We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient Location - Well Worth the Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient Location - Well Worth the Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The only downside to this hotel is the poor cell phone reception. If you are attached at the hip to your cell phone, this might not be the place to stay. Other than that, it is a great hotel. The location is great - walking distance to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor's Center and to the shuttle bus system. The rates are decent, when compared to other hotels in the area. The rooms are modern and laid out well. We were afraid, based on some of the pictures, that the rooms were old and poorly furnished. Luckily these were just some bad pictures and the rooms were great! The customer service was top notch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    498
    142
    38
    13
See reviews for
726
273
30
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke,UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile


Large hotel. Great pool. Pool towels too. Rooms are comfortable. Flat screen tv. Fridge on request. Bathrooms a little dated and a bit tricky to get the temperature right on the shower, but shower has a lot of power. Breakfast was ok, though it seamed very busy and chaotic. We were asked to visit the restaurant next door for breakfast, which offered the same as our hotel - scrambled egg, ham, cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, juice, milk, coffee. I would have preferred to eat with china plates and metal cutlery instead of the throw away paper plates and plastic knives and forks. But breakfast is included in price so there is no real reason to complain.   Unfortunately our rooms still hadn't been serviced when we returned at 3pm but maybe we should have asked in the morning for them to be cleaned early. Very conveniently located for the Visitors information center where you get you Colonial town tickets. 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sf004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family and I stayed @ Woodlands Hotel & Suites from 7/25 - 7/29. I must say it was a pleasure and better than staying @ Kingsmill, which we stayed at last summer. We asked for extra towels and got them promptly. We asked for a fridge, and got it within minutes.

The hotel had shuttle service to Busch Gardens and Water Country USA every 25 minutes, which was good because the day we went it was 105 degrees out and I didn't want to take the car and extra $13 for parking. The breakfast was a great touch to start our day and the pool was an evening topper. I definitely would stay here again, NO DOUBTS ABOUT IT!! Next time I will get the Suite.

Room Tip: Don't short change yourself for Governors Inn. This place is great to stay at for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect! It is right next to the Visitor's Center which has all the info you could possibly need. All of the buses leave from here as well so you have easy access to transportation. The hotel staff was helpful and gave useful suggestions. The free breakfast was just okay and it wasn't easy to find a table to eat at if you go between 8 and 9am. That being said, it was sufficient and free. There is something for kids to do every night, not to mention the free mini golf and pool. My girls (ages 4, 7, 14) all loved the magician!! The little two didn't really get the purpose of the decor when we arrived but after a few days of visiting all the colonial sites, they got it. The rooms aren't huge but serve their purpose. Wish they had queen not double sized beds and a mini fridge to keep water cold. We used a cooler bag that we filled up with ice every night so that we could take water with us every day, since a bottle of water is between $2 and $3 if you buy it at the sites. The resturant behind the hotel is just okay but there are lots of places within a 10 min drive. Overall the hotel is a great budget friendly option for families. I would Defintely stay here agsin and recommend it to a friend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Had to write and let everyone know we just got home from our stay and couldnt have asked for anything better, it started as soon as we walked in and was until we left. All the employes were so nice and went out of way to help if needed it even when we had bad storm and lights went out. We had a good breakfest every morning. We went to all places and great part is we didnt need to move our truck since they gave us a bus ride from hotel to any of the tourest attractions, so I have never witten a review before but had to after our great stay, THANKS to all of them for making our vacation so good

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is in the most ideal location. No car is needed. It sits in a wooded area next to the Williamsburg Visitor Center where free shuttle buses are available that circle the historic town. Free shuttle buses to both Busch Gardens and Water Country are also available on property. There is a small restaurant directly behind the hotel featuring bar-b-que and pizza. Rooms are pleasant and servicable. Lobby is inviting and front desk help is excellent. Also excellent is the complimentary breakfast each morning. Although described as a continental breakfast it is much more featuring muffins, bagels, cereals, etc. as well as a hot entree such as ham and eggs or pancakes and sausage. A nice way to start the day. Anyone looking for a place to stay where a car is not needed shouldn't pass up this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJoeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I brought my son to Williamsburg this summer and had a tough time deciding where to stay. I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised by how nice Williamsburg Woodlands is. It was not as expensive as the chain hotels in the surrounding vicinity and it is a great value. Our room included passes to the historic area. You can't park any closer to the visitor's center and the building is secure! We've had an adventure, including a power outage thanks to a huge storm, but the staff were very friendly and helpful even in the most trying circumstances. Our room is clean and while it is a bit of a hike to get to/from the parking lot with luggage, we didn't have any difficulties. Our room was next to the elevators, but it was not at all noisy. Everyone has been extremely responsive to any questions or requests for help. I would absolutely stay here again and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feldmaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing