We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My travel group booked this hotel based on price. Was not communicated with them that the lounge was closed two days a week, one of which was the day we checked in. Had to walk into town to get adult beverages. Also was not made clear to them about transportation arrangements, so there was moderate confusion as to how they were to get back to hotel from their walking tour. Comments about the rooms were very positive. I have stayed here mnay times in the past and find the hotel to be very convenient, clean, staff to be very accommodating. I would definatedly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theutican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    500
    144
    38
    13
See reviews for
732
274
30
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Booking was easy and hassle free.

Check in was personal, professional and covered everything needed and more.

The room(s) were big, spacious, clean comfortable and everything you'd expect from a Colonial Williamsburg hotel.

The complimentary continental breakfast was great, expected a small selection but was greeted with cereal, bagels, sweet and savoury pastries, toast, ham & scrambled eggs one day and sausage and pancakes the next with unlimited tea coffee and juice too.

Located 2mins away from visitors centre and a brisk 15min walk along a trail to the historic area, the location in my opinion is amazing!

The only issue is bad phone reception but the complimentary wifi more than makes up for that.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We've been celebrating my father's birthday there for over 15 years now. Excellent gym, simple but rare! miniature golf course, shuffleboard, easy access to bus or walk to Historic district. We especially love the "old" portion of the motel; reminds you of the places that used to dot the byways of the U.S. east coast; nothing fancy but perfect for quiet, family gatherings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday. The hotel was pretty clean although there were some issues with blankets being crusty, smelly pillows, curtains being stained, and the coffee maker was disgusting. I could not get hot water at all for a shower one morning. We've stayed there previously a few years ago and I don't remember having these problems. The one exceptional point is the staff. From making the reservations, to asking for assistance, to housekeeping they were great. Other companies could learn customer service from them. Breakfast was OK but was not refilled to accommodate later arriving eaters. For the price of the room I had expected a little better upkeep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Woodlands for three nights. There is nothing wrong with the Woodlands, but it is nothing special either. The location is an older one, but it has been well maintained. There were no issues with our room, although the hallways could be a bit loud at times during the night. Bathrooms were fine as well.

Our biggest complaint was the breakfast. It was not very good for the price of the room. On top of that, if you arrived for breakfast after 8:30, good luck! The breakfast area needs to be two times larger than it is. The food was lackluster. However, I only saw three people working in the breakfast area, and they were doing their best. It was obvious though that there were very overwhelmed for the task of feeding so many guests. Like others have said, the breakfast is very heavy on carbs with few protein choices.

The location is the best thing the Woodlands has going for it. However, this is not like Disney World where there is a huge advantage to staying on property. If we ever go back to CW, we will probably stay in an off-site hotel and come out cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEB8536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for Thanksgiving and booked a package. Excluding the package amenities, our hotel room (a suite) cost about 167/night with taxes. We stayed in a suite - living room, mini kitchen area and a bedroom with a door.

The staff are all very nice. Included continental breakfast is heavy on the carbs - if you have gluten issues you'll probably leave hungry. Short walk or bus ride to the revolutionary city.

In suites - don't leave the bedroom door closed - housekeeping apparently takes that as a sign that you do not want that area cleaned. Mini-kitchen includes a mini fridge, microwave and a sink with no hot water.

The hotel provided a crib but be sure to bring a white noise machine if kids are sleeping in the living room, as the halls can be noisy.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larry1960
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a fine stay. The plant seem to be in fine shape and the staff was friendly and helpful. The parking and signage is somewhat confusing and a fridge and microwave would have been nice additions. Our room was quiet with no sound leakage from the next room or outside. We would stay here again when visiting Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing