (See my review of the restaurant elsewhere.) The place was spotlessly clean. Other than a few group meals at the convention enter (which were fine), I did not partake of any other amenities. This is the "off-season" and wasn't even sure what was available. You can walk to both the Visitors Center and the historic area from the hotel if you so choose.

Room Tip: This is a three-story building with elevators. As usual, you may want to request a room at least two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayvee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Woodlands over the Presidential weekend and had a fantastic rate. It was $175.00 + tax for 2 nights and included passes for 2 adults to Colonial Williamsburg for 3 days as well as breakfast 2 mornings. I looked up the price for the summer for this same room and it was over $700 for 2 nights with no pass included. It would definitely not be worth that kind of money. The room was spacious, very clean, and tastefully decorated and furnished. There was a comfortable soft lounge chair almost big enough for 2, a desk, and 2 Windsor type chairs that were comfortable for watching TV. A coffee machine was in the room with packages of coffee & tee. The breakfast area was crowded on Saturday. They had 2 stations open to get the cereals, eggs, sausages,pastries, and fruit. There was another station for drinks, and a 3rd smaller station to make toast, English muffins, etc. in 3 toaster machines. On the 2nd morning (Monday) it wasn't as crowded and only one station was open which this day included sausages & pancakes. The pancakes were too sweet and artificial tasting, and I couldn't eat them--I don't eat syrup on mine. My husband doused his in syrup and said they were OK. The front desk was helpful and allowed us to check in at 12:30. The buses leave to the colonial area from the visitor center next door, so we parked our car & left it for all 3 days. It is a nice probably 1/2 mile walk to the colonial area, but for older people it would probably be difficult and they would need the bus. On Saturday night the extremely friendly bus driver told us normally she delivered right to the Woodlands, but because of a conference (mock NATO for teenagers) she could not that night. On Sunday night we were delivered right to the door. On Saturday night hundreds of rowdy teenagers were exiting & we and other guests had to wait probably 5 minutes to enter the door. They apparently had come to a function there but were thankfully staying elsewhere & being bused there. The lobby & breakfast area are spacious and attractive, but not colonial looking. The room was colonial looking. We have always stayed at chain motels nearby but not part of the colonial Williamsburg properties, and we definitely liked the Woodlands and its convenience. We will stay again IF the price is right. This hotel is definitely not worth the prices they charge in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alphaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 73 in Williamsburg
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $114 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the ideal blend of comfort and convenience, the Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Suites is the perfect starting point for your adventure in Colonial Williamsburg, centrally located next to Huzzah’s Eatery and the Visitor Center. Start your day off with complimentary breakfast, and then enjoy our exclusive access to the best that Colonial Williamsburg has to offer—making it easier than ever to plan an unforgettable family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing